Cubase testers needed!

Somewhere to chat about MIDI music creation, sequencers and related hardware

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Cubase testers needed!

Post by Foxie »

I've written a new MROS driver for Cubase. So far, it doesn't do anything special except silently absorb MIDI events.

In my testing, I found some strange behaviour under emulation with Cubase 3 cracked. It goes wrong when I emulate an STE with TOS 1.62, no NVDI, no ACSI hard drive, and a GEMDOS hard drive in ST high. The menu fonts inside Cubase become garbled - but everything else works OK. Strangely, if I change any one of these variables the problem goes away.

I'm interested if anyone can reproduce the problem on real hardware with the cracked or dongle copy of Cubase. It's more likely to happen on a 1.62 machine, but it might happen on any configuration. It may be exclusive to the cracked version, or it might not.

I'm also interested to find out what happens if you use this driver in conjunction with SMPII/Midex/MO4/etc. If you can spare the time, try sending heavy MIDI tracks simultaneously to both the FOXIEEE driver and the SMPII/Midex/MO4. Do you notice any timing problems or stuck notes on your MIDI expanders when you start sending data to FOXIEEE?

To test the driver, put FOXIE.DRV in the MROS folder and reboot. It will work with Cubase 3, but it might also work with other versions.

Thanks!
FOXIE.DRV.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2719
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Cubase testers needed!

Post by charles »

some of the tos 's well known to be problematic foxie ,,,,
is this a well known bug you are experiencing I wonder?
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Cubase testers needed!

Post by edingacic »

i moved to new office i will try soon when I re-connect my gear
ranix
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:01 pm

Re: Cubase testers needed!

Post by ranix »

there's a newer build of this with some onboard sound ability in another thread I think, it was working on my stf
User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Cubase testers needed!

Post by edingacic »

Hey Foxie, I am ready to test the driver is this the latest one to try ranix said something about newer buld.

Here is my setup reconnected and I got SMP24 now too. So I'll do the tests with SMP24, MO4, MIDEX+ ... do you care Unitor and Export?

http://prntscr.com/jo2o1k
User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Cubase testers needed!

Post by edingacic »

Where is Foxie gone hope he is doing fine?
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2719
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Cubase testers needed!

Post by charles »

must be working on a timing routine for me to utilize under gfa.with my self written midi programs
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Cubase testers needed!

Post by edingacic »

no sign of Foxie?
Post Reply

Return to “MIDI Software and Hardware”