Atari Midi to PC Windows

Somewhere to chat about MIDI music creation, sequencers and related hardware

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
NGF
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Atari Midi to PC Windows

Post by NGF »

So I got a Midi2Usb cable working between my TT and PC (windows 7). What are my options now? :)
I'm pretty impressed with the midi output from games (for example Ultima 3) into the PCs playback, almost like having a soundcard. Is there some special software that can handle this with different synth instruments and such? I'm trying out Anvil Studio right now but there must be better programs for this? :shrug:
"4160" STE with Ultrasatan | Falcon 030 14MB with CF-reader | TT030 | STacy | 520STFM x 2 | 520ST x 2
kolli
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: Atari Midi to PC Windows

Post by kolli »

Look here, emulation of Roland MT 32: https://sourceforge.net/projects/munt/
User avatar
NGF
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Atari Midi to PC Windows

Post by NGF »

Thank! Will try it out :)
"4160" STE with Ultrasatan | Falcon 030 14MB with CF-reader | TT030 | STacy | 520STFM x 2 | 520ST x 2
User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Atari Midi to PC Windows

Post by Foxie »

NGF wrote:I'm trying out Anvil Studio right now but there must be better programs for this? :shrug:
I believe Roland made/make a software version of their Sound Canvas. So that might be OK for General MIDI stuff. Did any ST games output General MIDI?
User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Atari Midi to PC Windows

Post by 1st1 »

Kings Quest and some more of this series
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
kolli
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: Atari Midi to PC Windows

Post by kolli »

There is a list of ST games that are using MIDI music here: http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 4&p=162584
User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Atari Midi to PC Windows

Post by Foxie »

I imagine a lot of ST games pre-date General MIDI becoming popular. Some of those listed games use the MT-32. Others don't output patch changes and require you to select instrument sounds. I remember Chopper-X doing that.
Post Reply

Return to “MIDI Software and Hardware”