Cubase messes up system clock

Somewhere to chat about MIDI music creation, sequencers and related hardware

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

Post Reply
rpi
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 8:12 am

Cubase messes up system clock

Post by rpi »

Hi,

Please somebody clarify what is going on here? I just found out that Cubase (any version) corrupts the ikbd-based system clock. I figured that it changes the onboard timer on the ikbd cpu and uses it as the internal timing. But the downside is that the system clock will still run but about 10 times faster. Not sure about the reason, but the result is obvious. I would like to have a correctly working clock to maintain the file time stamps on my saves.

Funny that I found only one topic post about this:
https://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=31685

But there was not any conclusion made.
I have a 1040 STF with TOS 1.04, and no programs have been loaded on boot.

Cheers!
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2813
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Cubase messes up system clock

Post by charles »

I think it says something about this within the first few pages of Cubase manual about needing to be the sole program and interfers with normal system functions...also also wont with other types of o.s. installed
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
rpi
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 8:12 am

Re: Cubase messes up system clock

Post by rpi »

Check out this patch I made, which fixes the above problem:
http://www.atarimania.com/utility-atari ... 37921.html
dbsys
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 551
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: Cubase messes up system clock

Post by dbsys »

rpi wrote: Sun May 02, 2021 1:12 pm Check out this patch I made, which fixes the above problem:
http://www.atarimania.com/utility-atari ... 37921.html
Thanks. Do you have plans to support TOS 2.06 too?
rpi
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 8:12 am

Re: Cubase messes up system clock

Post by rpi »

dbsys wrote: Sun May 02, 2021 10:15 pm
rpi wrote: Sun May 02, 2021 1:12 pm Check out this patch I made, which fixes the above problem:
http://www.atarimania.com/utility-atari ... 37921.html
Thanks. Do you have plans to support TOS 2.06 too?
Can you confirm that this version has the same issue with Cubase?
dbsys
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 551
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: Cubase messes up system clock

Post by dbsys »

rpi wrote: Wed May 05, 2021 4:55 pm
dbsys wrote: Sun May 02, 2021 10:15 pm
rpi wrote: Sun May 02, 2021 1:12 pm Check out this patch I made, which fixes the above problem:
http://www.atarimania.com/utility-atari ... 37921.html
Thanks. Do you have plans to support TOS 2.06 too?
Can you confirm that this version has the same issue with Cubase?
Yes, TOS 2.06 has the same or similar issue with Cubase. The system clock is wrong as soon as Cubase is running on my 1040STE. As soon as I close Cubase the system clock goes back to normal.
HFaber1956
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 8:56 pm

Re: Cubase messes up system clock

Post by HFaber1956 »

Hi rpi and dbsys, formaly 'Robber' here,

Just did a quick test on my MEGA 4 (not MEGA ST4 although it's the same machine i think).
A) With 'get clock' from the UltraSatan but without timefix in the auto folder and Cubase 3.01 crack running, in a few seconds minutes pass by. Also saves at the wrong time.

B) With US 'get clock' and timefix.prg in auto folder no corrupted time line anymore in the control panel. Also saved exactly the right time.
Have a feeling that Cubase is even thighter now with timefix but it may be because I'm a bit excited with this great patch. Very well done!

Next, on the Mega STE tos 2.06 and Cubase Score 2.0 r7 running with dongle same procedure but using SELTOS to install TOS 1.04.

First testing CB 2.0 r7 with TOS 2.06 again, no timefix and XCONTROL installed (v1.31 the one I used before) and US 'get clock' .
Same as A) seconds become minutes as expected because I did this test before but this time with CPU speed of 8Mhz.

Now SELTOS to TOS 1.04...then something weird, no timefix used but no time shifting at all!
But of course in the end we want TOS 2.06 and not SELTOS 1.04 here.
Also with CB 3.01 with dongle and CB 3.01 crack same results, no issues with clock rate.

Now with timefix in the auto folder with SELTOS 1.04 installed.
Same as A) again timeline is correct with all previously tested versions of CB.

Back to MSTE TOS 2.06, we (might?) get bombs as rpi explained.
So try this first? Because as mentioned with SELTOS 1.04 installed there is no time shifting.
Now I also use CACHUTIL to bring the CPU speed MSTE down from 16Mhz to 8Mhz (this happens automatically if you install SELTOS 1.04).
No bombs as expected but seconds become minutes again without timefix.

Now TOS 2.06 with timefix in autofolder and CPU speed 8Mhz trying CB Score 2.0 r7 and US 'get clock'...
Well, seconds become minutes again with timefix in auto folder this time but no bombs.
Same with CPU speed 16Mhz no cache and MSTE seems to be slower than normal.
Last edited by HFaber1956 on Mon Jun 07, 2021 10:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply

Return to “MIDI Software and Hardware”