CosmosEX 3.0

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12892
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by wongck »

StEeLz wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 4:04 pm
How does it even work when most STs don't have an RTC and files are all dated in 1980? Could it be all my files were dated 1-Jan-1980 and because it couldn't sort by date it did by Alphabetical? i'll dig and try stuff...
Nothing as elaborate as that.
When files are copied into the AUTO folder, the entries for each record starting from 1st to last entries are read and executed (if it is executable, non-executables are skipped). It does not re-sort according to datetime nor alphabetical or anything like that. As you copy files into the AUTO folder, it just fills in the next available records.

So if you delete a file in AUTO folder that occupied the 3rd record (and executed as 3rd order when reboot), you get a "empty slot" in record 3 and if you copy another file into AUTO now, it will be placed in that 3rd record. So that particular file you just copied will be executed 3rd in order.

The records mentioned above are the FAT entries. FAT = File Allocation Table.

You can effectively change order of booting PRG this way. Of course as Leech mentioned, using AUTOSORT would be a better way.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by leech »

So I was trying to make sure (again) that I had ordered the CosmosEx in the timeframe so that it wouldn't go to my old house, but I should be good there.
Did anyone get a shipping information email though? I can't seem to find one, but on their site my name is marked in blue, so in theory it was sent.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
DoG
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:02 pm

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by DoG »

Nope. No email or tracking info was sent and it took a while to arrive too. Like a month or more but that is the postal service fault and the world we live in at the moment.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4457
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by DarkLord »

leech wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 4:16 pm

Pretty sure the Cosmosex itself has an RTC in it, doesn't it? I use mine in my Falcon, which has a NVRAM battery, so I haven't ran into this.

Shame you haven't used it, it's a really cool device! Being able to upload disk images to it through it's embedded web interface is pretty sweet. It kind of reminds me of an earlier version of the FujiNet that is in progress for the 8bits.
When I first got mine (actually I bought 2, one from the very first run then the last run for the updated version, then sold the older one), I was all hyped up about installing it in my STacy but I didn't actually want to lose the floppy drive. Then, after waiting for some time, I started reading all
the horror stories about failed upgrades, which made me hesitate...

Has that situation been taken care of? Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by leech »

DarkLord wrote:
Mon Jul 20, 2020 5:45 pm
leech wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 4:16 pm

Pretty sure the Cosmosex itself has an RTC in it, doesn't it? I use mine in my Falcon, which has a NVRAM battery, so I haven't ran into this.

Shame you haven't used it, it's a really cool device! Being able to upload disk images to it through it's embedded web interface is pretty sweet. It kind of reminds me of an earlier version of the FujiNet that is in progress for the 8bits.
When I first got mine (actually I bought 2, one from the very first run then the last run for the updated version, then sold the older one), I was all hyped up about installing it in my STacy but I didn't actually want to lose the floppy drive. Then, after waiting for some time, I started reading all
the horror stories about failed upgrades, which made me hesitate...

Has that situation been taken care of? Thanks.
The one I have in my falcon hasn't had any issues, though that's one of the 2.0 versions. And I've updated it a few times, from what I understood, there was just a bad update out there.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4457
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by DarkLord »

Okay, thanks. The one I have now is from the last official release Jookie did, as far
as I can remember. I've never tried to update it.

Is that bad update posted somewhere so anyone trying to update can avoid it?

Thanks again.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by leech »

DarkLord wrote:
Mon Jul 20, 2020 6:01 pm
Okay, thanks. The one I have now is from the last official release Jookie did, as far
as I can remember. I've never tried to update it.

Is that bad update posted somewhere so anyone trying to update can avoid it?

Thanks again.
I thought he removed it. Jookie still around here to answer?
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

wwinfrey
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:51 pm

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by wwinfrey »

Has anyone successfully done an internal connection of the IKBD injector on a Mega ST(E)/TT? My CE3 shipped with the sandwich connector, and it's my understanding that the Atari.sk team can no longer source the RJ-11/12 (or whatever it is) PCB-mount port, but I'd really like to use the keyboard/mouse/joystick aspects of my CE.

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1164
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by dhedberg »

The idea is to intercept/inject the signal. On a ST/STe/Falcon it's done easily thanks to the internal connector. On the MegaSTe/TT you'd probably need to cut some tracks and do some soldering if you want to do it internally. The Jookie CosmosEx included a nice RJ11 injector that sits in between the computer and the external keyboard for the MegaSTe/TT. It's essentially just a small PCB with two RJ11 jacks and a pin header.

RJ11 connectors can be bought from anywhere you'd like, including Mouser, Digi-Key, AliExpress, etc. So that cannot be the reason why Atari.sk didn't include such an injector.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org.
Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo It's that time of the year again, or click here to feel the JOY.

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: CosmosEX 3.0

Post by leech »

I got mine yesterday. I am trying to remember if I ordered the RJ11 adapter with my 2.0 or not.
Couldn't be terribly difficult to build something. On another note, how hard would it be to build something for the ST(e)/Falcon to use the Mega ST(e)/TT keyboards?
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

Post Reply

Return to “CosmosEx”