Raspberry Pi as SCSI or IDE device

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 885
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Raspberry Pi as SCSI or IDE device

Post by 1st1 »

Hello, I hope this is the right corner to place this. It's not CosmosEx, but it's quite similar.

I found two projects which are quite similar to CosmosEx device. Both also are based on Raspberry Pi plus hardware, the one more simple, the other more complex, to emulate drives, network and translated drives to present them to a host computer. The one project is like CosmosEx supporting SCSI interface, the other project is based on IDE. Both could also be interesting for the ATARI platform. I know, CosmosEx is more, floppy emulator, keyboard injection, etc. But for special cases these projects could be an alternative.

the SCSI project
-- english introduction: http://hackaday.com/2017/05/01/the-rasp ... si-device/
-- more detailed in japanese: http://www.geocities.jp/kugimoto0715/rascsi/index.html
the IDE project
-- english introduction: http://hackaday.com/2017/04/12/hackaday ... pberry-pi/
-- english more detailed: https://hackaday.io/project/20774-netpi-ide
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Raspberry Pi as SCSI or IDE device

Post by mikro »

The first one is not so different from the CosmosEx's raw mode.
User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1275
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Raspberry Pi as SCSI or IDE device

Post by Atarieterno »

Currently I do not know many devices that are as versatile as the CosmosEx and have that good price, excellent value for money.
We also recently have "Thunder and Storm" for the TT, which provides chips with patched TOS and other useful; All at a good price. In my opinion the examples I have put are of gurus who contribute a lot to the Atari scene and have never abused for prices (something that can not say all the creators); So necessary is to contemplate other ways for the same? Is it not better to support these creators and to continue to improve their products and expand the number of useful devices?
I see it logical to seek alternatives to things that are very expensive, logical and necessary, but the just things need to be defended.
Greetings to all and excuse for my poor English.
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.
User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
Posts: 4419
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden

Re: Raspberry Pi as SCSI or IDE device

Post by Marcer »

I got Raspberry Pi 3 Model B. how do I connect it to my MicroCosmosX ?

I thought I ordered all cables needed within M-CosmosEx.. but.. got DMA cable & one small 4 pin cable.. ??
- Atari ST/FM/E - Mega sTe - Portfolio - Falcon 030 FX 3 in 1 -- Atari 7800/Lynx/Jaguar -
- FTP... Ask for info
- Atari Legend (Games all-a-round)
- Paradize (Chip Music)
- Elite (Atari Softs)
- The Legion (Demos)
- Alive Maggie Team
_/|\_YM-RockerZ_/|\_
Scottinnh
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: Raspberry Pi as SCSI or IDE device

Post by Scottinnh »

I know it isn't new, but I came here just to post about RaSCSI -- it got a nice writeup today:

https://www.techrepublic.com/article/us ... he-future/
Atari since 1983 (1200XL, later ST). Now a Linux freak who uses a Mac at work.
Post Reply

Return to “CosmosEx”