CosmoEx Screencast can it replace VME video cards

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

Post Reply
aesloan
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 1:25 pm
Location: Somerset
Contact:

CosmoEx Screencast can it replace VME video cards

Post by aesloan »

After months of frustration looking for a VME graphics card for my Mega STE rare overly expensive not supported for problems etc, I woke up this morning with an idea that maybe there is a way of getting more screen real estate via a video driver that sends the extended video via the screen cast to an external screen (through via the web browser attached to the larger screen).
I am not a programmer so I don't really know the feasibility of this, I could eventually see a problem with processing power for the extra pixels in the megaste, but on the other hand the old isa cards used with the vma adapters were not really accelerated (as far as I know).

Anyway I just wanted to bounce this idea off of you clever programmers out there.

Andrew

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1252
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CosmoEx Screencast can it replace VME video cards

Post by Jookie »

Hello Andrew,

the current screencast supports the ST(e) resolutions, so if you're looking into showing just native resolution, it's already there.
If you would like to have support for higher resolutions / more colors in Mega STE, it could be done, but even with native resolution the screencast slows down the machine a bit, and if you want a good refresh rate of screencast video, then it slows the machine a lot... So I'm not sure if in the end would be very usable for some work...

Jookie

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1930
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: CosmoEx Screencast can it replace VME video cards

Post by Cyprian »

what about skipping screen casting and just create dedicated VDI drivers for Cosmo?
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CosmoEx Screencast can it replace VME video cards

Post by mikro »

Cyprian wrote:what about skipping screen casting and just create dedicated VDI drivers for Cosmo?
Don't forget there's no magical "Cosmos Bus", everything has to go through the ACSI port. So more stuff on ACSI -> much less responsive hard disk drives.

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1252
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CosmoEx Screencast can it replace VME video cards

Post by Jookie »

Cyprian wrote:what about skipping screen casting and just create dedicated VDI drivers for Cosmo?
Yes, that could be done, although I agree with what MiKRO said - the ACSI has its limits, and doing lot of graphics through it will slow down hard drive stuff...

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1930
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: CosmoEx Screencast can it replace VME video cards

Post by Cyprian »

yep, but why not :)
actually in my case, hdd is used rather rarely - only during starting an application and loading/saving its data files
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 880
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: CosmoEx Screencast can it replace VME video cards

Post by 1st1 »

Interesting idea! Using CE's HDMI output for VDI graphics, I love this idea. It even would be possible to access/use it remotely from network! But it might be slow, don't forget, ACSI and SCSI on ST/TT/Falcon is only 1-2 MB/s. If you have a resoultion of 800x600 in Monochrome, that is already about 500 kBytes screen size. So it could refresh 2-4 full frames per second. For simple VDI operations that might be enough, but displaying bitmap graphics will be slow. Imagine for 256 or truecolor... Maybe running an atari emulator on CE and degrade ST to keyboard/mouse input would solve this thing...
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1930
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: CosmoEx Screencast can it replace VME video cards

Post by Cyprian »

1st1 wrote:So it could refresh 2-4 full frames per second
yep, it could be 2-4 fps when you have to reload whole screen as a bitmap (e.g video) but in case of GEM (AES/VDI) you have to push mainly primitive graphics commands with some small bitmaps
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CosmoEx Screencast can it replace VME video cards

Post by mikro »

I wonder why you guys insist on video stream so much. Much easier (on the ACSI bus) is some kind of VNC server solution, i.e. it would work other way around -- Atari would send only window coordinates and attributes and CE would render it. Of course, this is not a trivial task but far more exciting. :)

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1930
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: CosmoEx Screencast can it replace VME video cards

Post by Cyprian »

Micro, I mentioned "VDI drivers" because I would like to use clean GEM application in higher resolution with more colors.
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
MrMaddog
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:03 am
Contact:

Re: CosmoEx Screencast can it replace VME video cards

Post by MrMaddog »

1st1 wrote:Maybe running an atari emulator on CE and degrade ST to keyboard/mouse input would solve this thing...
Thinking about how this would work... Clicking on CE_HATARI.PRG would run Hatari on the CE/Pi while prompting the user to switch to the HDMI display, and when Hatari closes it gives keyboard control back to the ST. This could be good for not only using extended VDI modes but also a virtual Falcon.

Then again I was also thinking about using a Pi3 and duel booting between the CE distro and BeePi for running FreemiNT and having two Atari computers inside the ST case...

Post Reply

Return to “CosmosEx”