Floppy Sound Emulator

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
ccarl84
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:03 pm
Location: South of France

Floppy Sound Emulator

Post by ccarl84 »

Hello, A little idea. (Still a stupid idea?). :shrug:

Would it be possible to emulate the floppy drive noise as on the Steam emulator ?

This is for 2 reasons:
1) nostalgia ... Yellow_Colorz_PDT_23
2) checking the operation of the reader during loading. :coffe:

Thank you and later ...
User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1252
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Floppy Sound Emulator

Post by Jookie »

Interesting idea ;) I wanted to add a beeper, but I considered it to be not very useful, so I didn't add it there.

The floppy sound could be somehow added, but you would have to add a speaker somewhere (to Raspberry?), because currently there's no sound output device from CosmosEx....
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2804
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Floppy Sound Emulator

Post by alexh »

The STM32 (Gotek) which is a Cortex M0 based floppy emulator has a hack to add a buzzer to emulate floppy sounds.

I believe it requires no firmware. It just produces noise in response to the stepper motor I/O on the floppy disk interface.

1 x Buzzer.
1 x BC547 or similar bipolar transistor.
1 x 1k resistor.

http://kipper2k.com/amiga/gotek/gotekbuzzer.jpg
http://kipper2k.com/amiga/gotek/gotek.jpg
http://kipper2k.com/amiga/gotek/gotekmagbuzzer.jpg

Should be easy to add to all new and existing CosmsEx
User avatar
ccarl84
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:03 pm
Location: South of France

Re: Floppy Sound Emulator

Post by ccarl84 »

Jookie wrote:, but you would have to add a speaker somewhere (to Raspberry?)...
Why not ? I will connect to the RPI if the software devollepement is done.

Afterwards, Alexh's idea is interesting.
User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1252
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Floppy Sound Emulator

Post by Jookie »

ccarl84 wrote:Why not ?
I'm not saying it's not possible or won't be done, I've just said that the current HW (without modifications) has no way to output sound :)
ccarl84 wrote:Afterwards, Alexh's idea is interesting.
Yeah, +1 from me on that ;)
Post Reply

Return to “CosmosEx”