Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

News, Support and Development discussions relating to SuperVidel.

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., instream, Moderator Team, Nature

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by calimero »

^ cool!

another question: what temperature of iron should I use while soldering wire at Falcon motherboard?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 1011
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by shoggoth »

May I suggest a trip to www.google.com? :) Around 300 degrees C I guess. Less is more, don't use crappy equipment. Or ask a skilled friend to help you out.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by calimero »

ok, I finally manage to solder V/H sync wires...

I just realise that SuperVidel will require additional monitor for my Falcon!

a) 030 mode & old 15KHz stuff > F030 Video port > composite cable > Commodore 1084s
b) 030 mode & VGA stuff > F030 Video port > VGA cable > Samsung SyncMaster 753s
c) CT63 & hires stuff > SuperVidel > DVI > Dell U2418M
d) CT63 and demos > F030 Video port > VGA cable > Samsung SyncMaster 753s

---

complete mess! :)
...I need to find ASAP multisync, 15KHz, monitor...
My Dell U2412M can display SOME low KHz stuff!
e.g. when I run Lost Blubb demo (straight VGA cable from F030 to Dell) it will show only ~80% scenes in demo - there is few scenes that use unsupported KHz on Dell U2412M :(

take a look:

http://youtu.be/Vloo7nwL56U
Last edited by calimero on Mon Sep 30, 2013 9:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 1011
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by shoggoth »

Depends on the user I guess. I switch to 030 mode once a year or so :)
Ain't no space like PeP-space.
jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by jury »

calimero wrote: btw what is speed of SvethLana? Currently I am using NetUSB on ROM port but I guess that SvethLana is faster?
I have finally plugged my SvethLana and was pleased when I saw that it was running at around 700KB/s when downloading some stuff by FTP from my Ubuntu machine.
My before network setup ( NetUSBee ) was running around 350KB/s, so the average speed doubled :)
instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by instream »

shoggoth wrote: SvethLana is a 100Mbit card on a fast bus, it should be quite a bit faster than the NetUSB. Any speed limitation is more likely to be in the MiNTNet stack (which has some short comings) rather than the hardware.
Today the VHDL implementation for supporting the Svethlana only has 2 buffers for TX and 2 for RX, and no DMA to/from CT60 SDRAM. I am unsure if Mintnet uses more than one buffer in each direction, but some old tests on the Ethernat, which also has 2 buffers in each direction, seemed to suggest that Mintnet doesn't use the extra buffers. Which would be a pity.
Sometime in the future we may add DMA and/or more buffers, which should greatly increase data rates in both directions. If Mintnet uses the extra buffers that is.
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by calimero »

Some quick pics of my F030 in original case + CT63 + SuperVidel + IDE2CF:
IMG_7493.jpg
IMG_7502.jpg
IMG_7503.jpg
IMG_7504.jpg
IMG_7507.jpg
IMG_7508.jpg
IMG_7510.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by calimero on Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by calimero »

IMG_7511.jpg
IMG_7512.jpg
IMG_7517.jpg
IMG_7518.jpg
IMG_7527.jpg
IMG_7539.jpg
IMG_7550.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by calimero »

...and I have bunch of questions :)

I am running MiNT 1.18 with MyAES 0.95

I still can not figure out how to set 32bit color mode? in XAAES\EXAMPLE.CNF I found some explanation but there is only setting for 16bit mode max.:

Code: Select all

BIT 0-2 BPS:
Number of bitplanes:
000 = 2color
001 = 4color
010 = 16color
011 = 256color
100 = 16bit per pixel
and how I can setup desired X and Y resolution? I see that you using $441c but how did you calculate this value? where I can find detailed (complete) documentation how vsetmode works? I see that you have some util that can calculate correct vsetvalue, right? is it for XAAES only?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by calimero »

just tried:

Code: Select all

101 = 32bit per pixel
and it do the trick (somebody should add this info to XAAES/EXAMPLE.CNF)! :) now desktop is in 1024x768x32bit
but how to set resolution via vsetmode is still mystery to me!
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12916
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by wongck »

Nice pics of your system. :D
Great to have everything fitting into original case.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 1011
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by shoggoth »

Note: There is a thread about SuperVidel vs. XaAES (http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=100&t=25247). Please try to stick to the subject of each thread in this forum, since this helps other users find the information they need.

You can get the modecode value for a particular screen resolution from the Desktop video dialog. I should add a thread about the modecode API. Basically it's kept as intact as possible (i.e. to match the original API), but with the addition of some new bits which enables new resolutions and features.

Please note that XaAES has a bug (it's a design mistake, really) regarding the modecode value. Workarounds are described in said thread.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by calimero »

^
I will do that! until now, I did not realise that there is sub-forum for SuperVidel :) nice.
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
mdivancic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:59 pm
Location: Lyman, Maine USA

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by mdivancic »

I finally got my Falcon closed up. I'm happy with the install, the case has been open for months. It took me forever to figure out how to mount the SVEthLANa. Here's what I came up with:

Image

Image

Image
Mikey
Atari STacy 1
Atari TT030, CaTTamaran, 4 MB ST-Ram, 16 MB TT-RAM, ECL2VGA
Atari 800XL
Amiga 2000HD
Commodore 128D, 1084S monitor, RAMLink, CMD 4.1GB Hardrive
Commodore C64 Reloaded Mk2
Commodore SX-64
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by calimero »

very nice :) clean cut!

where did you put video output cable from SuperVidel?

btw it looks like that entire planet have only one type of push buttons and switches :D - yours looks exactly like mines!
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
mdivancic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:59 pm
Location: Lyman, Maine USA

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by mdivancic »

calimero wrote:very nice :) clean cut!

where did you put video output cable from SuperVidel?

btw it looks like that entire planet have only one type of push buttons and switches :D - yours looks exactly like mines!
Thanks! See the black cable coming out of the back of the Falcon? I used a 30" DVI cable. Put a wire tie around it should it couldn't be pulled out.

The buttons do work nice.
Mikey
Atari STacy 1
Atari TT030, CaTTamaran, 4 MB ST-Ram, 16 MB TT-RAM, ECL2VGA
Atari 800XL
Amiga 2000HD
Commodore 128D, 1084S monitor, RAMLink, CMD 4.1GB Hardrive
Commodore C64 Reloaded Mk2
Commodore SX-64
User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 1011
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by shoggoth »

Very neat & nice installs you got there guys! I wish my own falcon looked this good!!!
Ain't no space like PeP-space.
mdivancic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:59 pm
Location: Lyman, Maine USA

Re: Yeah! SuperVidel arrived today!

Post by mdivancic »

shoggoth wrote:Very neat & nice installs you got there guys! I wish my own falcon looked this good!!!
Thanks, took me for ever to figure out how to mount the network card, then I managed to run a screw through the cable the first time I closed the case. All good now! Getting everything into the original case and working has been a great project, one I've really enjoyed. It's really quite amazing the equipment that has been developed for these old computers.
Mikey
Atari STacy 1
Atari TT030, CaTTamaran, 4 MB ST-Ram, 16 MB TT-RAM, ECL2VGA
Atari 800XL
Amiga 2000HD
Commodore 128D, 1084S monitor, RAMLink, CMD 4.1GB Hardrive
Commodore C64 Reloaded Mk2
Commodore SX-64
Post Reply

Return to “SuperVidel”