SuperVidel DVI connection

News, Support and Development discussions relating to SuperVidel.

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., instream, Moderator Team, Nature

Post Reply
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1415
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

SuperVidel DVI connection

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Finally getting my SuperVidel installed in my original falcon case.

I don't like putting the DVI cable in like this:
dviconnect.png
Has anyone found a good solution to get the DVI connection out to the back of the falcon case without a big, bulky cable?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SuperVidel DVI connection

Post by leech »

I have the dual VGA/DVI cable on mine, still doesn't have a good way to get out of the case though, so my lid has been off forever. Would have been nice if they'd put a mini DVI port on it.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)
User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SuperVidel DVI connection

Post by leech »

So I bought one of these; https://www.amazon.com/Extension-CGTime ... 081&sr=8-2 It works with the DVI connection, but sadly does not support the dual-monitor output that my VGA/DVI cable does.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2200
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: SuperVidel DVI connection

Post by mikro »

I'm using a short DVI -> HDMI (female, mounted into the Falcon's case) adaptor from eBay. HDMI because I couldn't find a short DVI->DVI extension cable.
User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SuperVidel DVI connection

Post by leech »

Yeah, I say a few of those. Was hoping to retain the potential of using two screens. Not sure if you can split out HDMI like that. I am getting to the point that I may attempt to just make a cable...then I could at least attempt to keep the size if the plug to a minimum.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)
instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: SuperVidel DVI connection

Post by instream »

I'm also using a short 15-20 cm DVI to female HDMI-cable, that is turned 90 deg towards the back of the case and just barely exits the case.
User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: SuperVidel DVI connection

Post by leech »

instream wrote:I'm also using a short 15-20 cm DVI to female HDMI-cable, that is turned 90 deg towards the back of the case and just barely exits the case.
But I don't think you can do dual head off of that at all, can you?
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)
instream
Nature
Nature
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:08 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: SuperVidel DVI connection

Post by instream »

leech wrote:
instream wrote:I'm also using a short 15-20 cm DVI to female HDMI-cable, that is turned 90 deg towards the back of the case and just barely exits the case.
But I don't think you can do dual head off of that at all, can you?
You're correct. I don't use the VGA output at all, just the DVI signal.
Post Reply

Return to “SuperVidel”