Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

All about ST/STE demos

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by Steven Seagal »

Yo,

I patched two demos so that they will work on more STE:
Fantasia that checks for TOS v1.06 only, and Cuddly that was already patched for Steem, but needs to be patched again for the new version, and most probably for some STE.

Image

Image

available here:

http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem_demos4.htm

+ uploaded at AF:

edit: fix for new site
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Steven Seagal on Sun Mar 27, 2016 12:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
Maartau
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2630
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:15 am
Location: fronce

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by Maartau »

Thanks Steven :D .

I haven't watched demos since a moment, with huge pleasure will have a look @ "The Cuddly".
User avatar
Jake/Depression
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:40 am
Location: Finland

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by Jake/Depression »

How i thing there is already fixed Fantasia version made by original programmer. I look if i remember this one right or not...
-soimaamme toinen toista ja unohdamme tulta kohentaa-
User avatar
Jake/Depression
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:40 am
Location: Finland

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by Jake/Depression »

I found it. They made later fixer. Original need to be unpack and then used fixer, so fixed demo is now Atomic packet.

Thanks for fixing Cuddly.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-soimaamme toinen toista ja unohdamme tulta kohentaa-
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by Steven Seagal »

Thx, that's new to me.
Still an unpacked version is cool too :)
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by AtariCrypt »

Indeed. Great work! :)
AtariCrypt game website
https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com
leonard
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by leonard »

I already patched the Cuddly demo long, long time ago, to support STE :) Works on both STF/STE: all fullscreen / hardscroller working, even the loading scroller in bottom border. Add to this, I added a fade in for the small picture during the boot :)

http://pacidemo.planet-d.net/archives/CUDDLY_P.ZIP
Leonard/OXYGENE.
User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2500
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by lotek_style »

Leonard wins :P
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by Steven Seagal »

In fact I just patched the version already patched by Leonard, because the menu screen flickers in Steem and on my STE.
Just one byte was changed IIRC. (one more NOP or such)
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by Steven Seagal »

And I did a bad job too, as that version flickers like hell on both my STE and Steem. :oops:
Don't know what happened, must have been tested against an intermediary version.
New v2 is better hopefully.
Again, this is the version of Leonard with one byte changed.

http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem_demos4.htm

edit: fix link
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Steven Seagal on Sun Mar 27, 2016 12:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by Steven Seagal »

Little surprise, in v3.8, Steem SSE displays the "patched once" (by Leonard) Cuddly Demo menu correctly with option wake-up state WS1.
Because the spurious "line +2" at the top causes a plane shift of other lines.
Now if it isn't a compensating bug in Steem SSE, this could explain why on my STE, sometimes it works, sometimes not: there would still be a wake-up state on the STE, where "partially loaded" Shifter tricks may "work" or not. Just speculation.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1460
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by troed »

I don't understand what you mean with the above. There are indeed Shifter wakestates on STE, affecting words left in the Shifter, but nothing that would affect line lengths (GLUE/GST-MCU)

What do you see on real hardware?

/Troed
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by Steven Seagal »

I don't understand either.
On my STE, this menu(as patched by Leonard), sometimes is plane-shifted (like Steem 3.8 without option WS1), sometimes isn't.
There are other cases, like Overscan Demos 2000, some screens may randomly flicker.
For the second case, just going from menu to screens and back is enough to change this condition.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
Tronic
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed May 19, 2004 10:37 am
Location: West Sussex, England
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by Tronic »

Awesome :)
Atari STE, Mega STE, Atari STFM, UltraSatan, SatanDisk, Commodore 64, BBC Micro Model B, Playstation 1, Playstation 4, XBox 360, Amiga 600, Amiga 1200, Nintendo DS, Super Nintendo Classic Mini, Sony PSP and Super Nintendo.

http://www.ataristsales.com and http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Jays-Retro-Computer-Sales.
Atari ST demoscener, active in Effect^Elite since 1992! http://www.effect.org.uk.
User avatar
Sturm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by Sturm »

Would it be possible to patch The Cuddly Demo for Falcon ? This was the first demo i watched and my all time favorite !
User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1346
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by npomarede »

The cuddly demo won't work on Falcon, even if you patch it to pass the loader, it requires an STF/STE shifter for all the border tricks, which the Falcon doesn't have (the Videl has a shifter compatible mode, but that's mainly for games/demos not using sync/freq switches to remove borders)
Nicolas
leonard
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by leonard »

npomarede wrote:The cuddly demo won't work on Falcon, even if you patch it to pass the loader, it requires an STF/STE shifter for all the border tricks, which the Falcon doesn't have (the Videl has a shifter compatible mode, but that's mainly for games/demos not using sync/freq switches to remove borders)
Nicolas
true! Anyway it's only for "fullscreen" or "syncscroll" trick. For instance I think some screens I patched should theorically work on falcon : the megascroller with vectorball for instance ( my patch just disable top border and syncscroll and just use video base address ( 8205,07,09 )

anyway even that is quite some work...

I already make my sprite record falcon compatible using 320*200, 16colors. Is the falcon capable of large resolution, say 416*272, only using the good video regs settings? (I guess not)
Leonard/OXYGENE.
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2231
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by mikro »

leonard wrote:Is the falcon capable of large resolution, say 416*272, only using the good video regs settings? (I guess not)
What exactly is a good register setting? :-) If you mean changing amount of pixels in hz/v direction while keeping the ST palette registers then yes, this is possible. :)
leonard
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by leonard »

mikro wrote:If you mean changing amount of pixels in hz/v direction while keeping the ST palette registers then yes, this is possible. :)
really? you mean it's possible to set a 416*272 resolution with 4 bitplans and ST palette? If yes we could imagine a complete falcon port of cuddly demo, right?
Leonard/OXYGENE.
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2231
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Post by mikro »

Well, it has been some time but AFAIK you even *must* set the correct values for ST-Low (320x200), ST Med & ST High anyway. The compatibility flag just sets some basic parameters (like the ST palette). So if you decide to use other than 320x200 values, Videl wouldn't complain.

For 2-bitplane modes it is even more visible: there's no way to use a four colour resolution which doesn't use ST palette.
Post Reply

Return to “Demos - General”