COPS w/o WDIALOG

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sat Feb 22, 2020 6:53 pm

A first version of the updated COPS has just been build, and is part of the FreeMint snapshot builds.

As mentioned in the other thread, this version is supposed to work without the need to install WDIALOG first (but still makes use of it, should it be available).
Note that this only applies to COPS itself; any MagiC specific CPX that just assumes WDIALOG functions are available will still not work without it.

You will find the new version for example in the bootable builds, in the directory mint/1-19-cur/sys-root/opt/GEM/cops

Should there be any problems, please let us know, either here, or on the mint ML, or through githubs issue tracker.

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1133
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby czietz » Sat Feb 22, 2020 6:56 pm

Thank you!

stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 706
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby stormy » Sat Feb 22, 2020 7:25 pm

Very handy, thank you
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb

User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby mpattonm » Sat Feb 22, 2020 7:56 pm

Kudos to you!

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2110
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby mikro » Sat Feb 22, 2020 8:23 pm

Wow, that's a massive effort, well done.

Btw Vincent if you read this, please update that gemlib in your ubuntu repo, it's causing us a lot of troubles in Travis. :)

User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby mpattonm » Sat Feb 22, 2020 9:13 pm

BTW I am not having much luck running this version either. Looks like I should go to bed already.

ama
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 12:57 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby ama » Sat Feb 22, 2020 9:18 pm

Thanks Thorsten,
i have some troubles with this version of COPS. it does not show all control fields and can no longer be brought forward from the background. (MagiC)
After reloading, even less are shown.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sat Feb 22, 2020 10:22 pm

Thank you for the effort. I wanted to compile it on my own, however I get linakge errors on latest git master of freemint.

m68k-atari-mint-gcc -o cops.app -I../.. -m68000 -fgnu89-inline -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -Wall -Wmissing-prototypes -Wshadow -Wpointer-arith -Waggregate-return -DENGLISH adaptrsc.o callback.o cops.o cops_rsc.o cpx_bind.o fix_rsc.o list.o phstuff.o popup.o wlib.o callback_wrap.o clear_cpu_caches.o -lgem
cops.o:cops.o:(.text+0xace): undefined reference to `_form_dial_grect'
cops.o:cops.o:(.text+0x99a): undefined reference to `_wind_get_int'
cops.o:cops.o:(.text+0x1e34): undefined reference to `_objc_change_grect'
cops.o:cops.o:(.text+0x1e74): undefined reference to `_objc_change_grect'
cops.o:cops.o:(.text+0x1ffc): undefined reference to `_wind_set_int'
cops.o:cops.o:(.text+0x29fa): undefined reference to `_wind_set_int'
cops.o:cops.o:(.text+0x2b2a): undefined reference to `_wind_set_int'
cops.o:cops.o:(.text+0x2bc2): undefined reference to `_wind_set_int'
cops.o:cops.o:(.text+0x2dd8): undefined reference to `_wind_set_int'
cops.o:cops.o:(.text+0x443e): undefined reference to `_objc_change_grect'
cops.o:cops.o:(.text+0x484e): undefined reference to `_wind_set_int'
popup.o:popup.o:(.text+0x444): undefined reference to `_form_dial_grect'
popup.o:popup.o:(.text+0x60a): undefined reference to `_form_dial_grect'
popup.o:popup.o:(.text+0x754): undefined reference to `_form_dial_grect'
wlib.o:wlib.o:(.text+0x674): undefined reference to `_wind_set_int'
wlib.o:wlib.o:(.text+0x6be): undefined reference to `_wind_set_int'
wlib.o:wlib.o:(.text+0x7c6): undefined reference to `_wind_set_int'
wlib.o:wlib.o:(.text+0x844): undefined reference to `_wind_set_int'
wlib.o:wlib.o:(.text+0x1918): undefined reference to `_wind_set_int'
wlib.o:wlib.o:(.text+0x1a7c): more undefined references to `_wind_set_int' follow
wlib.o:wlib.o:(.text+0x1aa8): undefined reference to `_wind_get_int'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
Makefile:44: recipe for target 'cops.app' failed
make[5]: *** [cops.app] Error 1
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sun Feb 23, 2020 12:44 am

simonsunnyboy wrote: I get linakge errors on latest git master of freemint.


Yes, that are the same errors i got on my first try. The reason is, that those functions are available in current snapshot of gemlib, but not yet in package that is installed from Vincents ppa archive. Workaround for now: define BROKEN_GEMLIB somewhere, either in Makefile.objs with -D, or directly in global.h, near the end. Or compile a current version of gemlib yourself, and install that.

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sun Feb 23, 2020 1:03 am

mikro wrote:Btw Vincent if you read this, please update that gemlib in your ubuntu repo, it's causing us a lot of troubles in Travis. :)


Of course we cannot expect Vincent to update that archive after every commit to gemlib, but this functions were added about 1 1/2 years ago and i was a bit buffled that they are still not available.

But in general, we should rather think about using a current version from git instead of the archive, so any fixes made there will also make it into the applications.

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sun Feb 23, 2020 1:07 am

ama wrote:Thanks Thorsten,
i have some troubles with this version of COPS. it does not show all control fields and can no longer be brought forward from the background. (MagiC)
After reloading, even less are shown.


Hm, i cannot reproduce any of the problems. Could it be that some of these CPX are "set-only", and are just terminated after booting?

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:33 am

BROKEN_GEMLIB seemed to work here. I had to "make clean" inside the COPS source tree first.

ThorstenOtto wrote:But in general, we should rather think about using a current version from git instead of the archive, so any fixes made there will also make it into the applications.


This is probably the most stable approach for the future. You don't even have to recompile GEMLIB from source for Freemint builds, atleast as a user I would like to see that avoided. Probably providing the .a files should be sufficient?

Then you can simply update them when newer GEMLIB fixes become available.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:48 am

I tried the resulting COPS as an GEM APP first under TOS 2.06. I do know this is work in progress so please consider this just as user feedback to make it work in the end. I still assume the efforts are targetted to allow EmuTOS to run COPS?

Hatari Debugger output with TOS 2.06 and 4MB:

No GEMDOS dir '/home/marndt/tmp/defaults'
No GEMDOS dir '/home/marndt/tmp/usr/share/zoneinfo'
No GEMDOS dir '/home/marndt/tmp/usr/share/zoneinfo'
No GEMDOS dir '/home/marndt/tmp/usr/share/zoneinfo'
No GEMDOS dir '/home/marndt/tmp/CPX'
No GEMDOS dir '/home/marndt/tmp/defaults'
M68000 Bus Error writing at address $3e8 PC=$23d04.
Bus error exception at 0x23d04!
Reading symbols from program '/home/marndt/tmp/cops.app' symbol table...
GCC/MiNT executable, a.out symbol table, reloc=0, program flags: FASTLOAD TTRAMLOAD TTRAMMEM PRIVATE (0x7)
ERROR: symbol table missing from the program!
ERROR: reading symbols from '/home/marndt/tmp/cops.app' failed!

CPU=$23d04, VBL=11795, FrameCycles=138824, HBL=271, LineCycles=72, DSP=N/A
$00023d04 : 36af 00c4 move.w $c4(sp),(a3)


Something crashes with 2 bombs ( I placed cops_rs.rsc bedie the .APP) I notice it looks for unixoid pathnames via GEMDOS.

If i load it as an .ACC, the crash occurs as soon as the menu item is selected.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sun Feb 23, 2020 10:06 am

simonsunnyboy wrote:I placed cops_rs.rsc bedie the .APP)


That's not neccessary, since the resource is compiled into the executable.

I notice it looks for unixoid pathnames via GEMDOS.


The output is from Hatari. Cops directly uses Fopen() etc, not the wrappers from mintlib. Only thing that could happen is that "$HOME" is set, and contains slashes instead of backslashes.

If i load it as an .ACC, the crash occurs as soon as the menu item is selected.


Sounds like a problem if cops.inf is missing. i'll check that.

I do know this is work in progress so please consider this just as user feedback


WIP: yes, but only regarding the changes that affect WDIALOG functions. Everything else should of course work as before, but of course it is not impossible that i broke something. Anyway, thanks for the feedback.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun Feb 23, 2020 10:17 am

I doubt $HOME is set in a basic TOS enviroment. I can try loading emucon in my test setup and see if any environment definition is present.
And .inf is ofcourse missing at this point. I don't know where to find one.

Having the RSC compiled in is a great thing IMHO.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sun Feb 23, 2020 10:42 am

simonsunnyboy wrote:ERROR: symbol table missing from the program!


Could you try to recompile it with a symbol table, by removing the STRIP command in Makefile.objs (near the end)? If Hatari still complains about a missing symbols table, then maybe try to run it as an application instead.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun Feb 23, 2020 11:23 am

I tried this and it now has a symbol table:

aading symbols from program '/home/marndt/tmp/cops.app' symbol table...
GCC/MiNT executable, a.out symbol table, reloc=0, program flags: FASTLOAD TTRAMLOAD TTRAMMEM PRIVATE (0x7)
Trying to load symbol table at offset 0x2a8f8...
NOTE: ignored 68 weak / undefined symbols.
NOTE: ignored 980 unnamed / local symbols (= name starts with '.L').
NOTE: ignored 254 object symbols (= name has '/', ends in '.[ao]' or is GCC internal).
Skipping duplicate address & symbol name checks when autoload is enabled.
Loaded 725 symbols (527 TEXT) from '/home/marndt/tmp/cops.app'.

CPU=$71e84, VBL=1676, FrameCycles=28420, HBL=55, LineCycles=260, DSP=N/A
$00071e84 : 0000 6704 ori.b #4,d0
> c


No RSC or INF beside this time, still TOS 2.06 and 4MB setup without any further utilities.

I only activated
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1133
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby czietz » Sun Feb 23, 2020 12:02 pm

My crystal ball tells me that this...

Code: Select all

global.h:#define wind_set_int(a,b,c) wind_get(a,b,c,0,0,0)

... is related to the crash. ("set" != "get")

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sun Feb 23, 2020 12:18 pm

Aaargs. Thanks much for spotting that.

Edit: a fix has been pushed.

Edit2: that might also explain ama's issues, and why i could not reproduce it here (i'm using a self-compiled gemlib while testing). You you both please retest with a recent snapshot version?

ama
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 12:57 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby ama » Sun Feb 23, 2020 3:45 pm

Yes, is almost fixed. The window can be brought forward. If I start it as an application everything is fine, all CPX are available. But not when I start it as an accessory.

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sun Feb 23, 2020 4:00 pm

That might have to do with the location of COPS.inf. Do you start your accessories from the root folder, or from some other directory? And is there a cops.inf in that directory, or in $HOME, or $HOME\defaults? if that is the case, please check the location of the CPX directory that is stored there.

ama
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 12:57 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: COPS w/o WDIALOG

Postby ama » Sun Feb 23, 2020 4:35 pm

The CPX folder is in the root directory. COPS.INF is in $HOME. The path is set correctly. For the test, I also stored the cops.inf in the $HOME\defaults and in the root directory. Without success.

it is strange that with "reload" all other CPX disappear, except BubbleGEM and Colors. Only as ACC, no as APP.


Social Media

     

Return to “News & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gaiyan, rcamp48 and 6 guests