ORCS 2.17

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

ORCS 2.17

Postby ThorstenOtto » Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:54 am

Just uploaded an updated version of ORCS

ORCS is a resource editor (similar to InterFace/ResourceMaster).

There had been numerous smaller fixes in the past, and a few new features. Unfortunately, due to a HD crash, i lost large parts of the change history (but not the sources), so there is no currently no list of new features. Find out yourself ;)

Due to several problems reported in the past, i have omitted the loadable modules this time. But don't worry, the functionality is also integrated. Those modules were only used when doing a "Test", just in case they display some elements differently than ORCS does.

If you find any problems, please let me know.

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby nagual » Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:13 am

Very nice, thank you :-)

:cheers:

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby viking272 » Fri Nov 15, 2019 8:05 am

Great work, thanks for the update.
Has the sample code folder been omitted?

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby ThorstenOtto » Fri Nov 15, 2019 8:49 am

Oops, yes. But its the same as in previous versions.

User avatar
Arne
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 619
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby Arne » Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:10 am

On my MSTE with TOS2.06,NVDI 2.12 and HSMODEM all the text in the dialogs is missing:
Image

Without NVDI it's fine - but slower.
Image

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby ThorstenOtto » Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:16 am

Huks. I don't have NVDI 2.x anymore. I guess you are using it because of the increased memory consumptions of newer versions? The small circle buttons in the last picture seem to indicate that it reports some wrong information about fonts.

User avatar
Arne
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 619
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby Arne » Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:24 am

ThorstenOtto wrote:Huks. I don't have NVDI 2.x anymore. I guess you are using it because of the increased memory consumptions of newer versions?

Exactly :) I try to avoid these memory hogs.
Image

User avatar
Arne
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 619
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby Arne » Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:47 am

Another issue:
MSTE TOS2.06, 4MB 16MHz mode, no NVDI.
I load my RSC in ORCS. Double click on one of my Alertboxes. Window opens with its properties. Cursor is placed on "Name:" property.
I press [Backspace] on keyboard and ORCS answers with two bombs.
Is this a "terrorist's application" with all the bombs? :lol:

Edit: Same behaviour with x86 version. It crashes.

BTW it seems (when I read the created .H file) that there are objects in my RSC that are not visible (i.e. hidden). Any chance the unhide them for deletion? I tried the "Search" facility in ORCS but as soon as I try to type the name in the "Name:" edit field... guess what?
:arrow: 2 Bombs.
Image

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby ThorstenOtto » Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:41 am

Arne wrote: Any chance the unhide them for deletion?


Right-Click on the box containing the object(s). The popup should have an Unhide option.

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby ThorstenOtto » Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:51 pm

Bombs should be fixed now (actually affected all versions). Archives have been updated.

Edit: NDVI 2.x should work now, too. Archives updated again.

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2258
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby DrCoolZic » Mon Nov 18, 2019 10:01 am

I have downloaded orcs-2.17-win32/64 zip files
decompressed in a local dir
executed orcs.exe (tried 32 and 64 bits)
Program executes but no display ???
just seems to run in background ?
Do I miss something?

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby ThorstenOtto » Mon Nov 18, 2019 10:11 am

The executable is not signed, so there should be at least a confirmation dialog the first time you start it. Maybe some other security issue? Other than that, there is nothing else to install.

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2258
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby DrCoolZic » Mon Nov 18, 2019 10:39 am

Sorry it works fine now.
Don't know what happened ?

Nice to be able to work RCS files in windows environment
Many thanks

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2258
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby DrCoolZic » Tue Nov 19, 2019 11:09 am

Hello it is me again. Following is some information that might be of interest for you.

I have tried to understand why the program did not work for me originally.

As I told you I am now able to use the 32-bit version of the program. So I tried the 64-bit version but as originally described I could not see any window displayed? I have the OCRS icon in the task bar but no window showing.

First you have to know that I am using a configuration with 3 monitors and the OCRS window did not show on any of the monitors. As you probably know, when you click on an icon in the taskbar for an open window, the window close with an effect where you see the window shrinking from its position to the position of the icon in the taskbar. Therefore, I have clicked on the OCRS taskbar icon and I could see that a window on the left off the left monitor was “shrinking”. This indicates that the OCRS windows was probably displayed off-screen of the desktop. I have therefore used a procedure that most people do not know to bring back the window (google for "bring off-screen window back onto screen"). Basically I have right clicked the OCRS icon while holding down the shift key, selected move from the menu, and used the arrow key to bring back the OCRS off-screen window onto the desktop.

Once you have done this, Windows remember the position and next time you start OCRS the windows is displayed correctly.

Bottom line looks like you may not handle correctly multi-monitor configuration. I guess this is not a very important but I wanted to let you know.

Otherwise I have started to play a bit with the program and so far I like it very much. I am used to the “Interface” program but I might switch to OCRS. Being able to run it on Windows is a big plus because I am doing 99% of the Atari development on Windows. Only final test and debug are obviously done on Atari. RCS development so far were done under emulation using Interface but being able to do it directly on Windows is great…

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby ThorstenOtto » Tue Nov 19, 2019 2:53 pm

DrCoolZic wrote:Bottom line looks like you may not handle correctly multi-monitor configuration. I guess this is not a very important but I wanted to let you know.


Thanks for checking this. Although it might not be very important, it will of course be a bad experience if something like this happens, and no window is displayed when run for the first time. Most users will just think the program does not work at all.

Unfortunately i don't have a setup with multiple monitors, but i will try to find out what might be causing this behaviour.

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1866
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby Cyprian » Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:31 pm

I didn't know there is windows version.
That's cool.
Thanks Otto

---edit---

stupid idea
would be possible to show the main menu with Atari fonts?
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2258
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby DrCoolZic » Tue Nov 19, 2019 6:00 pm

@ThorstenOtto I started to play with the windows and Atari versions of ORCS and I already found a lot a small mistakes on Atari/Windows and non working features on windows.

Would you be interested if I spend some time testing your program and I provide you with a list of problems?
Should we start a separate thread for this, as this one is more for announcements?

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby ThorstenOtto » Tue Nov 19, 2019 7:11 pm

Cyprian wrote:would be possible to show the main menu with Atari fonts?


No sorry. The main menu uses native windows functions for handling, everything else would badly interfere with other applications, and general behaviour a user would expect from a windows application.

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 981
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby ThorstenOtto » Tue Nov 19, 2019 7:13 pm

DrCoolZic wrote:Would you be interested if I spend some time testing your program and I provide you with a list of problems?


I cannot promise to spend much time in the windows version, but yes, of course i'm interested to know of existing problems.

Should we start a separate thread for this, as this one is more for announcements?


Yes, please.

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2258
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby DrCoolZic » Tue Nov 19, 2019 8:16 pm

OK I will be testing both the Atari and Windows version and let you know the problem I find.
I will create a new thread with problems. But be patient :O

JeanMars
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:15 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby JeanMars » Tue Nov 19, 2019 8:52 pm

Hi,

that is pretty weird on my side as well; orcs (32 or 64 bit) does not show any window, not even an icon in launch bar. I can see just the process in task manager. Using a Win10 64bit.

On a VM Win10 64bit running on the same machine, both versions are working OK...

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12832
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby wongck » Tue Nov 19, 2019 11:46 pm

:roll: oh well..... Perhaps reading the post by DrCoolZic, 7 or 8 posts (sorry can't count, eyesight issue) above might help in getting back that missing window.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

itaboy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 6:24 pm

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby itaboy » Wed Nov 20, 2019 12:07 am

Actually the same thing happens for me as well, and I have a plain vanilla 1 monitor configuration as most users... still when I run the program I can't see any windows...

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12832
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby wongck » Wed Nov 20, 2019 12:49 am

Thanks for updating it.
ORC was the 1st resource editor that I used back in the 80s when I was fiddling around with programming. It must have been vresion 1,0. :D

On the windows version, I ran it from a dual monitor system and the green desktop window appear. This is the 1st time I ran the windows version and have no RSC to load - 64 bit version on a Windows 10 64bits 1803 ( yeah I need to update it to at least 1903, but I don't trust new windows updates as they don't work proper), both LCD are set to 1920x1080 with primary on left side.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12832
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ORCS 2.17

Postby wongck » Wed Nov 20, 2019 12:58 am

Ok... so I found a problem.... it's the CHM files. It opens up with the navigation panel but there is nothing on the RHS content panel.
May be Win10 does not understand this old help format???
At least, there is the HTML version. :thumbs:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “News & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests