SNES core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: SNES core

Postby JamesF » Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:11 am

Report:
In 480i mode the output will always be 30fps when it should be 60fps.
This can be verified using 240p test suite using 480i mode and 'scroll test'.
Affected games: RPM Racing.

Genesis core behaves the same in 480i mode, it runs in 30fps.
Affected games: Sonic 2, 2 player VS mode.

I would assume that these cores do not show each interlaced field as a frame, but two fields as a frame, resulting in half the framerate.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5094
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Jan 13, 2019 4:01 pm

it seems a scaler "bug" or feature. So it needs to be posted in Scaler thread so author will know it.

Actually interlace mode almost not used in games. Genesis has only 2 games using interlace. SNES probably the same. Good handling of interlace mode requires a lot of effort with little gain in the result.

aosuke
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:58 am

Re: SNES core

Postby aosuke » Mon Jan 14, 2019 3:49 am

SnoopKatt wrote:
ghogan42 wrote:
mattsoft wrote:Think I figured it out. DOH!

You need to update the mister.ini with the new config options when you go to MiSTer_20181221 or you get black screen on some cores. Having vscale_mode declared in the ini is probably important. :)


Nope. If you don't have that option then you just get it as if vscale_mode=0

It must be some other problem. Occasionally you can start a core and have no video (not snes specific). Often you need to reboot the board to clear up this issue. It could be that.

Hmm, I get this issue with a fresh install of mister as of yesterday. I don't have that mister.ini file either...

EDIT: Adding the .ini file seemed to do the trick.


I'm having this problem too, I can get sound and a menu but never any video. I dont know what to troubleshoot, i tried a fresh install and everything.

fille1976
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:33 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby fille1976 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 11:38 am

Hi,

Seems after latest mister and menu file update i get black screen on snes core.
I did not changed anything in the Mister ini file,that i also updates cause otherwise the menu is flipping.
My bootrom file is super mario world in the snes core,i hear music,but noting on screen.
Then i pushed f12 and try to start a different game,same result.

PS:Problem solved,just changed something in the MISTer.ini,working fine now.
Last edited by fille1976 on Sat Jan 19, 2019 11:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5094
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Jan 19, 2019 11:52 am

just turn off/on the MiSTer.

fille1976
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:33 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby fille1976 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 12:00 pm

Sorgelig wrote:just turn off/on the MiSTer.



Got it back working sorg,i updated via mister updater script,resetted few times,but now its working back as should.
Grts

ReedSolomon
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:52 am

Re: SNES core

Postby ReedSolomon » Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:12 am

Thanks for the Super FX support srg320! You're incredible!

Recoil
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:36 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby Recoil » Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:38 am

YES, awesome work on core

cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby cacophony » Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:54 am

Having a blast with SFX, thanks srg320 ! :cheers:

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1463
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: SNES core

Postby Newsdee » Thu Jan 24, 2019 4:09 am

This is amazing progress. Bravo!

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: SNES core

Postby JamesF » Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:20 am

Fantastic work with GSU!

SuperFX report:
Starfox has screen flickering issues during gameplay.
Also, it doesn't seem that superfx half/full speed switch is working in StarFox (the only game that uses GSU1 half speed).

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5094
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:42 am

JamesF wrote:Starfox has screen flickering issues during gameplay.

really?? How about read the first post?

JamesF wrote:Also, it doesn't seem that superfx half/full speed switch is working in StarFox (the only game that uses GSU1 half speed).

it does.

BeoWolff
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 11:15 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby BeoWolff » Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:26 am

What does Super FX half speed/full speed switch do and which is the normal setting? Does it double the speed of the game, or cut it in half?

ReedSolomon
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:52 am

Re: SNES core

Postby ReedSolomon » Thu Jan 24, 2019 7:57 am

JamesF wrote:Fantastic work with GSU!

SuperFX report:
Starfox has screen flickering issues during gameplay.


The first post of this thread does list that as a known issue

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5094
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Jan 24, 2019 9:28 am

BeoWolff wrote:What does Super FX half speed/full speed switch do and which is the normal setting? Does it double the speed of the game, or cut it in half?

StarFox uses half speed by default, so you can increase the speed in the game if you set to "full".
Other games are always using full speed.

bitfan2011
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby bitfan2011 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:25 pm

is it possible to reduce flicker and slowdown in SNES titles? are there any options like the SMS and TG16 cores?

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: SNES core

Postby kitrinx » Fri Jan 25, 2019 3:22 pm

Regarding the Starfox bugs, it seems that the flicker/triangles bug is frequently encountered when implementing the GSU. You're probably already aware of the cause, but in case it's helpful, this was the commit for sd2snes that fixed it, so maybe looking over their code might be helpful in resolving the issue in your own:
https://github.com/mrehkopf/sd2snes/com ... 467833b109

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5094
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:28 pm

kitrinx wrote:Regarding the Starfox bugs, it seems that the flicker/triangles bug is frequently encountered when implementing the GSU. You're probably already aware of the cause, but in case it's helpful, this was the commit for sd2snes that fixed it, so maybe looking over their code might be helpful in resolving the issue in your own:
https://github.com/mrehkopf/sd2snes/com ... 467833b109

Edge flickering in Starfox is not related to this fix. According to srg320 the problem is not in GSU.
Striped triangles will be fixed.

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: SNES core

Postby PhantombrainM » Fri Jan 25, 2019 10:06 pm

Where are the ram backup files stored?

I've got old .sav files but I think they are not used anymore and can't find the save files for current games and also don't see recent changed files...
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5094
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Jan 26, 2019 1:14 am

in saves folder

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: SNES core

Postby PhantombrainM » Sat Jan 26, 2019 9:17 am

Sorgelig wrote:in saves folder


Oh boy... Sometimes you can't see the forest for all the trees. 8O :lol:

Thank you.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: SNES core

Postby JamesF » Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:06 am

I just noticed that 480i mode on analog outpu isn't actually interlaced but shaking 240p.
Seems like two consecutive filed are drawn on the exact same scan lines, instead interleaving.
480i is working as it should on the Genesis core though.

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/SNES_MiSTer/issues/31

paulbnl
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:43 am

Re: SNES core

Postby paulbnl » Tue Feb 05, 2019 10:55 pm

After the scaler update on 28 January my TV has to resync everytime I load a rom when using HDMI with vsync_adjust=2. So I see a black screen for 2 seconds.

Grabulosaure
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: SNES core

Postby Grabulosaure » Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:14 pm

paulbnl wrote:After the scaler update on 28 January my TV has to resync everytime I load a rom when using HDMI with vsync_adjust=2. So I see a black screen for 2 seconds.


Before that update, vsync_adjust=2 did not work in any of the "official" releases (SNES, Genesis/Megadrive...), because of a missing signal (".o_lltune(lltune)" line in sys_top.v). It behaved like vsync_adjust=1, but without the triple buffering = with tearing.

With the fix, it now works as designed, continuously adjusting the HDMI PLL frequency to generate the HDMI video after a few lines of delay (e.g. <500 µs) from the source video.
The problem is that initial frequency and phase locking takes times. The next version will be faster, but still not instantaneous : 1-2 seconds. I have tried to have very slow adjustments, hoping to always keep an image displayed, but it doesn't work, even when spread for minutes.

Sorry, beside not using vsync_adjust, and optimising each core to avoid as much as possible resolution changes, I have no solution.

paulbnl
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:43 am

Re: SNES core

Postby paulbnl » Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:42 pm

As I understand it the Linux side calculates the PLL needed so the initial frequency is already very close and the FPGA side only needs to make minor adjustments. So I don't understand why there is any sync loss. If my TV is losing sync because of the continuous frequency adjustments then it should constantly lose sync?


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests