FX CAST Atari ST core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1131
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: FX CAST Atari ST core

Postby slingshot » Wed Aug 28, 2019 8:08 am

ijor wrote:Probably MiSTery is still not as accurate as my core in ST mode. But I expect it to mostly catch up sooner or later. Perhaps with the main exception of supporting copy protected images. Well, at least that would be difficult to implement within the limitations of the MiST hardware. This is a pitty, because copy protected images exercise and test core accuracy even more than demos. Might be possible, perhaps, with some pre processing performed at a PC.


Of course it's not. Troed's wakestate detection code still identifies the machine as STe even in ST mode. However the mentioned two demos have other problems. Maybe MFP issue, just curious how did you implement it? Experimented until worked (I think it's not your style), or decapped the MFP, too?

Don't know if it will ever support copy protections, but if 0 wait state ROM access was possible, then maybe this one, too. However a demo-friendly blitter is higher priority for me.

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: FX CAST Atari ST core

Postby Methanoid » Fri Oct 04, 2019 3:22 pm

Hi

I found the original announcement from last year and wondered if there is anything happening with regard to the limitations (some of which I wasnt fussed about personally but these ones below are pretty useful to have added.....)

- ST/STFM only. No STE functionality. No Blitter. ***
- No hard disk support.
- No user selection of the TOS version. Has TOS 1.0 UK.
- No user selection of amount of RAM. Hardwired for 1MB.
- Single floppy disk drive. Read only.
- No option for faster than real floppy disk.
- No turbo mode (CPU always runs at nominal frequency)

I didn't see a changelog so wonder if anything has changed or not? :shrug: For me ST & Amiga are the primary MiSTer drivers!

Milongero
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 2:24 pm
Location: Germany

Re: FX CAST Atari ST core

Postby Milongero » Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:35 pm

Hello,

first of all I have to praise the wonderful work that makes it possible to recreate an Atari ST so realistically.

I still think it would be nice if the FXCAST would run properly on one of my two monitors.
On my modern Samsung UHD monitor (3ms latency) in 16:9 format the picture is stretched over HDMI.
And on my Sony PVM (no latency), unfortunately, more than the possible displayable 15 kHz arrive in color mode, so I can't even use it in RGB mode.

To use the Fxcast properly you need an old 4:3 VGA LCD Monitor. :-(
And hardly anyone uses these monitors to play anymore because most of them have a very bad latency. And then there's the scandoubler which worsens the latency even more.
What use is an exact CPU core if the display delays all the good work again?

On the MIST there are now two Atari-ST cores that run well enough in RGB mode for games. That's why I still use the MIST in parallel.

Greetings Lutz

Shamus
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:55 pm

Re: FX CAST Atari ST core

Postby Shamus » Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:51 pm

Yeah, the ST core announcement about a year ago made me get a MiSTer. Still, I cannot run the core as I am using a DVI LCD. The MiSTer let's me peek into the consoles and arcades of the 80s and 90s, though, which is quite fun! I am also happy with the VIC-20 and C64 cores. The ST core, however, would bring back real nostalgia for me - I am still hoping ... :roll:

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3796
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: FX CAST Atari ST core

Postby ijor » Mon Oct 07, 2019 7:12 pm

Sorry about that. As said, real life was giving little free time lately. Hopefully that will change shortly and I'll be able to keep developing this core.
Fx Cast: Atari St cycle accurate fpga core

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 455
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: FX CAST Atari ST core

Postby ericgus » Tue Oct 08, 2019 4:41 am

ijor wrote:Sorry about that. As said, real life was giving little free time lately. Hopefully that will change shortly and I'll be able to keep developing this core.


Perhaps you can just put what you got so far on github and let someone else pick it up? I am sure there are a number of people who would gladly help out. Of course if the code isn't available, they cant. .. just a thought. I know you previously mentioned the code is not as neat and clean as you would like but I dont think they will mind that for the most part.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests