STfm rebooted

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

STfm rebooted

Postby PeterS » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:10 pm

I just turned on my ST for the first time since about 2000.

It is plugged into a scart connector on my modern tv.

First suprise, it flashed blue and white and then booted and gives a desktop picture. It's a bit shakey, the cable is very old.

The mouse needed a twist of the wire but works.

Reset button doesn't work.

It boots to TOS 1, ignores the T Board TOS 2 adapter. I cant remember how to get into TOS 2.06.

It has an EZ Flyer external scsi HD and that spins up but doesn't get detected yet. I think it needs TOS 2.

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: STfm rebooted

Postby PeterS » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:36 pm

Some contact cleaner lubricant seems to have fixed the reset button.

One of the clips on the simm adapter has broken so I will glue the simm in with a small spot of hot melt glue. Not my favourite but it sets fast and can be removed if needed.

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: STfm rebooted

Postby PeterS » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:21 am

I put the T board boot floppy in and it booted to TOS2 and the hard drive was detected and seems to be intact. :D

4Mb of RAM is working and plugging the mouse a few times has removed some oxidisation from the pins so it is working more reliably.

The screen is still flickering badly and is blurred. I think the socket may have worked loose from the pcb and may have to be re-soldered. Can it just be soldered under the board ?

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: STfm rebooted

Postby PeterS » Wed Sep 19, 2018 12:10 pm

I swapped the disc in the EZ Flyer for the "boot" one instead of the one labelled "backup" and it booted into TOS2.

The display has some vertical bands as well as the flickering.

Is this bad capacitors ?


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron