Dead F030 count

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

mpattonm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Dead F030 count

Postby mpattonm » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:15 pm

I was wondering - how many of you have a dead Falcon (system, or just a board) in their possesion?
Last edited by mpattonm on Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ggn
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1203
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 4:49 pm

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby ggn » Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:23 pm

I have one that has a CT2 fitted that won't display any signal when turned on. It used to though, so it's queued for a recap.
is 73 Falcon patched atari games enough ? ^^

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby Rustynutt » Wed Jul 18, 2018 11:06 pm

Just shipped one out. My fault entirely, out of 12 owned over the years.

tin
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 7:59 am
Contact:

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby tin » Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:03 am

Same as ggn: a CT2 (CT2a iirc) equipped machine used to work fine but doesn‘t anymore. No signal in both modes. IIRC it had a limbo state where only the non accelerated mode worked. Didn‘t investigate further, but will do.

Thats the first Falcon I‘ve seen failing completely (and I personally poured coke into a mates Falcon :/ ).

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1727
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby mikro » Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:03 am

A friend of mine has a dead Falcon in his basement. An accident with the infamous blue/red cables for the CT60 switched the other way around.

Btw guys, you should really do something about the CT2s -- I really want to code something CT2-specific in not so distant feature! :)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4144
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby joska » Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:17 am

I wonder how many working CT2-Falcons there are left? I only know about one (yours) that works.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1727
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby mikro » Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:34 am

The same friend with fried Falcon has a working CT2B Falcon. Evil/DHS should be another one, IIRC Deez/Evolution has yet another one. Then CiH from the Maggie/Alive team. And then there's Atari030.

EDIT: Ah, now I remember. Evil has sold his CT2A to Theo Knez (Knezzen) a long time ago...
Last edited by mikro on Fri Jul 20, 2018 7:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby Atari030 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:36 pm

I bought a dead Falcon for $50. Fixed a broken trace and Voila. That doesn't really count though. :-) And yup, CT2 still running with 128MB and a 20gig Seagate HDD.

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1401
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby paul92706 » Sat Jul 21, 2018 5:20 pm

Atari030 wrote:I bought a dead Falcon for $50. Fixed a broken trace and Voila. That doesn't really count though. :-) And yup, CT2 still running with 128MB and a 20gig Seagate HDD.

I aswell bought a dead Falcon off ebay for $75 i repaired it installed a CT60 and put it backup on ebay and cashed out at $2,000, that was my luckiest day!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
Trixster
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:15 pm
Location: England

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby Trixster » Sat Jul 21, 2018 7:32 pm

Good result that, Paul! :)
Atari Falcon + CT60e | Atari 2600 | Atari Jaguar | A1200 + 80mhz B1260 + Indi AGA2 + Ide-fix Express | SNES
A4000/060 CS Mk2 + Indi AGA + Voodoo3 + G3 800Mhz PPC + Deneb | A3000/060 + CV64 + Deneb + 486SLC2 | PS1
Acorn A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Atom | Master Turbo | A500 | C64 | 3DO | Saturn | PS2 | CPC6128

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1401
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby paul92706 » Mon Jul 23, 2018 6:09 am

Trixster wrote:Good result that, Paul! :)

Thanks Trix
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12460
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby wongck » Mon Jul 23, 2018 11:41 am

paul92706 wrote: that was my luckiest day!

2500% markup..... wooohooo
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2388
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby christos » Mon Jul 23, 2018 11:48 am

Fried mine by connecting the ct63 to motherboard wrong...
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1401
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby paul92706 » Tue Jul 24, 2018 5:33 am

wongck wrote:
paul92706 wrote: that was my luckiest day!

2500% markup..... wooohooo

:wink:
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 804
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby dhedberg » Tue Jul 24, 2018 11:55 am

christos wrote:Fried mine by connecting the ct63 to motherboard wrong...

Oh no! When did that happen? How bad is it?
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2388
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby christos » Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:38 pm

A couple of years ago. Repairability is unknown. The ct63 works though. Ajax chip exploded.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1401
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby paul92706 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:25 pm

christos wrote:A couple of years ago. Repairability is unknown. The ct63 works though. Ajax chip exploded.

So you been without a Falcon for a few years? The Ajax chip can be easily changed out, i am wondering why would connecting your ct63 wrong attack your Ajax chip?, i would asume it would hit the power rail. Strange!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2388
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby christos » Thu Aug 09, 2018 6:01 pm

paul92706 wrote:
christos wrote:A couple of years ago. Repairability is unknown. The ct63 works though. Ajax chip exploded.

So you been without a Falcon for a few years? The Ajax chip can be easily changed out, i am wondering why would connecting your ct63 wrong attack your Ajax chip?, i would asume it would hit the power rail. Strange!


Yes, I am stuck with a mega ste and a colour tv. I really need to upgrade that setup a bit with some vga adapter and an lcd monitor but it just doesn't give me the same feeling. Still trying to do wi fi with czietz' adapter is quite fun and frustrating at the same time.

As for the ajax chip, yes it is, if you can desolder it. It actually makes sense that it would attack it since the motherboard is powered by the floppy drive connector. I guess that's where the traces would lead. In all honesty the whole thing has been demotivating.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1124
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Dead F030 count

Postby CiH » Thu Aug 09, 2018 6:35 pm

Btw guys, you should really do something about the CT2s -- I really want to code something CT2-specific in not so distant feature! :)

Colour me interested 8)
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests