Atari Mega STe 2 floppy drive Gotek + SMD-340

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Atari Mega STe 2 floppy drive Gotek + SMD-340

Postby Orion_ » Wed Jul 18, 2018 3:32 pm

Hello,
I want to include 2 floppy drives inside my Atari Mega STe.

Solved:
DON'T USE A TWISTED CABLE !

The main floppy drive DS0 is the Gotek HxC (plugged in the upper part of the cable)
The jumpers are like this: (S0 selected)
Image

The secondary floppy drive DS1 is the SMD-340 (plugged in the middle part of the cable)
The jumpers are like this: (DS1 selected, the other jumpers were left as is)
Image
Last edited by Orion_ on Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:32 pm, edited 3 times in total.
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Atari Mega STe 2 floppy drive Gotek + SMD-340

Postby Orion_ » Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:44 pm

here is my setup
Image
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1587
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Atari Mega STe 2 floppy drive Gotek + SMD-340

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:57 pm

See the Schematics if the real DS1 from the Soundchip is connected to the Shugart Bus.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Atari Mega STe 2 floppy drive Gotek + SMD-340

Postby Orion_ » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:39 am

according to the Mega STe schematic, I guess there is a problem :/

Code: Select all

Atari Side / Floppy Cable

D0SEL     -> Motor Enable A
D1SEL     -> Drive Sel B
N/C       -> Drive Sel A
WD1772 MO -> Motor Enable B
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1587
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Atari Mega STe 2 floppy drive Gotek + SMD-340

Postby frank.lukas » Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:32 am

fdd.gif


The Atari 34pin Shugart Bus is ok on Pin10 = DS0, Pin12=DS1
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Atari Mega STe 2 floppy drive Gotek + SMD-340

Postby Orion_ » Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:00 am

ok so, why doesn't it work with my setup ?
And the floppy pinout is like this so I wonder why D0SEL is on Motor Enable A, and Drive Sel A is not connected
(I am not an electronic engineer though)
Image
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1587
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Atari Mega STe 2 floppy drive Gotek + SMD-340

Postby frank.lukas » Thu Jul 19, 2018 12:52 pm

Your Chat ist wrong. See my one ...

shugart.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Atari Mega STe 2 floppy drive Gotek + SMD-340

Postby Orion_ » Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:30 pm

ok, after some test and understanding the cable twist, I figured it out, just DON'T USE A TWISTED CABLE !
I reverted the twist, and now it's fully working like expected !
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

tzok
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Bielsko-Biala, PL
Contact:

Re: Atari Mega STe 2 floppy drive Gotek + SMD-340

Postby tzok » Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:33 pm

Twisted cable is meant only for PC FDD, as there are two separate MOTOR_ON (MOTEA and MOTEB) signals and two DRIVE_SELECT (DRVSA and DRVSB). So, with twisted cable, both drives are set as DS1, and the twist changes one to DS0. On Atari or plain Shugart there is only one MOTOR_ON shared by all drives (PIN 16 like MOTEB on PC), so it can't be moved elsewhere. On the other hand there are 4 DRIVE_SELECT lines (Atari has only 2 connected). It should work with internal drive set to DS1 (B:) connected before twist, and Gotek (also set as DS1) after the twist. In this setup Goted would be DS0 (A:), and should work as it doesn't use MOTOR_ON signal.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests