Fuse blows when in low res

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
Istasha
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:48 pm

Fuse blows when in low res

Postby Istasha » Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:54 pm

I recently got a SCART adapter for my 1040 STFM. However, when connected to a television the fuse blows after 5 to 15 seconds.

Would any of you know what might cause the issue? If I can find another fuse I can check if the problem persists regardless of resolution (although I doubt it as it has worked without issue so far with my SM124).

Cheers!

qazuio
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 3:33 pm

Re: Fuse blows when in low res

Postby qazuio » Thu Jul 12, 2018 6:32 pm

S
Last edited by qazuio on Sat Jul 14, 2018 5:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Fuse blows when in low res

Postby joska » Fri Jul 13, 2018 6:19 am

Istasha wrote:I recently got a SCART adapter for my 1040 STFM. However, when connected to a television the fuse blows after 5 to 15 seconds.


Which fuse?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Istasha
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:48 pm

Re: Fuse blows when in low res

Postby Istasha » Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:58 am

joska wrote:
Istasha wrote:I recently got a SCART adapter for my 1040 STFM. However, when connected to a television the fuse blows after 5 to 15 seconds.


Which fuse?

Ah, sorry, that would be the fuse on the Atari's PSU.

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2704
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Fuse blows when in low res

Postby alexh » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:43 am

Badly wired SCART cable?

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Fuse blows when in low res

Postby joska » Fri Jul 13, 2018 12:12 pm

Istasha wrote:Ah, sorry, that would be the fuse on the Atari's PSU.


Oops 8O Have you tested your Atari (with your SM124, *not* the TV!) after this incident? Oh, and don't try that SCART cable again. There is for sure something wrong with either the cable or the TV.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Istasha
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:48 pm

Re: Fuse blows when in low res

Postby Istasha » Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:42 pm

joska wrote:Oops 8O Have you tested your Atari (with your SM124, *not* the TV!) after this incident? Oh, and don't try that SCART cable again. There is for sure something wrong with either the cable or the TV.

Took me a while but I sourced another pack of fuses.

I have just replaced the fuse and connected the Atari to my -124. It's been running fine for two minutes and restarting (and resetting) works without hiccups.

So it does seem like the issue is with the television or the cable. Good thing that! I'm atrocious at anything that resembles soldering. :lol:


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: wietze and 9 guests