Hatari red side bars in fullscreen

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.1.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

mig39
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 1:03 am

Hatari red side bars in fullscreen

Postby mig39 » Sat Jun 30, 2018 1:06 am

Hi guys,

I've just install Hatari (via homebrew) on a 2017 iMac. Whenever I go into fullscreen, it shows these annoying red sidebars.

Anyone know how I can get rid of them, or change them to black?

See screenshot:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1695
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Hatari red side bars in fullscreen

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sat Jun 30, 2018 10:21 pm

I don't see them on Linux. Which version of Hatari and libSDL you're using?

(I think the problem is the libSDL library used in homebrew. Mac version of libSDL has had a lot of problems / bugs during the years.)

mig39
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 1:03 am

Re: Hatari red side bars in fullscreen

Postby mig39 » Sun Jul 01, 2018 2:47 am

I don't think it's the version of SDL. I'm running version 2.0.8 (which is installed as a required dependency when Hatari is installed). Hatari is version 2.1.0.

The reason I don't think this is the problem, as the red bars don't show up on either a 21.5" iMac (non-retina), nor do they show up on a 13" MacBook Air (also non-retina). In both of these cases, the bars are there, but they're black, so they're effectively invisible.

I'm wondering if there was a way to change the colours of these bars in Hatari configuration or something like that? Because it's unusable with these bright red bars burning my eyes :-). Or is this a problem with all retina displays?

Here's a screenshot of it running with black bars on the other computer.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1695
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Hatari red side bars in fullscreen

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sun Jul 01, 2018 2:32 pm

Maybe SDL2 defaults to red window background instead of black on Mac retina displays. 2.0.8 is latest SDL release and I didn't see any commit after that which would have a fix for it.

If you can build your own version of Hatari, you could try whether attached change helps.
set-black-render-bg.patch.txt
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mig39
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 1:03 am

Re: Hatari red side bars in fullscreen

Postby mig39 » Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:21 am

Thank you very much for your assistance.

I'll try this in a few days and report back.

darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: Chicago, USA

Re: Hatari red side bars in fullscreen

Postby darwinmac » Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:17 pm

I just wanted to mention this does not occur on all retina Macs. I just tried EmuTOS and TOS 1.04 on my 2016 Retina MacBook Pro and I see black bars instead of red.

I am also using SDL 2.08 and Hatari 2.1.

Bob C


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests