Hatari on Pi Zero?

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.1.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

Jamesbeat
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:53 am

Hatari on Pi Zero?

Postby Jamesbeat » Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:41 pm

Has anyone had any luck getting Hatari to run on a Pi Zero?

I have used it through Retropie, and it almost works, but it's just a little too choppy to be usable.

I have a feeling that it could work with some tweaking, after all, my PSP can emulate the ST just fine, and that's way less powerful.

Has anyone got it working well, and if so, how did you go about it?

User avatar
Total Eclipse
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 222
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Sheepy Magna, UK

Re: Hatari on Pi Zero?

Postby Total Eclipse » Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:57 pm

I think the Pi Zero is similar in performance to my Pi 1 Model B if I overclock.

I tried running Hatari on that, and the frameskip needed to make things playable was just too high.
Atari equipment all in storage - Now playing with MiST :)

Jamesbeat
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:53 am

Re: Hatari on Pi Zero?

Postby Jamesbeat » Mon Jun 25, 2018 9:36 pm

Yes, that's exactly what it is - the Zero is basically a pre-overclocked Pi 1.

How strange that the Zero can't cope with the ST, considering all the other systems that run fine on it, some of which are more technically advanced than the ST.

I was hoping there would be some tweaks that I could make, or maybe run it without Retropie to get rid of the extra overhead.

User avatar
thothy
Hatari Developer
Hatari Developer
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:36 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Hatari on Pi Zero?

Postby thothy » Thu Jun 28, 2018 10:49 am

If you haven't tried it yet: Compile Hatari with the old UAE CPU core instead of using the new WinUAE core. The older one is a little bit faster (but also more inaccurate).

Jamesbeat
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:53 am

Re: Hatari on Pi Zero?

Postby Jamesbeat » Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:47 am

Thanks for the advice, but it turns out I didn't need to do anything so drastic.

I flashed the latest version of Retropie, and was delighted to discover that Hatari is running MUCH better now.

I did get some slowdowns on a couple of games I tried; the intro music for 'Hunter' is much slower that it should be, and the 'Xenon II' intro stutters a lot, but the actual games play fine.

I am very happy about this.
I use a Pi 3 at home, but I wanted a cheap knockabout system to throw in my bag to play at work, friend's houses etc.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Hatari on Pi Zero?

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sat Jun 30, 2018 10:30 pm

Hatari's manual has a section on performance: https://hg.tuxfamily.org/mercurialroot/ ... erformance


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests