CosmosEx on 520 ST (no floppy)

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

User avatar
ccarl84
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:03 pm
Location: South of France

CosmosEx on 520 ST (no floppy)

Postby ccarl84 » Sun May 20, 2018 12:41 pm

Hello community,

Can I use the CosmosEx on a 520 ST (without a floppy drive). And if yes, how ? (Since there is no 40 pin connector).

Thank you for your help.

ccarl84

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1366
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: CosmosEx on 520 ST (no floppy)

Postby troed » Sun May 20, 2018 12:47 pm

Yes, with some soldering.

floppy1_small.JPG


floppy2_small.JPG


floppy3_small.JPG


floppy4_small.JPG


floppy5_small.JPG


Screen Shot 2018-05-20 at 14.46.46.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: CosmosEx on 520 ST (no floppy)

Postby Atarieterno » Sun May 20, 2018 12:56 pm

Great job!
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1547
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: CosmosEx on 520 ST (no floppy)

Postby frank.lukas » Sun May 20, 2018 1:02 pm

Such a thing are also very nice ...

FD_Adapter.jpg


FD_Adapter2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
ccarl84
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:03 pm
Location: South of France

Re: CosmosEx on 520 ST (no floppy)

Postby ccarl84 » Sun May 20, 2018 1:36 pm

troed wrote:Yes, with some soldering.

floppy1_small.JPG

floppy2_small.JPG

floppy3_small.JPG

floppy4_small.JPG

floppy5_small.JPG

Screen Shot 2018-05-20 at 14.46.46.png


Amazing, I'll study this idéa.

Tx.

ccarl84

User avatar
ccarl84
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:03 pm
Location: South of France

Re: CosmosEx on 520 ST (no floppy)

Postby ccarl84 » Sun May 20, 2018 7:45 pm

Can I safely use the Cosmos externally via the ASCI port and leave the floppy drive plugged in?

Thank you

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1525
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx on 520 ST (no floppy)

Postby mikro » Sun May 20, 2018 8:15 pm

I'm planning to go the same way but my idea was to do it more "native". I.e. put the unit into an old SF314 case and connect it via both floppy and ACSI cables (along with the power cable). This solution also requires a simple cable from the CE to the IKBD connector but still much better (IMHO) that messing with external 40-pin cable and whatnot.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1366
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: CosmosEx on 520 ST (no floppy)

Postby troed » Sun May 20, 2018 8:53 pm

ccarl84 wrote:Can I safely use the Cosmos externally via the ASCI port and leave the floppy drive plugged in?

Thank you


I don't have a CosmosEx myself but the solution I showed above allows usage of both an internal A/B and an external A/B at the same time (depending on how DS0/DS1 are passed through).

User avatar
ccarl84
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:03 pm
Location: South of France

Re: CosmosEx on 520 ST (no floppy)

Postby ccarl84 » Mon May 21, 2018 6:25 pm

troed wrote:
ccarl84 wrote:


I don't have a CosmosEx myself but the solution I showed above allows usage of both an internal A/B and an external A/B at the same time (depending on how DS0/DS1 are passed through).



Well, I still have not recovered my CE in my 1040 STE, but do you think I can use my CE with the 520 ST's external drive?

I mean: my CE as network access and mass memory and not in floppy drive mode. Does the ST consider the floppy disk drive as a primary (internal) floppy disk drive or as for all other Atari, as an external drive?

Thank you

ccarl84


Social Media

     

Return to “CosmosEx”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests