C64 Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5099
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Mar 11, 2019 12:17 pm

This is not true.
You can reset with ctrl-lalt-ralt and cart will remain plugged.

Mares
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:47 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby Mares » Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:36 pm

thanx I didn't know that

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 456
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: C64 Core

Postby ericgus » Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:17 am

Anyone have a problem with the c64 core, after say loading a PRG or D64 .. then doing a CTL-ALT-ALT to reset the core (or using the reset button), the keyboard stops working correctly just resulting in gibberish, I tried a few older cores and the problem starts with the 19.02.20 version of the core (version 19,02.16 is the last most recent version that seems ok) and is also this issue seems to be in the current version of the core.. Once you reset the core the keyboard input stops working normally, .. sometimes if you ctl-alt-alt a couple times you might get the keyboard back to responding normally.. its a bit weird.. wondered if anyone notice this too?

edit: I noticed you dont even have to load a program just using the reset button or ctl-alt-alt can trigger the keyboard input problem. but running a program first then doing a reset seems to trigger it for certain.

Noggin
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 8:43 am

Re: C64 Core

Postby Noggin » Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:31 pm

ericgus wrote:Anyone have a problem with the c64 core, after say loading a PRG or D64 .. then doing a CTL-ALT-ALT to reset the core (or using the reset button), the keyboard stops working correctly just resulting in gibberish


Yes, I have the same problem. For example, the usual jiffydos shortcut SHIFT-ESC (Run/Stop) doesn't work after a reset and instead switches between upper- and lowercase.

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 456
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: C64 Core

Postby ericgus » Mon Mar 18, 2019 1:36 am

Looks like Paradroyd figure out the issue somewhat.. seems the modifier keys get "stuck" and the core thinks the key is being held down (when its not)

seems if you try tapping either (or) both alternatively the left CTL or the left ALT a few times it will eventually restore the functionality when it gets messed up after restarting the core.. He mentioned other cores sometimes are afflicted with this issue as well (FXcast atari st core being one he mentioned).. hopefully he will post a reply and explain his findings in detail but it seems to be a bug with the keyboard handler ..

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 287
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: C64 Core

Postby Paradroyd » Mon Mar 18, 2019 2:37 am

ericgus wrote:Looks like Paradroyd figure out the issue somewhat.. seems the modifier keys get "stuck" and the core thinks the key is being held down (when its not)

seems if you try tapping either (or) both alternatively the left CTL or the left ALT a few times it will eventually restore the functionality when it gets messed up after restarting the core.. He mentioned other cores sometimes are afflicted with this issue as well (FXcast atari st core being one he mentioned).. hopefully he will post a reply and explain his findings in detail but it seems to be a bug with the keyboard handler ..


Basically, it's any modifier key that can get stuck. It could be either ALT key. Sometimes the CONTROL key or even one of the shift keys, though if it happens with one of the shift kys things will generally still work, you'll just have caps when you shouldn't. The problem seems to be that it's sometimes missing the key-up event(s) when the core resets. Tapping whichever modifier key is "stuck" will send the proper key-up event and release it.

I've really only seen this particular problem on the 64 core (though it could exist elsewhere).. The input issue I've seen on FXcast is a completely different (probably unrelated) problem.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5099
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:42 am

i will fix it.

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 287
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: C64 Core

Postby Paradroyd » Tue Mar 19, 2019 4:28 pm

Sorgelig wrote:i will fix it.


Thanks!
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5099
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Mar 20, 2019 3:33 pm

Btw, before i fix, the following way make the reset without sticky keys: press LALT+LCTRL and while holding them quickly press the RALT and release. Then release LALT and LCTRL.
I always reset this way - that's why i never encountered sticky keys. If i release LALT+LCTRL first and the release RALT then i get sticky CTRL.
I have no idea yet which part of system or core causes this problem.

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 456
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: C64 Core

Postby ericgus » Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:23 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Btw, before i fix, the following way make the reset without sticky keys: press LALT+LCTRL and while holding them quickly press the RALT and release. Then release LALT and LCTRL.
I always reset this way - that's why i never encountered sticky keys. If i release LALT+LCTRL first and the release RALT then i get sticky CTRL.
I have no idea yet which part of system or core causes this problem.


for what its worth, I tested previous versions of the core and the problem seems to surface with the 19.02.20 version and all the ones after, so perhaps its specific to the core.

djsquare
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:01 am

Re: C64 Core

Postby djsquare » Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:10 pm

I can't wait to try and load some slow .TAP files tonight! Thank you for this update Sorgelig! :cheers:

Lroby74
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby Lroby74 » Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:44 pm

djsquare wrote:I can't wait to try and load some slow .TAP files tonight! Thank you for this update Sorgelig! :cheers:


Please test both sides of Flimbo's Quest tape and see if accept Side B of it, thank you

djmartins
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby djmartins » Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:17 am

djsquare wrote:I can't wait to try and load some slow .TAP files tonight! Thank you for this update Sorgelig! :cheers:


Me too!
Let's hear it for Sorgelig!

SegaMan
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby SegaMan » Sat Apr 13, 2019 9:05 am

djmartins wrote:
djsquare wrote:I can't wait to try and load some slow .TAP files tonight! Thank you for this update Sorgelig! :cheers:


Me too!
Let's hear it for Sorgelig!


Same here, thx Sorgelig! :cheers:

djsquare
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:01 am

Re: C64 Core

Postby djsquare » Sat Apr 13, 2019 2:37 pm

In case everyone forgot by now. Jiffy DOS will not load tapes, you'll need to use the original C64 kernel.

NegSol
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby NegSol » Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:03 pm

Just to check if I am the only one - C64_20190415.rbf is not giving HDMI out.
C64_20190413.rbf works just fine. Anybody else having trouble with the latest release? :shrug:

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: C64 Core

Postby BBond007 » Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:03 pm

NegSol wrote:Just to check if I am the only one - C64_20190415.rbf is not giving HDMI out.
C64_20190413.rbf works just fine. Anybody else having trouble with the latest release? :shrug:


I'm getting HDMI video with C64_20190415.rbf on my elgato HD60pro capture card and my Samsung monitor.

After updating with the updater script I did initially have no video (also no power LED) on my older MiSTer, so I deleted the .rbf and replaced it manually and it worked after that. Maybe try that if you have not already...

The problem I have with that release (which is not present in C64_20190413.rbf) is data corruption on the USER port serial UART.

NegSol
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby NegSol » Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:34 pm

Yes, I used the update script. Will try a manual write over tomorrow. I would not think the script is the problem. I will report back the result. 8O

NegSol
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby NegSol » Fri Apr 19, 2019 7:43 am

C64_20190415.rbf works now. I had an FS problem with the SD-Card. Maybe this resulted from using an update script and ftp in parallel. So pro tip: make sure the FS on the SD-Card is consistent and be careful not to write ftp while using script. :oops:

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1146
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby slingshot » Fri Apr 19, 2019 7:51 am

BBond007 wrote:The problem I have with that release (which is not present in C64_20190413.rbf) is data corruption on the USER port serial UART.

Maybe the "Timer B bug"?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5099
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Apr 19, 2019 7:30 pm

NegSol wrote:C64_20190415.rbf works now. I had an FS problem with the SD-Card. Maybe this resulted from using an update script and ftp in parallel. So pro tip: make sure the FS on the SD-Card is consistent and be careful not to write ftp while using script. :oops:

I don't think so. Linux is pretty much multitasking system and can easily work with such conditions.
The problem is resets. If you reset too quick after writing then there is a chance not all date will be written. There is a once per 5 second force sync. So, give a time more than 5 seconds after last write before doing the reset.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5099
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 Core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Apr 19, 2019 8:41 pm

slingshot wrote:Maybe the "Timer B bug"?

it seems new flag_n behaviour.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1146
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: C64 Core

Postby slingshot » Fri Apr 19, 2019 11:15 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
slingshot wrote:Maybe the "Timer B bug"?

it seems new flag_n behaviour.


It can be reverted, I only tested the change with tape loading.

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: C64 Core

Postby BBond007 » Fri Apr 19, 2019 11:58 pm

slingshot wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:
slingshot wrote:Maybe the "Timer B bug"?

it seems new flag_n behaviour.


It can be reverted, I only tested the change with tape loading.


I tried reverting this change, which did reduce occurrences of the corruption a great deal, but not completely eliminate it.

https://github.com/bbond007/C64_MiSTer/ ... 7100f07103

I have never encountered this corruption with C64_20190413.rbf.

There is some more discussion of the problem starting here -->

viewtopic.php?f=117&t=35031&start=250#p372322

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: C64 Core

Postby BBond007 » Sat Apr 20, 2019 12:13 am

There is now a port of Super Mario Bros to the C=64.

It works very well on MiSTer and supports the dual SID option, although the sprites positions do seem to be a little shifted to the right compared to the background. It may be due to the game using the VSP-technique for scrolling?

https://www.lemon64.com/forum/viewtopic ... 62&start=0
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests