Tool to dump STe ROM?

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

BlankVector
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby BlankVector » Wed Nov 08, 2017 11:48 pm

Hi.
Is there any tool to save the STe ROM (256 KB) to a file ?

I tried several tools, none worked.

1) TOSDUMP.PRG saves a 192 KB ROM, incomplete. (and it is incredibly slow)

2) WINX works, but it saves a patched ROM, not the original one.

3) Back to old days, I remember that I dumped my own STe TOS using some generic tool. Maybe with MonST2. Or a hand-made program written in assembler/basic, I can't remember. But this is not a solution for end-users.

Ideally I would like a user-friendly, well-known tool, which works at least on ST/STe.
Subscribe to my Vretrocomputing channel on YouTube and Facebook.

User avatar
crashman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 202
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:23 am
Location: Vilanova i la Geltrú - Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby crashman » Thu Nov 09, 2017 3:33 pm

It's a special Tos version?

If not, you can find almost every Tos version here:
http://avtandil.narod.ru/tose.html

Regards,
crashman.
260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STFM, 1040STE, 4160STE, STACY 2, MEGA ST2, MEGA ST4, MEGA STE, TT030, FALCON030, FALCON030 with Centurbo 2rB, Firebee
SH204, Megafile 30, Megafile 60, Megafile 44
SM124, SM125, SM146, SC1224, SC1435
Satandisk, Ultrasatan, HxC SD, Hxc SD Slim, NetUSBee, CosmosEX, Gotek HxC, MicroCosmos
2600VCS, LYNX, LYNX II, JAGUAR

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5024
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu Nov 09, 2017 4:30 pm

The tool supplied with the Pacifist emulator back in 1997 could properly extract 256K TOS images.
The question is where to find it.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby AtariZoll » Thu Nov 09, 2017 5:20 pm

I think that there was something with Steem, or it was same as with Pacifist ?
Anyway, I did put together simple APP for this:
TOSDUMP1.ZIP

It dumps TOS 1.00 - 2.06 in file, so only for ST, STE + probably Stacy, ST Book, not for TT, Falcon (for now).
Filename looks like: first 3 chars are TOS version, like 104 or 162 . Then letter L . After it language code in 2 cypher. Extension is IMG .
Example: 106L05.IMG is French TOS 1.06, and length is 256KB (STE) .
User needs to take care that there is enough space on storage media. Program will overwrite file with same name without question, so keep DIR where running it clean. Min free RAM is some 270 KB.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

BlankVector
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby BlankVector » Thu Nov 09, 2017 5:33 pm

AtariZoll wrote:Anyway, I did put together simple APP for this:
TOSDUMP1.ZIP
It dumps TOS 1.00 - 2.06 in file, so only for ST, STE + probably Stacy, ST Book, not for TT, Falcon (for now).

Great, it worked fine and fast on my STe :cheers:

BTW, a short informational message like "Dumping ROM..." would not hurt :wink:
Subscribe to my Vretrocomputing channel on YouTube and Facebook.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby AtariZoll » Thu Nov 09, 2017 5:36 pm

Indeed. Will be in final version. This was made in half hour :D
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

BlankVector
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby BlankVector » Thu Nov 09, 2017 6:31 pm

AtariZoll wrote:I think that there was something with Steem, or it was same as with Pacifist ?

Ah, indeed there was a tool with PaCifiST :) I vaguely remembered something like that.

Fortunately, I kept my old pcst048.zip archive from 2003 (I see it is still available on some mirror websites).
In PCST048\STFILES there is a tool named DUMP_ROM.PRG, with assembler source provided. It works fine on STe, just like your TOSDUMP1.TOS.
Subscribe to my Vretrocomputing channel on YouTube and Facebook.

BlankVector
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby BlankVector » Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:56 pm

I have just made a video to demonstrate the usage of PaCifiST's DUMP_ROM.PRG:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXLdPy8eqEg

Maybe some day AtariZoll's TOSDUMP1.TOS will have a nice UI and will become the new standard :wink:
Subscribe to my Vretrocomputing channel on YouTube and Facebook.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby AtariZoll » Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:03 am

BlankVector wrote:I have just made a video to demonstrate the usage of PaCifiST's DUMP_ROM.PRG:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXLdPy8eqEg
Maybe some day AtariZoll's TOSDUMP1.TOS will have a nice UI and will become the new standard :wink:


GUI, come on man ! That will eat whole 20 KB of RAM :D Hmm. but in other hand, RAM eating is 'standard' in today SW :lol:
Ops ... you said only UI . In any case, it is simpler for me with usual GEM dialog.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1177
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby leech » Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:01 am

AtariZoll wrote:
BlankVector wrote:I have just made a video to demonstrate the usage of PaCifiST's DUMP_ROM.PRG:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXLdPy8eqEg
Maybe some day AtariZoll's TOSDUMP1.TOS will have a nice UI and will become the new standard :wink:


GUI, come on man ! That will eat whole 20 KB of RAM :D Hmm. but in other hand, RAM eating is 'standard' in today SW :lol:
Ops ... you said only UI . In any case, it is simpler for me with usual GEM dialog.

Ha, so in another thread it was asked that I do a dump of the TOS3.05 from my TT030 since it seems to not be out there in the wild. And I was given two programs to try this one dumped 256k, and the other crashed.

Clearly you state here that it doesn't work on the TT.
Any chance for getting this added? Hey, at least I am not asking for a GUI, writing out the ROM file is perfectly fine. :p
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1777
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby mikro » Thu Jul 05, 2018 4:00 pm

leech wrote:Any chance for getting this added? Hey, at least I am not asking for a GUI, writing out the ROM file is perfectly fine. :p

I've become quite frustrated with the current state of things so I have made yet-another-rom-dump tool, this time supporting all TOS versions. Let me know if it works for you.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

ThorstenOtto
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 417
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby ThorstenOtto » Thu Jul 05, 2018 5:24 pm

Sigh. Mikro was faster :) Can't be that difficult to write a simple utitlity like that. Here's my try
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by ThorstenOtto on Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1177
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby leech » Thu Jul 05, 2018 5:48 pm

ThorstenOtto wrote:Sigh. Mikro was faster :) Can't be that difficult to write a simple utitlity like that. Here's my try

Ha! Maybe we should start holding coding contests to see who can whip out utilities faster.

I'll give both of them a shot when I get home tonight.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

Zippy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:58 am

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby Zippy » Thu Jul 05, 2018 7:44 pm

Should work from MonST:

Use "S" (Save) command, enter filename for binary file, then start address and end address

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1777
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby mikro » Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:10 pm

ThorstenOtto wrote:Sigh. Mikro was faster :) Can't be that difficult to write a simple utitlity like that. Here's my try

Whoa, much cooler. ;-) However also with at least one bug:

Code: Select all

#define KB_256 (192 * 1024L)
(unless I overlooked some magic meaning to this)

I put my tool on github: https://github.com/mikrosk/uDump, if you're willing to improve it with your tool's features, I wont say no. :)

ThorstenOtto
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 417
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby ThorstenOtto » Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:30 pm

mikro wrote:(unless I overlooked some magic meaning to this)


Oops. No, nothing overlooked, just a bad copy&paste. Attachment updated.

if you're willing to improve it with your tool's features, I wont say no.


Feel free to copy anything you want to ;)
Last edited by ThorstenOtto on Fri Jul 06, 2018 5:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1177
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby leech » Fri Jul 06, 2018 3:36 am

Here we go. Funny enough the zip file is only 5KB larger than the other one. Lots of space for improvements? :P Forgot that the x.06 was what added holding control for loading the hard drive without any accessories or auto folder.

Both dumping programs produced a file with matching MD5 sums.

Tested with Hatari, seems to be working :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

ThorstenOtto
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 417
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby ThorstenOtto » Fri Jul 06, 2018 5:19 am

leech wrote:Here we go.


Nice.

Funny enough the zip file is only 5KB larger than the other one. Lots of space for improvements? :P


Yes, that was to be expected. From the last 256K, only ~25K are actually used.

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1777
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby mikro » Fri Jul 06, 2018 5:50 am

Cheers, leech! Finally we have a 3.05 to work / do tests with.

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1177
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby leech » Fri Jul 06, 2018 6:55 am

ThorstenOtto wrote:
leech wrote:Here we go.


Nice.

Funny enough the zip file is only 5KB larger than the other one. Lots of space for improvements? :P


Yes, that was to be expected. From the last 256K, only ~25K are actually used.


Wow, talk about a huge waste of ROM space!

Then again the update from x.05 and x.06 was pretty decent. My first Mega STe had the 2.05 ROMs, but then something happened to the motherboard on it back when Atari still existed, and the shop we got ours from ended up having to give us a new board that had the 2.06 ROMs. That one stopped working correctly (just gives a white screen, and I tried getting a serial console to work with the diagnostic cartridge without any luck), so I ended up buying one off eBay, and that one also had 2.05, so I snagged the 2.06 from my old one and it works fine now.

But the TT030 seems to be more fun :P
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby joska » Fri Jul 06, 2018 9:47 am

ThorstenOtto wrote:Sigh. Mikro was faster :) Can't be that difficult to write a simple utitlity like that. Here's my try


I wrote one too, but it didn't work. Could not figure out why. So I tested both your and Mikro's tools and they both fail too, creating empty files. Then I noticed a message from Hatari - "GEMDOS Fwrite() failed due to invalid RAM range 0xe00000+262143". Looks like a problem with Hatari's hostfs driver. It works fine on emulated drives.

leech wrote:Ha! Maybe we should start holding coding contests to see who can whip out utilities faster.


Here's my contribution in the contest "smallest tool to dump TOS 3/4 image" :) Compressed 179 bytes, uncompressed 84 bytes.

DUMP.zip


Code: Select all

; Dump 512K TOS to file

   OUTPUT dump.tos
   SECTION TEXT

start:
   lea      stack(pc),a7

   clr.w      -(sp)
   pea      fname(pc)
   move.w   #60,-(sp)
   trap      #1
   
   move.l   #$00e00000,-(sp)
   move.l   #$80000,-(sp)
   move.w   d0,-(sp)
   move.w   #64,-(sp)
   trap      #1

   clr.w   -(sp)
   move.w   #$4c,-(sp)
   trap      #1

   SECTION DATA
   
fname:
   dc.b   "tos.img",0

   SECTION BSS

   ds.l   100
stack:
   ds.l   1


Not worth using though, both Thorsten's and mikro's tools are much more useful and works on all machines.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1777
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby mikro » Fri Jul 06, 2018 9:56 am

joska wrote:Looks like a problem with Hatari's hostfs driver.

Yes, I had noticed that, too. Has been reported & fixed in Hatari already. :)

ThorstenOtto
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 417
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby ThorstenOtto » Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:07 pm

joska wrote:Here's my contribution in the contest "smallest tool to dump TOS 3/4 image" :) Compressed 179 bytes, uncompressed 84 bytes.


Come on, that can be done better ;) As a start:
  • you don't need to set up a stack, the OS already does that.
  • You can use Pterm0() instead of Pterm(0)
  • you can use a shorter filename

ThorstenOtto
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 417
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby ThorstenOtto » Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:13 pm

leech wrote:Wow, talk about a huge waste of ROM space!


I think the main reason is that essentially the same TOS was used for both TT and MSTe, but the latter only has 256K rom.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Tool to dump STe ROM?

Postby joska » Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:55 pm

ThorstenOtto wrote:Come on, that can be done better ;)


Definitely :)

ThorstenOtto wrote:you don't need to set up a stack, the OS already does that.


You are right. I added it when trying to figure out why it didn't work on host fs under Hatari, and did not think of removing it when I discovered that the code worked when using an emulated drive.

ThorstenOtto wrote:You can use Pterm0() instead of Pterm(0)


Good point, several bytes saved!

ThorstenOtto wrote:you can use a shorter filename[/list]


Hehe, I wanted to keep a minimum of usability :D

Code: Select all

; Dump 512K TOS to file

   OUTPUT dump.tos
   SECTION TEXT

start:
   clr.w   -(sp)
   pea      fname(pc)
   move.w   #60,-(sp)
   trap   #1
   
   move.l   #$00e00000,-(sp)
   move.l   #$80000,-(sp)
   move.w   d0,-(sp)
   move.w   #64,-(sp)
   trap   #1

   clr.w   -(sp)
   trap   #1

   SECTION DATA
   
fname:
   dc.b   "t",0


14 bytes saved. Can it be made smaller and still be OS clean? I guess we can't do much about the 28 byte program header.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64


Social Media

     

Return to “Other emulators & tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests