CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

JoeAtari
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby JoeAtari » Mon Dec 31, 2018 3:32 am

Latz wrote:
@JoeAtari: lspci (and other "MinT executables") are intended to run in a UNIX-like
environment, which is not part part of FreeMinT snapshot. E.g. lspci should be started
from a shell (sh or bash) and exepts the executable "gzip" in path /bin/ or /usr/bin/ for
extracting the database file "pci_ids.gz". Without this file (or if "gzip" is not found),
lspci only shows numerical values instead of the names and parameters found in database.
I don't know your current MinT installation, so perhaps i explained things you already know...

Latz


I have the full mint install with the UNIX-like environment (I think). I just don't know what I am doing :-)
Here is what I tried:

Code: Select all

root@easymint:/home>exec /home/lspci -vv -i /home/pci.gz
bash: /home/lspci: Permission denied
bash: exec: /home/lspci: cannot execute: Success
root@easymint:/home>
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 247
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby Latz » Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:21 am

Hi,

JoeAtari wrote:I have the full mint install with the UNIX-like environment (I think). I just don't know what I am doing :-)

No problem, my first MinT experiences weren´t much better... :shrug:

JoeAtari wrote:Here is what I tried:

Code: Select all

root@easymint:/home>exec /home/lspci -vv -i /home/pci.gz
bash: /home/lspci: Permission denied
bash: exec: /home/lspci: cannot execute: Success
root@easymint:/home>

Some issues:
- Place lspci in folder /bin/ (or in one of the folders(paths) which are defined in mint.cnf/environment variable PATH). All UNIX
executables are there, according to the users access rights (root or user).
- Check that lspci is set to "executable".
- In bash, you don´t need to type "exec", the first command calls the executable in $PATH.
- You are already in folder /home (root@easymint:/home>), so you don´t need to enter /home once again. So enter:

Code: Select all

lspci -vv -i pci_ids.gz

-vv defines the output level (v, vv or vvv)
-i defines path to database file
- output is displayed in bash

With

Code: Select all

lspci -vv -i pci_ids.gz > pcilist.txt

the output is written as file /home/pcilist.txt

More: With

Code: Select all

man <command>

in bash you get documentation for most executables e.g. "man cp" or "man ping".

I can´t attach the full "pciutils.tar.gz" archive here in forum...

Latz
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12593
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:59 am

JoeAtari wrote:I have the full mint install with the UNIX-like environment (I think). I just don't know what I am doing :-)

It's a Unix-like environment.... no one knows what they are doing.
Unless the GUI is like blocks of building as in Jurassic Park movie.... "it's Unix I know this"... LOL
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

JoeAtari
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby JoeAtari » Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:45 am

I had actually tried all of this with the exception of making lspci executable. I'm learning!

Code: Select all

00:00.0 Bridge: PLX Technology, Inc. PCI9054 32-bit 33MHz PCI <-> IOBus Bridge (rev 0c)
   Subsystem: PLX Technology, Inc. PCI9054 32-bit 33MHz PCI <-> IOBus Bridge
   Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr+ Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 8 (250ns min, 8000ns max), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
   Interrupt: pin ? routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: Memory at ffffff00 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
   Region 2: Memory at 10d80000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512K]
   Expansion ROM at <unassigned> [disabled] [size=64K]
   Capabilities: [40] #00 [0000]

00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV280 [Radeon 9200 PRO] (rev 01) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
   Subsystem: Hightech Information System Ltd. Excalibur Radeon 9250
   Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 0 (2000ns min), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
   Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: Memory at 40000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=128M]
   Region 1: I/O ports at <unassigned> [size=256]
   Region 2: Memory at 60000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
   Expansion ROM at 60020000 [size=128K]
   Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
      Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
      Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

00:01.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV280 [Radeon 9200 PRO] (Secondary) (rev 01)
   Subsystem: Hightech Information System Ltd. Excalibur Radeon 9250 (Secondary)
   Control: I/O- Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Interrupt: pin ? routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: Memory at <unassigned> (32-bit, prefetchable) [disabled] [size=128M]
   Region 1: Memory at <unassigned> (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=64K]
   Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
      Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
      Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

00:02.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43) (prog-if 10 [OHCI])
   Subsystem: Belkin Root Hub
   Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr+ Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 8 (250ns min, 10500ns max), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
   Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: Memory at 60040000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
   Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
      Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0+,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold-)
      Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

00:02.1 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43) (prog-if 10 [OHCI])
   Subsystem: Belkin Root Hub
   Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr+ Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 8 (250ns min, 10500ns max), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
   Interrupt: pin B routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: Memory at 60041000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
   Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
      Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0+,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold-)
      Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

00:02.2 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB 2.0 (rev 04) (prog-if 20 [EHCI])
   Subsystem: Belkin Root Hub
   Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr+ Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 128 (4000ns min, 8500ns max), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
   Interrupt: pin C routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: Memory at 60042000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
   Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
      Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0+,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold-)
      Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

00:03.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
   Subsystem: Allied Telesyn International Device c10f
   Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr+ Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR+ <PERR+ INTx-
   Latency: 0 (8000ns min, 16000ns max)
   Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 255
   Region 0: I/O ports at 0100 [size=256]
   Region 1: Memory at 60042100 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
   Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
      Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold-)
      Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby piku » Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:44 pm

Is there any source code for this anywhere? I ordered an RTL8139 and was sent an RTL8169. Maybe it could work.

EDIT nevermind I see there is source included with the download I have
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12593
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Wed Mar 13, 2019 12:39 am

piku wrote:EDIT nevermind I see there is source included with the download I have

Was that from sometime in 2018?
IIRC, Mikro did another XIF that was working for us. Not sure if he changed any code.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby piku » Wed Mar 13, 2019 12:43 am

Maybe. I do see someone else had an RTL8169 as well. I wonder what changed with the inclusion of gigabit ethernet. I've asked the seller to send me the proper card I ordered. We'll see if it happens
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1853
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby mikro » Wed Mar 13, 2019 6:58 am

piku: the "fixed" (big quotes here) version is actually based on my work here: https://github.com/mikrosk/freemint/tree/rtl8139

I just shaved a few unnecessary bits but to this day I don't really understand how it could improve anything. ;-)

That reminds me that I should really include this driver into upstream. IIRC I wanted to include most of the calls in the freemint kernel interface but Alan was against it for some reason.

EDIT: Found it: https://mikro.naprvyraz.sk/mint/freemin ... 01206.html

IMHO, we shouldn't rely on some hypothetical futuristic plans and just implement the kernel interface.

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1853
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby mikro » Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:32 pm

mikro wrote:That reminds me that I should really include this driver into upstream. IIRC I wanted to include most of the calls in the freemint kernel interface but Alan was against it for some reason.

Nah, what the hell. I have merged it into upstream as is -- clearly it works for somebody better than the original driver and I can always improve it later. So you should find the driver in freemint 020+ snapshots from 1-19-848 onward. Feel free to give it a try, thanks to gcc 7.4.0 I found a couple of minor bugs, too.

arf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 9:56 pm
Location: Germany

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby arf » Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:22 pm

wongck wrote:
JoeAtari wrote:I have the full mint install with the UNIX-like environment (I think). I just don't know what I am doing :-)

It's a Unix-like environment.... no one knows what they are doing.
Unless the GUI is like blocks of building as in Jurassic Park movie.... "it's Unix I know this"... LOL


That one was hilarious!

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12593
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Thu Mar 14, 2019 10:53 pm

mikro wrote:So you should find the driver in freemint 020+ snapshots from 1-19-848 onward. Feel free to give it a try, thanks to gcc 7.4.0 I found a couple of minor bugs, too.

Thanks Mikro.
Will try over weekend if I have the time.
One OT question about mint-848.prg... must I have it by this name or can I rename it ?
( i.e. does it uses that 848 to find the mint system folder ?)
I uses the old-school installation method.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1853
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby mikro » Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:46 am

wongck wrote:One OT question about mint-848.prg... must I have it by this name or can I rename it ?
( i.e. does it uses that 848 to find the mint system folder ?)
I uses the old-school installation method.

Yes, it's a kind of protection against messing your working system up. :) But that applies only to mint.prg, you can copy any other part of the distro wherever you want.

But I do remember about fixing the old school builds. In fact, I'm about 70% done but it's such a boring task I can force myself to work on it only a few hours per week. :-P

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby piku » Mon Mar 18, 2019 11:24 pm

I still have to read through this thread but it's not working for me. The device is found in the PCI list, the driver loads and the rtk0 device is there. However, when attempting to connect to something after configuring it says that it autonegotiated 100mbps full duplex but otherwise doesn't work and the out-errors counter goes up.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12593
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CTPCI and Realtek 8139D

Postby wongck » Fri Mar 22, 2019 1:31 pm

Finally got some time to update my Mint to 848. The rtl8139 .xif works great.
Tested with iPerf on the old 2018 build and new 2019 build, no difference in throughput.
Thanks Mikro :cheers:
mikro wrote:Yes, it's a kind of protection against messing your working system up. :) But that applies only to mint.prg, you can copy any other part of the distro wherever you want.

This new way of release is actually easier to update, than the old school method, I do not have to rename MINT.PRG in the AUTO. I used to encode versions & architecture in the name so that I can still select the version & 060/030 depending. I don't really know why I kept the 030 version as I don't even remember the last time I used Mint on 030 mode.
I wonder why I had issues with this new method previously.... may be not enough sleep back then.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests