using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

News, updates, like or dislike

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

darvidis
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 5:39 am

using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby darvidis » Fri Jan 20, 2017 5:48 am

I have been using a Atari STE1040 with Notator music program for over 20 years. On my old Pc with xp, it had a floppy disc drive. I used to format floppy dics to 720k on Atari and then transfer midifiles from Pc to disk. My new PC doesn't have floppy disc drive. Will an external drive allow me to do this. Is there a recommended unit that works, no fuss. Please somebody help me. I'm desperate.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby AtariZoll » Fri Jan 20, 2017 7:56 am

Any USB floppy drive capable of handling 720K floppies will be good.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

Miguel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:59 pm

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby Miguel » Fri Jan 20, 2017 8:33 am

I haven't had any problems reading or writing 720K DOS floppies using an imation USB floppy drive (model D353FUE) with Windows XP......although I tend to format 720K DOS floppies on my Yamaha RM1X rather than the Atari or PC because it's more straight forward.

Do you still have your Atari?

User avatar
BoNuS
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 766
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby BoNuS » Fri Jan 20, 2017 9:16 am

Well not all USB drive are equal good in creating Atari floppy's. I have good experience with TEAC drives (some models of USB Dell) and bad with YE-data (brand x). The TEAC formats under Win 7 still good DD format, but the YE doesn't really work good on DD and even seems to have problems with HD formats. Try to find an USB drive that works for you :) Native drives (with 34 pins socket on motherboard) under XP are highly recommended. Just my2cents ;)

MS doesn't really support DD under Win7 anymore but most of the times it works okay. Just use CMD line and then FORMAT A: /T:80 /N:9
http://bonus.home.xs4all.nl/
( I have just to much Atari stuff)

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2624
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby spiny » Fri Jan 20, 2017 9:22 am

99% of USB floppy drives will work fine. no need to mess about with command lines on the pc to format the disks, just format them on the ST.

Miguel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:59 pm

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby Miguel » Fri Jan 20, 2017 10:02 am

Still it's a good idea to inform people of the command line in case anyone needs it, like say someone has acquired an STFM they might need to use the command line if only to be able to DOS format one floppy with the DOS formatting software to DOS format more floppies on the Atari, I don't use it myself but I have it written down on my disk box just in case.

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2624
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby spiny » Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:22 am

Miguel wrote:Still it's a good idea to inform people of the command line in case anyone needs it, like say someone has acquired an STFM they might need to use the command line if only to be able to DOS format one floppy with the DOS formatting software to DOS format more floppies on the Atari, I don't use it myself but I have it written down on my disk box just in case.


the Desktop format option formats disks DOS compatable. I've been using this method for years and never had any issues.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby joska » Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:48 am

What spiny said. If you just want to use the floppy to transfer data between the STE and a PC, get any USB floppy drive and format the disks on the Atari.

However, disk drives and floppies are getting old and worn by now, so unless you prefer floppies for nostalgic reasons, I'd rather get a PARCP-USB or maybe a floppy emulator.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3800
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby ijor » Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:56 am

spiny wrote:the Desktop format option formats disks DOS compatable. I've been using this method for years and never had any issues.


This depends on the TOS version. The desktop format on older TOS versions is not fully PC compatible. But there are many alternate formatters available. If we are talking about an STE, as seems to the case of the OP here, then all TOS versions should work.

Miguel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:59 pm

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby Miguel » Fri Jan 20, 2017 1:00 pm

ijor wrote:
spiny wrote:the Desktop format option formats disks DOS compatable. I've been using this method for years and never had any issues.


This depends on the TOS version. The desktop format on older TOS versions is not fully PC compatible. But there are many alternate formatters available. If we are talking about an STE, as seems to the case of the OP here, then all TOS versions should work.


Correct.

serano33
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:29 pm

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby serano33 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:46 pm

BoNuS wrote:Well not all USB drive are equal good in creating Atari floppy's. I have good experience with TEAC drives (some models of USB Dell) and bad with YE-data (brand x). The TEAC formats under Win 7 still good DD format, but the YE doesn't really work good on DD and even seems to have problems with HD formats. Try to find an USB drive that works for you :) N ative drives (with 34 pins socket on motherboard) under XP are highly recommended. Just my2cents ;) HostGator DreamHost Bluehost

MS doesn't really support DD under Win7 anymore but most of the times it works okay. Just use CMD line and then FORMAT A: /T:80 /N:9

99% of USB floppy drives will work fine. no need to mess about with command lines on the pc to format the disks, just format them on the ST.
Last edited by serano33 on Sat Jan 19, 2019 7:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby wongck » Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:54 pm

Some information on the wiki is old and goes to missing external pages... but at least it docuemnted there.
The mirror read only version is here:
https://temlib.org/AtariForumWiki/index ... akerNet.29

Needs updating once the original is up & running.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

serano33
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:29 pm

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby serano33 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 5:24 pm

Miguel wrote:
ijor wrote:
spiny wrote:the Desktop format option formats disks DOS compatable. I've been using this method for years and never had any issues.


This depends on the TOS version. The desktop format on older TOS versions is not fully PC compatible. But there are many alternate formatters available. If we are talking about an STE, as seems to the case of the OP here, then all TOS versions should work.


Correct.

the Desktop format option formats disks DOS compatable. I've been using this method for years and never had any issues.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby joska » Sun Jan 20, 2019 6:00 pm

With TOS 1.04 and later this is correct. Previous TOS-versions does not create DOS-compatible floppies.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

6BQ5
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:59 am
Location: Minden, NV USA

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby 6BQ5 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 6:30 pm

I have Windows 10 and a 1040 STe. My Teac USB floppy drive can format 720k floppies from a DOS windows. The floppy is perfectly readable on my 1040 STe. No mess, no fuss. :)

Boris

Atari 130XE
Atari 1040 STe

serano33
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:29 pm

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Postby serano33 » Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:26 am

BoNuS wrote:Well not all USB drive are equal good in creating Atari floppy's. I have good experience with TEAC drives (some models of USB Dell) and bad with YE-data (brand x). The TEAC formats under Win 7 still good DD format, but the YE doesn't really work good on DD and even seems to have problems with HD formats. Try to find an USB drive that works for you :) Native drives (with 34 pins socket on motherboard) under XP are highly recommended. Just my2cents ;) HostGator DreamHost Bluehost

MS doesn't really support DD under Win7 anymore but most of the times it works okay. Just use CMD line and then FORMAT A: /T:80 /N:9


Social Media

     

Return to “Website Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests