BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

JoeAtari
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby JoeAtari » Sat Aug 11, 2018 6:33 am

I think now that the problems I thought were related to shutdown or some kind of corruption are actually related to enabling networking. The system hangs whenever I have networking enabled. I had both ethernet and wifi working, but only for a short period of time before things started hanging on boot or when I would try to use the terminal. I tried a second SD card and a fresh install, but the same problems returned. If I set the system back to ethernet, and unplug from the network nothing hangs up.
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 697
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby Faucon2001 » Sat Aug 11, 2018 7:15 am

Hi Joe,

Yes, you must use shutdown app to shutdown properly BeePi otherwise you may corrupt the Linux host system. You can access it with a right click on a desktop or by opening Taskbar menu and choose “shutdown”. Switching off mechanically will corrupt your install after a while and make it unusable.

Regarding network, have you applied the update patch provided a few messages above? It corrects many issues.
Interface file is created by the setup application and should be editable with qed . It’s a simple copy of one of the two templates interfaces.eth or interface.wifi. So if your interfaces file is corrupted (which sounds strange by the way), you can rebuilt it by copying interface.eth or interface.wifi to interface. Copy it with KK Comander and edit it with qed.

Finally, there is a bug which makes the system hangs sometime when BeePi cold boots. If it happens, after Aranym started (white screen at boot or Aranym stuck ), just do a ctrl+alt+del to restart Aranym (or alt+F12 to access Aranym setup menu and click shutdown ). I still have to work on it. This issue seems to have disappeared with the latest version of emutos and aranym, but I have to do some more tests.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

JoeAtari
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby JoeAtari » Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:59 am

I found the shutdown. Thanks!

I did apply the update.

The only way I could get networking to function was by doing this:

- delete /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
- edit /lib/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules and remove eth*|wlan*| from
# device name whitelist
KERNEL!= ...

But once I have networking functioning, the system keeps hanging. The mouse cursor will sometimes be able to move, but it jumps and I cannot click on anything. When I reboot it hangs at the green desktop without any icons most of the time.

I have tested and tested. It seems like trying the wifi is what really messes things up. Once I get everything set back for ethernet I don't seem to have the problems, but I need to test it more to make sure. I have pretty much given up on the wifi for now.

Thanks for your help!
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

JoeAtari
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby JoeAtari » Sun Aug 12, 2018 5:07 am

Okay, I kept at it and now things are working just fine! I'm not sure what I did that was different. I know that I started clean, applied the update and then did this:
- delete /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
- edit /lib/udev/rules.d/75-persistent-net-generator.rules and remove eth*|wlan*| from
# device name whitelist
KERNEL!= ...

I configured ethernet after that, cold booted (system still hung a few times) until I could bring up the linux terminal and type these commands:
ifconfig eth0 up
ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.50/24
route add default gw 192.168.0.1
(these values are for my router setup)

I cold booted again and networking was functioning, and I didn't experience problems. I decided to be brave and try the system setup and change to wifi. This time wifi worked and I still didn't experience problems!

I have to say that the way this is configured is amazing! I am learning about tools and ideas for setting up an Atari system that I have never known about, and I have been doing this for a very long time. Again, just amazing!

Now, since I am running this on a pi-top laptop, I would love to see a tool to show the battery life. I would also like to be able to easily switch to another wifi network. I started doing a little research about how to do this on the linux side. It looks like there may be some scripts to run from bash that would provide these functions.

One last thing - I think that the PHWeather location saves when I input it on my Falcon, but the location is not saving with beePi.

Thanks!
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12372
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby wongck » Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:59 pm

JoeAtari wrote:One last thing - I think that the PHWeather location saves when I input it on my Falcon, but the location is not saving with beePi.


Suggest that you do an exit and reopen it again, rather than forcing it to save when you shutdown Aranym. My guess is the disk may not be flushed during shutdown or something like that.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

JoeAtari
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby JoeAtari » Tue Aug 14, 2018 3:04 am

Regarding the pi-top laptop, I now believe there is a hardware incompatibility. The system keeps hanging when booting.
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 426
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby mzry » Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:36 am

JoeAtari wrote:Regarding the pi-top laptop, I now believe there is a hardware incompatibility. The system keeps hanging when booting.

But the pitop is just a screen, track pad and keyboard. How could that be incompatible?
Falcon ct63e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - SCSI2SD - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 697
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby Faucon2001 » Tue Aug 14, 2018 10:28 am

The hanging at power on boot is a bug that I have described in the documentation.
It has nothing to do with your Pi Top. It’s annoying, but for now the only solution is to press ctrl+alt+del just after Emutos boots, or Alt+F12 and choose shutdown to restart Aranym. Subsequent reboots don’t hang until you switch off your Pi.
I have read on Aranym group that the latest version of emutos and Aranym solves this issue but I haven’t had time to test it so far.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

JoeAtari
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: BeeKey Atari on a key and now BeePi

Postby JoeAtari » Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:27 am

I think this may be something different than what is explained in the documentation. I can get to the desktop, but it often freezes before any icons display. If I get to the full desktop, it will often freeze so that the cursor will move, but I cannot click the mouse or use the keyboard. If I boot enough times (usually at least five times) everything will start working, including the networking. Thanks so much for your help!
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook


Social Media

     

Return to “Other emulators & tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron