MiST core and firmware changelog

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

brunosilva
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby brunosilva » Fri May 17, 2019 8:11 pm

hi

about the folders, now we can only have cores in root folder of card.

Mister uses a little nice trick that all the folders with _ before the name are displayed in menu and we can have cores inside...

for me, its useful to have all the arcade cores in one folder (_Arcade folder like i have in mister)

This will improve the organization of the cores :)

Thanks

User avatar
mfro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 802
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:33 am
Location: SW Germany

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby mfro » Sat May 18, 2019 4:41 am

slingshot wrote:
brunosilva wrote:hi

not possible to add zip compression like mister? :)

In a 64K microcontroller?
Good luck for that :)


Not .zip, but LZ4 on an ARM in 84 bytes: https://community.arm.com/developer/ip- ... -and-later

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Sat May 18, 2019 1:13 pm

Handling an archive file is not just about the compression, it must handle a catalogue of the files, needs decompression buffer in RAM, and so on. But if somebody wants to try, I'm not against it :)

The directory thing is definitely doable. Currently I prefix the arcade cores with Arcade_, then they're at the beginning of the list.

brunosilva
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby brunosilva » Sun May 19, 2019 1:15 pm

slingshot wrote:The directory thing is definitely doable. Currently I prefix the arcade cores with Arcade_, then they're at the beginning of the list.


I also do that :) but people can also to have folder to organize cores in : Consoles, computers...

There is also another improvements that maybe could be done in mist that are already in mister (sorry by the example but they work fine), like have a bootrom folder where we can place de files/roms needed for some cores and so on :)

thanks for the support :)

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Mon May 20, 2019 7:54 am

brunosilva wrote:
slingshot wrote:The directory thing is definitely doable. Currently I prefix the arcade cores with Arcade_, then they're at the beginning of the list.


I also do that :) but people can also to have folder to organize cores in : Consoles, computers...

There is also another improvements that maybe could be done in mist that are already in mister (sorry by the example but they work fine), like have a bootrom folder where we can place de files/roms needed for some cores and so on :)

thanks for the support :)


For ROM override, you can already use mist.ini:
viewtopic.php?f=115&t=28354&start=50#p368819
Of course would be better to select from OSD. These things are not so hard, and doesn't require HDL knowledge, only some C. Would be glad if somebody could pick these up.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Sat Jun 01, 2019 3:09 pm

firmware_190601
===============
- Fix core chooser after using rom=xxx loading via ini
- Can load cores from directories marked as SYSTEM
- Case-insesitive core name comparison in ini parser
- Show the version string in the OSD scrolling text

brunosilva
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby brunosilva » Sat Jun 01, 2019 9:56 pm

"- Can load cores from directories marked as SYSTEM"

in windows just make a folder in the card, go to command line and execute: attrib -S FolderName and that it!

Place cores inside and this folder is displayed in OSD :)

brunosilva
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby brunosilva » Sat Jun 01, 2019 10:08 pm

slingshot wrote:
brunosilva wrote:
slingshot wrote:The directory thing is definitely doable. Currently I prefix the arcade cores with Arcade_, then they're at the beginning of the list.


I also do that :) but people can also to have folder to organize cores in : Consoles, computers...

There is also another improvements that maybe could be done in mist that are already in mister (sorry by the example but they work fine), like have a bootrom folder where we can place de files/roms needed for some cores and so on :)

thanks for the support :)


For ROM override, you can already use mist.ini:
viewtopic.php?f=115&t=28354&start=50#p368819
Of course would be better to select from OSD. These things are not so hard, and doesn't require HDL knowledge, only some C. Would be glad if somebody could pick these up.


Hi

what i'm talking about is not rom overide... is rom path changing... can i use paths in ini? like rom=ROMS/c16 ?
an idea is to have a default folder where mist searches first for the roms, after that is searches in root of sd card :)

Thanks

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Sun Jun 02, 2019 8:57 am

brunosilva wrote:
what i'm talking about is not rom overide... is rom path changing... can i use paths in ini? like rom=ROMS/c16 ?
an idea is to have a default folder where mist searches first for the roms, after that is searches in root of sd card :)

Thanks


The specified ROM will loaded from the core's dir, e.g. ROM=jiffy.rom will load C16/jiffy.rom for example.

brunosilva
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby brunosilva » Sun Jun 02, 2019 9:25 am

yes... but the goal is to organize the roms/needed files in another folder so we dont have all the files in root of sd card
is only a question of card organization :)

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:34 am

Ok, so how the firmware should know which c16.rom should be sent to the core without an ini entry for example?

brunosilva
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby brunosilva » Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:43 am

you can do it like mister does it (the order could be different but is something like this)
- first try to find the rom in core folder (now we can have folders - Thanks))
- second try to find the rom in bootrom folder
- third try to find in the root of sd card

we can also have in ini the full path to rom. EX: ROM=FULLPATH/C16
but having some folders by default (like mister) it works out of the box and users don't need to configure anything in ini

also we could have a folder where the cfg are saved by default (something like /cfg or /config) - this is other thing

this is nice to haves so we can organize better the cards... only that, but its a big help :)

desUBIKado
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby desUBIKado » Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:46 am

brunosilva wrote:you can do it like mister does it (the order could be different but is something like this)
- first try to find the rom in core folder (now we can have folders - Thanks))
- second try to find the rom in bootrom folder
- third try to find in the root of sd card

we can also have in ini the full path to rom. EX: ROM=FULLPATH/C16
but having some folders by default (like mister) it works out of the box and users don't need to configure anything in ini

also we could have a folder where the cfg are saved by default (something like /cfg or /config) - this is other thing

this is nice to haves so we can organize better the cards... only that, but its a big help :)


+1

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Sun Jun 02, 2019 12:04 pm

Ok, I understand now. The problem is that the MCU doesn't have a fully-fledged POSIX-compatible FAT driver, and handling file opens in directories are a bit cumbersome.

brunosilva
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby brunosilva » Sun Jun 02, 2019 12:19 pm

ohhh. that's why you went to SYSTEM attribute in folders in the last update...

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Sun Jun 02, 2019 12:49 pm

Actually not, file name comparison is not that hard, but opening a file in a directory requires first to chdir to it, by level to level, then you can open that file.

MIRKOSOFT
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 5:09 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby MIRKOSOFT » Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:57 pm

Hello!

I updated firmware and followed system attribute set for SYSTEM folder to use cores inside.
I want this folder only for machines which I want to use in 2 ROM configurations.
But ROM is always loaded from root.

What I want:
Commodore VIC20 core in ROOT and same in SYSTEM
1. JiffyDOS ROM in ROOT
2. Standard ROM in SYSTEM

and other similar.
I know that some core updates of Commodore machines allows ROM change in OSD, but not all, even other cores I don't know.

Can anybody explain me how to load ROM from root and from SYSTEM folder separate?

Thank you very much.
Miro

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:45 am

The ROM loading wasn't changed at all, it still works from the root dir, or from the core dir, if there's a rom=xxx line in the mist.ini. SYSTEM dir is only for RBFs (for now).

User avatar
RealLarry
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: San Junipero

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby RealLarry » Fri Jun 07, 2019 6:50 am

Gehstock implemented the (OSD) feature to rotate controls, which is usually needed when running cores on screens with pivot function. But as there are more and more great cores coming that are using a rotated screen, I'm getting tired of enabling rotate controls every time ;)
So I'm now kindly requesting a new control to mist.ini which pre-defines a rotated control...
On the other side of the screen, it all looks so easy.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:07 am

You can save the config in the OSD menu. You need to enable only once/core.

User avatar
RealLarry
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: San Junipero

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby RealLarry » Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:10 am

slingshot wrote:You can save the config in the OSD menu. You need to enable only once/core.

Will try that, but that's far too easy ;)
Edit: Works fine (per Core) ...
:cheers:
On the other side of the screen, it all looks so easy.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:16 am

RealLarry wrote:
slingshot wrote:You can save the config in the OSD menu. You need to enable only once/core.

Will try that, but that's far too easy ;)
:cheers:


If you want the hard task, then you can add a new virtual switch into the firmware, and modify _all_ (portrait) cores to use it :D

User avatar
RealLarry
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: San Junipero

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby RealLarry » Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:26 am

slingshot wrote:
RealLarry wrote:
slingshot wrote:You can save the config in the OSD menu. You need to enable only once/core.

Will try that, but that's far too easy ;)
:cheers:


If you want the hard task, then you can add a new virtual switch into the firmware, and modify _all_ (portrait) cores to use it :D

I don't think it's worth the effort for me personally, especially since saving per core works fine, but maybe my idea will be implemented by others afterwards. And if not, then not, especially now that it no longer has any real priority :)
On the other side of the screen, it all looks so easy.

User avatar
Sheldon
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:41 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby Sheldon » Thu Jun 20, 2019 9:54 am

Hello, with firmware firmware_190601.upg, and last and old SMS, NES, NEC PCENGINE, GAMEBOY : only one buttons works with usb pad who all work before.
Same with last GENESIS MEGADRIVE core but works with version 30 4 2019.
I'm alone ?

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:55 pm

firmware_190819
===============
- Minimig fixes from retrofun
- Support for the new ST(e) core, MiSTery


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: slingshot and 0 guests