IDE Master HD image

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.2.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

IDE Master HD image

Postby calimero » Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:43 pm

Hi,
how can I use this?

For ASCI HD image I downloaded file: http://hatari.tuxfamily.org/hd80mb.image.gz and everything works but how I can use IDE HD image?
(ASCI HD image does not work with TOS =>2.x)

and GEMDOS drive on Mac OS X gives me terrible time:
viewtopic.php?f=51&t=23273&start=25#p246317
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

SteveBagley
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:31 am

Re: IDE Master HD image

Postby SteveBagley » Thu Feb 13, 2014 6:15 pm

calimero wrote:Hi,
how can I use this?

For ASCI HD image I downloaded file: http://hatari.tuxfamily.org/hd80mb.image.gz and everything works but how I can use IDE HD image?
(ASCI HD image does not work with TOS =>2.x)

and GEMDOS drive on Mac OS X gives me terrible time:
viewtopic.php?f=51&t=23273&start=25#p246317


Create an empty file of the required size and set it as the HDD image then boot Hatari off a floppy containing the HDD driver software and use that to partition and install the software as you would on a real ST.

Steve

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: IDE Master HD image

Postby AtariZoll » Thu Feb 13, 2014 6:49 pm

calimero wrote:Hi,
how can I use this?
For ASCI HD image I downloaded file: http://hatari.tuxfamily.org/hd80mb.image.gz and everything works but how I can use IDE HD image?
(ASCI HD image does not work with TOS =>2.x)

ACSI (and not ASCI) must work on TOS 2.06, and even 3.06 (TT) . IDE is what works not on TOS below 2.06 . What you want to do with IDE image actually ?
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: IDE Master HD image

Postby calimero » Fri Feb 14, 2014 8:17 am

^
yes I know that but still if I change from TOS 1.x to TOS 4.04 (and Falcon mode) Hatari wont "see" ASCI HD image!

I want to be able to test, take screenshots and video of ST running programs from "my atari software archive" under MagiC.

next problem is that Magic does not see GEMDOS drive so I can not access to software archive :D
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: IDE Master HD image

Postby AtariZoll » Fri Feb 14, 2014 8:58 am

If you use MagiC, then TOS version is irrelevant. So, start MagiC from TOS v. in which your image works. After that Magic will take control over.

It is normal that MagiC can not access GEMDOS drives (same in Steem), since is pretty different from TOS, especially in filesystem part.

Now, it may happen that whole thing will not work . I just did some tests with hard disk image of installed Magic:
http://atari.8bitchip.info/magic62.html - which works well in Steem. It works not in Hatari, any TOS version. I looked it better, and problem is that file size, what I just made to round 100000000 bytes is not divideable with 512 . So, need to have proper size for Hatari. Stripping 256 bytes from end made it working (booting) in Hatari, with TOS 2.06 too .
Since it is DOS type partititon, you can easily add files to it - with WInimage for instance :D Well, I'm sure that can solve it with MAC somehow.
Or with Hatari, using some TOS v. and having GEMDOS and ACSI hard disks at once, so can copy onto image ...

I will update that image file and others on that page in few days, since did some updates in translation and country flags recently.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

SteveBagley
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:31 am

Re: IDE Master HD image

Postby SteveBagley » Fri Feb 14, 2014 12:51 pm

As I said earlier, if you want to use an IDE HDD in Hatari just create an empty file on your hard disk and use it as the image in Hatari. I use dd from the command line like this:

Code: Select all

dd if=/dev/zero of=newIDE bs=1024k count=80


to create a 80MB drive. You just then need to use HDDriver/AHDI/whatever to partition the disk image and install the HDDriver (as you would with a fresh HDD in a real ST).

There's nothing special about the image files.

Steve

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: IDE Master HD image

Postby calimero » Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:18 pm

ok. I create ide harddisk, install ppera driver :) and everything is fine.

just have two more questions:
1. if I add GEMDOS beside IDE HD image, GEMDOS become C: and IDE HD D: - how can I switch them?
2. not related to Hatari: how to prevent Mac OS X to create "TRASHE~1", "FSEVEN~1" and other OS X related files? :)


EDIT:
it seems that Mac OS X trash "IDE HD image" without any problems :) so I will not touch it from Mac OS X
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

SteveBagley
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:31 am

Re: IDE Master HD image

Postby SteveBagley » Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:52 pm

calimero wrote:1. if I add GEMDOS beside IDE HD image, GEMDOS become C: and IDE HD D: - how can I switch them?


Hatari assigns the drive letter for the GEMDOS drive based on the folder names within the folder you specified to Hatari. So I have a folder called GemdosDrive which I point Hatari at. Inside that I have a single folder called 'G' which contains all the Atari stuff, Hatari then maps this to drive G: in TOS.

Steve

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: IDE Master HD image

Postby AtariZoll » Fri Feb 14, 2014 3:27 pm

SteveBagley wrote:...
Hatari assigns the drive letter for the GEMDOS drive based on the folder names within the folder you specified to Hatari. So I have a folder called GemdosDrive which I point Hatari at. Inside that I have a single folder called 'G' which contains all the Atari stuff, Hatari then maps this to drive G: in TOS...

Thanx for this. Pretty strange way ... it seems that they don't like GUI settings too much :D
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: IDE Master HD image

Postby calimero » Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:32 pm

I just installed MagiC 6.20 from 01.10.2000 cracked by Elite on IDE MAster HD image and it works in every combination except if I choose "680EC30+FPU"* as CPU in Hatari preference, I got:

Screen Shot 2014-02-19 at 13.31.52.png


Version of Hatari is: 1.7.0a (1.7.0) for Mac OS X by T. Huth

(*note that there is typo! it should be 68EC030 right? :))
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: IDE Master HD image

Postby AtariZoll » Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:04 pm

Hatari still emulates not 68030 PMMU 100% .
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: IDE Master HD image

Postby calimero » Wed Feb 19, 2014 7:33 pm

AtariZoll wrote:Hatari still emulates not 68030 PMMU 100% .

interesting.
but MagiC works fine with 68040
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X


Social Media

     

Return to “Hatari”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests