Aranym FVDI + NVDI

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby wongck » Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:43 am

Been trying to printout colour using CAB as it does graphics on the HTML page.

However, only on black and white printouts it works.
I think sometime back I tried printing colour on my CT63, and it too failed.
Same situation on the Aranym.

On OpenPCL viewer, it is like 1000 pages and it just hang.
Obviously it is wrong as the same printout in black and white come to 3 pages only.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby Faucon2001 » Mon Feb 17, 2014 5:55 pm

Wongck,

It's normal. Open PCL viewer can only show PCL5 files and not PCL3+ color files.
When you print with NVDI using a HP Deskjet driver, the format is PCL3+, PCL3c or PCL3 GUI, which are a different branches of PCL, not compatible with PCL5 (B&W version of PCL) nor PCL5c (color version of PCL).
It's not a problem of your setup nor of NVDI, but a limitation of Open PCL viewer which can't handle colors, and a limitation of PCL downward compatibility.
I have an old Deskjet printer and it prints perfectly in color these PCL3+ files produced with NVDI whereas Open PCL viewer will show 1000 pages. If I remember well, you have a network HP Laserjet printer, don't know if color or B&W, but generally they can't handle PCL3+ color, only the B&W version of it which is downward compatible. Don't send your PCL3+ files to your printer otherwise you will end up with 1000 wasted pages ;-)
You can try Ghost PCL, which is a special version of Ghostscript, reading PCL5 and PCL5c files and converting it into different formats (image and PDF). It works perfectly to convert PCL files to PDF but only in B&W or grey levels. Unfortunately, all color NVDI drivers print in PCL3+ format and not in PCL5c, even the DJ1200 driver which printer is supposed to be PCL5c compatible, also uses the common PCL3+.
I am still looking for a PCL3+ converter to PCL5c, but have not been lucky yet.

Please see interesting reading.
http://www.undocprint.org/formats/page_ ... guages/pcl
http://www.columbia.edu/~em36/ghostpcl.html

Philippe
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby wongck » Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:28 am

Faucon2001 wrote:It's normal. Open PCL viewer can only show PCL5 files and not PCL3+ color files.

Ok thanks for clarifying the mystery. :D

So there is no way to get colour printout showing?
I am, for sure, not going to sent to a printer because I have no idea it the PCL code is correct or wrong.
And don't want a 1000+ pages of funny characters on every pages. :lol:
I remembered I did it once and hang the whole printer... :lol: :lol:

So it seems that you are saying there's nothing that can output on colour printer nowadays due to old PCL protocols (except old deskjet).
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby Faucon2001 » Tue Feb 18, 2014 1:12 am

Never say never 8)

Yes you can print in color but only on HP inkjet printer. All HP inkjet (Deskjet and office jet, even new ones ) use PCL3 color. I don't think there is an HP inkjet printer with a lpd server, but you can hook it to a PC, activate lpd sharing and it will print in color any raw file formatted in PCL3 color. I tried it on my Linux box, with TEXEL and Papyrus files printed with NVDI using the HP DJ660C driver, and it worked out in color. :)

For Laserjet color, I have not found a solution to print in color as all these printers only accept PCL5c, and there is no PCL5c driver in NVDI.

Solution : develop a converter from PCL3 color to PCL5c. As PCL standard documentation is freely available on HP website it should be feasible.

A new development for PHERP ? :cheers:
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby wongck » Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:08 pm

So I had Aranym running for nearly 3 hours, but I used about 30 mins overall, with the FVDI/NVDI combo.
I printed out PCL file at the beginning and another at the end of the session.
No crashes - I may be lucky or may be not used it long enough.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby Faucon2001 » Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:30 pm

Great!
Just to be sure to replicate the same conditions, do your system boot on Emutos or Tos 4.04?
Which version of Aranym,emutos,Mint / XAAES, FVDI, NVDI are you using?
What have you put in FVDI.sys?
If I followed well this thread, the actual test sequence in auto is:
1 FVDI
2 Mint
3 NVDI
Right?
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby wongck » Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:11 pm

aranym = 915
emutos = 2013-???
mint = 1.18, xaaes =1.5.5 beta (yeah old version)
fvdi = not sure what version, date is 23-07-2007
NVDI = v5.00

Auto sequence is
1. clocky.prg
2. mint.prg
3. nvdi.prg

only 3 prg in AUTO.

fvdi is running from mint.cnf.
fvdi path is c:\fvdi with all the sys file in there.
fvdi.sys = commented cookie nvdi, cookie speedo, vqgdos, palette, lineafix, xbiosfix,
uncommented booted, nvdifix

nvdi is just like what the installation does but with screen sys drivers disabled.
no change in assign.sys

Good luck :cheers:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby OL » Tue Feb 18, 2014 7:53 pm

wongck wrote:aranym = 915
emutos = 2013-???
mint = 1.18, xaaes =1.5.5 beta (yeah old version)
fvdi = not sure what version, date is 23-07-2007
NVDI = v5.00

Auto sequence is
1. clocky.prg
2. mint.prg
3. nvdi.prg

only 3 prg in AUTO.

fvdi is running from mint.cnf.
fvdi path is c:\fvdi with all the sys file in there.
fvdi.sys = commented cookie nvdi, cookie speedo, vqgdos, palette, lineafix, xbiosfix,
uncommented booted, nvdifix

nvdi is just like what the installation does but with screen sys drivers disabled.
no change in assign.sys

Good luck :cheers:


In this order this configuration can't launch NVDI because after Mint no software in auto can be launch except I think if Mint let TOS AES running, but this not the case here.

OL
OL

helmut
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:30 pm

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby helmut » Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:14 pm

MiNT executes everything in the auto-folder placed behind it by default.

You can also run everything from mint.cnf. You can run NVDI at any time before the VDI is used by MiNT (i.e. XaAES), depending on your situation.

What wongk is using is an fVDI-feature that enables it to call the underlying VDI (here: NVDI) for things it does not support (like printing), I guess. NVDI and fVDI should appear in the tasklist (ps for example, or the taskmanager) in this case.

In my case it looks like this:

Code: Select all

PID  PPID PGRP PRI  CUR  STATUS    SIZE  TIME     COMMAND
000  000    0   0    0    Wait   1081344 00:18.01 MiNT
001  000    1   0    0    Sleep   655360 00:00.11 KSHA -l
002  000    0   0    0    Sleep  1081344 00:00.00 update
003  000    0   0    0    TSR     770048 00:00.86 fvdi_gnu
006  001    6   0    0    Wait     16384 00:00.52 xaloader xaaes040.km
007  000    6   0    0    TSR     983040 00:00.35 nvdi
008  000    6   0    0    Sleep  1081344 00:00.66 AESSYS
009  000    0   0    0    Sleep  1081344 00:00.00 aesthred
010  000    6   0    0    Sleep  1081344 00:00.20 XaSYS
011  010    6   0    0    Ready  1474560 00:00.10 toswin2 -l
013  011   13   0    0    Ready   655360 00:00.08 ksh
016  013   16   0   21    Ready    65536 00:00.01 ps




-Helmut

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby wongck » Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:45 am

OL:
I was also thinking that anything after MINT in AUTO will not run. That is why I mentioned I did something STUPID. :wink:
So now the truth is that stuff after MINT in AUTO does run. Never stop thinking out of the box. :D

Helmut:
Yes, it does seems like the NVDIFIX setting in FVDI is the enabler for this to happen.
The doc says something funny can still happen, so don't stake you life on it.

My ps is like this: most things runs before fvdi/nvdi ??? :roll:

Code: Select all

root@ara118:/root>ps
PID  PPID PRI CURPRI STATUS   SIZE    TIME    COMMAND
000  000   0     0  Wait     106496 00:10.25  MiNT
001  000   0    20  Wait      16384 00:00.02  xaloader
002  000   0     0  Sleep    106496 00:00.00  update
003  000   0     0  Sleep    106496 00:01.17  AESSYS
004  000   0     0  Sleep    106496 00:00.00  aesthred
005  000   0     0  Sleep    106496 00:00.04  XaSYS
006  005   0     0  Sleep    204800 00:00.04  cops
007  005 -20   -20  Sleep    622592 00:00.44  taskbar
008  005   0     0  Sleep    802816 00:00.19  toswin2
009  005   0     0  Sleep   1605632 00:00.58  desktop
010  008   0     0  Ready    770048 00:00.14  bash
014  000   0    20  TSR      573440 00:00.02  fvdi
018  000   0    20  TSR     1220608 00:00.02  NVDI
033  010   0    21  Ready     49152 00:00.01  ps
root@ara118:/root>
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby Faucon2001 » Wed Feb 19, 2014 3:20 am

It does not work for me :(
Following wongck procedure, I end up wit a black screen when XaAES starts and the message : exception 10 for AESSYS addr : 9000002
I have tried with various flavours of FVDI : the one from KLOCKARS site, FVDI_GNU from Helmut and the last one from Vincent Riviere 2014: same result : crash
I got an extra message with FVDI_GNU : exception 4 for AESSYS, after exception 10.

My system is using Aranym 0.915 on Xubuntu, booting with Emutos 0.9.1 on a disk image, Mint 1.18.0, XaAES 1.5.5 (from Easymint) and the test has been done with NVDI 5.03
I have removed all TSR, in the auto I only have Mint.prg and after NVDI.prg, FVDI is launched in Mint.cnf, all other prg are deactivated in Mint.cnf, XaAES is launched with init (not Xaloader) and no other prg are launched in xaaes.cnf. All nvdidrv.sys have been removed, and in FVDI.SYS I only have the path to C:\gemsys, booted, NVDIFIX, and resolution set.
The only difference I see with you, is that I use NVDI 5.03 and that Xaaes is launched by init. Could it be?
Last edited by Faucon2001 on Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:48 am, edited 2 times in total.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby Faucon2001 » Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:08 am

I also tried Helmut manual procedure.
Booting to the shell, NVDI launch well but once I launch xaloader.prg I got the same exception 10.
Something is fishy.

ps gives me :
000 Mint
001 sh
002 update
003 nvdi
008 ps
014 fvdi
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby wongck » Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:03 am

Difficult to see where you went wrong.

Faucon2001 wrote:The only difference I see with you, is that I use NVDI 5.03 and that Xaaes is launched by init. Could it be?

No difference here, works with NVDI 5.03 and Xaaes is always started by INIT.

Have you separated out FVDI from NVDI sys_folder ?
My FVDI system files & FVDI fonts are inside C:\FVDI
and NVDI system files are inside C:\GEMSYS and NVDI fonts in C:\BTFONTS.

Check your ASSIGN.SYS file, that the PATH=C:\GEMSYS is there, meaning you telling GDOS font system the location.
Then make sure your NVDI.INF paths definition inside are all pointing to NVDI stuff and path (like no FVDI is installed).

Faucon2001 wrote:exception 4 for AESSYS, after exception 10.

Exception 10 does look familiar.
IIRC, I got this the 1st time when I shared GEMSYS folder stuff (originally used by FVDI system files) with NVDI system files.
I think it uses the wrong system files or even overwrote some files.
So I separate them so that it will not mix up.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby wongck » Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:12 am

BTW... I am on Windows 8... boo! hiss! get away !!! scram... LOL :lol:

Now that's a major difference. :wink:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3668
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby joska » Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:24 am

Ok, have anybody tested the recommended setup? The setup that's recommended by the authors of the software in question?

1. fVDI.
2. NVDI.
3. MiNT.

2B recommend to run NVDI before MiNT. Running fVDI after NVDI is something fVDI attempts to handle but the author does not recommend it. The running order above "works" in the sense that it's the least unstable fVDI+NVDI combination.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3668
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby joska » Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:30 am

OL wrote:In this order this configuration can't launch NVDI because after Mint no software in auto can be launch except I think if Mint let TOS AES running, but this not the case here.


Check your bootmenu config. MiNT executes programs from the autofolder fine here. I'm using XaAES, not TOS AES.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby wongck » Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:13 am

joska wrote:Ok, have anybody tested the recommended setup? The setup that's recommended by the authors of the software in question?

1. fVDI.
2. NVDI.
3. MiNT.

I have not, but I can try this as well.

Do you mean running FVDI from the AUTO folder?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3668
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby joska » Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:05 am

Yes, run fVDI, NVDI and finally MiNT from the auto-folder.

I don't see a reason to not run fVDI from the autofolder :)
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby wongck » Wed Feb 19, 2014 1:45 pm

Ok, tried that. Easily setup on my Aranym as I am using IMG C: drive that allow AUTOSORT program to sort the AUTO folder.

System boot up as normal. Speedo fonts are there. :D
This is the ps that I got. 8O Cannot find fvdi nor nvdi process but display and fonts are there 8O

Code: Select all

root@ara118:/root>ps
PID  PPID PRI CURPRI STATUS   SIZE    TIME    COMMAND
000  000   0     0  Wait     106496 00:04.34  MiNT
001  000   0    20  Wait      16384 00:00.02  xaloader
002  000   0     0  Sleep    106496 00:00.00  update
003  000   0     0  Sleep    106496 00:01.85  AESSYS
004  000   0     0  Sleep    106496 00:00.00  aesthred
005  000   0     0  Sleep    106496 00:00.09  XaSYS
006  005   0     0  Sleep    237568 00:00.06  cops
007  005   0     0  Sleep   1679360 00:00.47  phclock
008  005   0     0  Sleep   1138688 00:00.24  phweathr
009  005 -20   -20  Sleep    606208 00:00.65  taskbar
010  005   0     0  Sleep    786432 00:00.27  toswin2
011  005   0     0  Sleep   1597440 00:00.76  desktop
014  010   0     0  Ready    737280 00:00.17  bash
035  014   0    21  Ready     49152 00:00.01  ps
root@ara118:/root>

I was able to print once only and subsequently QED crashed. So did Works.

May be it is me... this configuration is supposed to be the most stable according to Jo and the authors, I don't know.
Anyone else tries this?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3668
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby joska » Wed Feb 19, 2014 3:05 pm

wongck wrote:System boot up as normal. Speedo fonts are there. :D
This is the ps that I got. 8O Cannot find fvdi nor nvdi process but display and fonts are there 8O


That's expected. Neither NVDI nor fVDI are MiNT processes since they're started before MiNT itself.

wongck wrote:I was able to print once only and subsequently QED crashed. So did Works.


There is a setting in fvdi.sys that enabled fVDI to use NVDI for GDOS even if NVDI is started before fVDI. I guess you've enabled this previously since you were able to print when fVDI was started last. Maybe you've forgotten to disable this now?

wongck wrote:this configuration is supposed to be the most stable according to Jo and the authors, I don't know.


I did not say "most stable". I said "least unstable" :D In my experience no combination of fVDI and NVDI can be considered stable.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

helmut
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:30 pm

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby helmut » Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:51 pm

wongck wrote:My ps is like this: most things runs before fvdi/nvdi ??? :roll:


There must be something special about TSR-pids (actually the are terminated), I don't understand it either.
So the ps-output is not really reliable.

Edit: The init-process that MiNT starts always has pid 1, and all processes started before this have pids > 1. Now when init starts, the pids count from 1 again. If there have been processes before init (xaloader) that have terminated their pids get reused. This can "unsort" the numbers.

If fVDI has pid 14 there must have been 12 processes before fVDI ...

-Helmut
Last edited by helmut on Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

helmut
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:30 pm

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby helmut » Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:57 pm

Faucon2001 wrote:I also tried Helmut manual procedure.
Booting to the shell, NVDI launch well but once I launch xaloader.prg I got the same exception 10.
Something is fishy.

ps gives me :
000 Mint
001 sh
002 update
003 nvdi
008 ps
014 fvdi


Is fVDI launched before NVDI (does not look so)?
Disable all screen-stuff in assign.sys, and the vdifix in fvdi.sys, enable booted. I have the same GEMSYS for both, makes no difference.

I don't think the NVDI-version matters but I'll test NVDI5 soon.

Can you post a few lines in xa_boot.log before the exception?

-Helmut

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3668
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby joska » Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:53 pm

helmut wrote:There must be something special about TSR-pids (actually the are terminated), I don't understand it either.
So the ps-output is not really reliable.


TSR's are not processes. They are terminated programs, and the only thing that differs these from programs that are terminated normally is that their memory is not freed. MiNT can ofcourse not know anything about programs that was terminated before MiNT itself was even started.

The only reason why you see TSR's in MiNT's process list is that they were started by MiNT and thus had a PID before they terminated. But they are no longer processes. They are not assigned any CPU time.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby wongck » Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:48 am

joska wrote:Ok, have anybody tested the recommended setup? The setup that's recommended by the authors of the software in question?

1. fVDI.
2. NVDI.
3. MiNT.

2B recommend to run NVDI before MiNT. Running fVDI after NVDI is something fVDI attempts to handle but the author does not recommend it. The running order above "works" in the sense that it's the least unstable fVDI+NVDI combination.


I read the thread again, and the OP did try that before.
Of OP had xboot and NFjpeg as well, which I do not know what the effect will be with those running.

Faucon2001 wrote:No, I am booting from a disk image.
In the auto folder, files are started in this order :
Xboot-NFjpeg-fvdi-nvdi-Mint

I am using Aranym JIT and therefore Mint is in non protected mode.
The only accessory used is Cops.
Mint boot process is ok without error, it's really when XAAES starts that the system crash.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11990
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Aranym FVDI + NVDI

Postby wongck » Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:50 am

joska wrote:I did not say "most stable". I said "least unstable" :D In my experience no combination of fVDI and NVDI can be considered stable.


LMAO.... I should add that I meant "most stable of the unstable combinations".
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Other emulators & tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests