Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCCESS!

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

rabindranath72
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:59 pm

Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCCESS!

Postby rabindranath72 » Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:57 pm

Dear all,
just to report the success of the above configuration. I have a 32 pin TOS 2.06, and I wanted to use the Dallas DS1216 Real-time clock. The chip suggested in another thread was the DS1216E, which is a 28 pin, but there is also the DS1216F version, which is 32 pin. So I acquired it, installed it in my Atari, used the A-Real 3.7 software...and it works like a charm!

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1448
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby troed » Sat Feb 09, 2013 4:42 pm

rabindranath72 wrote:Dear all,
just to report the success of the above configuration. I have a 32 pin TOS 2.06, and I wanted to use the Dallas DS1216 Real-time clock. The chip suggested in another thread was the DS1216E, which is a 28 pin, but there is also the DS1216F version, which is 32 pin. So I acquired it, installed it in my Atari, used the A-Real 3.7 software...and it works like a charm!


Your post intrigued me so I spent a few minutes searching and reading those other threads. After I while I figured there might even be some good guides on the web - and found this one that I think explains how it works quite well. (Right?)

http://www.brutman.com/PCjr/DS1216E.html

And this would be the post with links to the Atari software: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=18847&p=200080#p200080

My STE roms are already socketed - is there room enough below the floppy for an original socket, the Dallas chip+socket and the STE rom?

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby nativ » Sat Feb 09, 2013 5:25 pm

kool
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
ralcool
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 692
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:52 am
Location: Australia

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby ralcool » Sun Feb 10, 2013 4:26 am

Hey cool..

That answers & confirms the question of STE use.. there is no reason why the 1.6x TOS won't work as well.

Great to see guys experimenting. ... oops hang on....! 8O

ST. :cheers:
4160STFM, (Blitter, 4Mb RAM 72pin, 16Mhz OC, IDE, HD FDD, Quad TOS, LaScan, DS1216E Clock, AT-Speed C16, Tom Kirk PS2 mouse, MegaST Keyboard)
What Intel giveth, Microsoft taketh away
Beer is proof that God loves us, and wants us to be happy
Don't let post count or join date fool you as to who is a newbie, and who knows what's what

rabindranath72
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:59 pm

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby rabindranath72 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:08 am

troed wrote:My STE roms are already socketed - is there room enough below the floppy for an original socket, the Dallas chip+socket and the STE rom?

At least in my revision of the motherboard (I too have already socketed ROMs,) there is barely enough space under the drive. After installation, it's left perhaps 1mm. So yes, at least in this configuration it works :D
Last edited by rabindranath72 on Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

rabindranath72
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:59 pm

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby rabindranath72 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:10 am

ralcool wrote:Hey cool..

That answers & confirms the question of STE use.. there is no reason why the 1.6x TOS won't work as well.

Great to see guys experimenting. ... oops hang on....! 8O

ST. :cheers:

My other alternative was to put back the 1.62 28-pin ROMs and use the 28 pin DS1216E chip. I don't see why it shouldn't work, considering that the software mentions this specific chip.

Now, next project: writing a RT clock driver for Minix!

rabindranath72
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:59 pm

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby rabindranath72 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:51 pm

A weird thing is that when I use the AReal desk accessory, the Control panel clock is correctly updated. But if I use the AReal auto prg, the control panel gets the year wrong, adding 15 to the current year :?

Guest

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby Guest » Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:34 pm

i can program a set of 32pin 2Mb ics that have tos 1.62 and 2.06 or two 4 tos 010 32pin eproms
and have dual language if needed

i have lots of 28pin 512Mb eproms but they are a different pinout from 28pin ones used in ataris
they are custom pinout as i explained

think 4 X tos dual language or 4 language on two ic's

think a flash tos can also be used easily with the ste
using a fixed bank tos and three flash banks

your 15th wrong sounds like a bad address line {too many address lines perhaps}

rabindranath72
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:59 pm

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby rabindranath72 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:44 am

Does anybody have the source code for the areal37 package?

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1448
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby troed » Sun Mar 02, 2014 1:16 pm

rabindranath72 ended up selling the DS1216F to me - and I ended up writing some software that I release for beta testing here today. I'm not really sure whether there are other users of this RTC on this forum - but if there are then please help me test ;)

As noticed below, while the AREAL37 package includes a fully working clock set program (which I saw no need to replicate) and a fully working .ACC that also displays a clock in the top right corner (which I also saw no need to replace) the little program meant to run from AUTO to set the ST IKBD clock to the current RTC value didn't work as it should. The reason for that is a well known Atari ST Y2K issue - see http://www.bygjohn.fsnet.co.uk/atari/y2k.html#xbios

Attached to this post is a BETA VERSION of a working RTC->TOS clock set and Y2K fix combined that can be run from either AUTO or from desktop. Also included (hey, I write optimised code) is a version compiled for use as a boot sector.

The .PRG version seems to work fine, while the boot sector version has a known issue. I speculate it inits the TOS clock a bit too early, which will cause the year to be non-Y2K fixed when the desktop appears. However, it immediately corrects itself as soon as you run any application (incl. AUTO).

You can also run this program as an Y2K fix only (good until 2030) even if you don't have the Dallas RTC chip installed.

Update:

There was only one download of the file and I found some more time to work on it this evening. It should now work on all possible ROM addresses as well as non-68000 CPUs and it won't fail if you happen to run both the boot sector and the .PRG (or the .PRG several times). I also added text output to show that it installs correctly.

Please let me know if you test this :) I intend to release the final archive as soon as I get confirmation that it works for others and then I will include the source as well.

Update 2: There have been four downloads of the file but no feedback. I have finished the intended development (bootwrt.prg now checks executable status and allows disk switching compared to the beta yesterday) but I would still like to know if it works on any other system but mine before uploading it as a proper release.

Update 3: Replaced the archive with the intended v1.0 release, including source code. Will make a separate thread for it if I get confirmation that it works on other systems as well ...

/Troed



rabindranath72 wrote:A weird thing is that when I use the AReal desk accessory, the Control panel clock is correctly updated. But if I use the AReal auto prg, the control panel gets the year wrong, adding 15 to the current year :?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by troed on Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:06 am, edited 2 times in total.

RA_pdx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Nuernberg/GERMANY

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby RA_pdx » Mon Mar 03, 2014 9:07 am

Hi,

Great that this works fine with the STE!

Does anybody knows a reliable shop (no alibaba.com) where i still can buy the DS1216F?
I found only the DS1216D with 32 pins to buy - but would this work as well?
>> > raZen/Paradox < <<

Atari 1040STE, TOS 2.06, 4MB, MC68010, IDE 8GB SSD, Gigafile

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1448
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby troed » Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:23 am

RA_pdx wrote:I found only the DS1216D with 32 pins to buy - but would this work as well?


It's my understanding that the D-version is a pass-through for RAM sockets and F for ROM - and we want the latter in the ST series.

Digikey lists them as being available from the factory here: http://www.digikey.se/product-detail/en ... -ND/444511

(I do not know what the -ND means even after having a quick look through Maxim naming conventions. It might be something internal to Digikey)

RA_pdx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2003 12:01 pm
Location: Nuernberg/GERMANY

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby RA_pdx » Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:26 pm

Thanks for your fast reply and the link, troed!

The DS1216F is more expensive than expected... 8O
>> > raZen/Paradox < <<

Atari 1040STE, TOS 2.06, 4MB, MC68010, IDE 8GB SSD, Gigafile

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1448
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby troed » Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:11 pm

RA_pdx wrote:Thanks for your fast reply and the link, troed!

The DS1216F is more expensive than expected... 8O


Agreed - except for alibaba of course. It's a lot cheaper buying 25 and upwards at a time but I think it'll be hard to get together that many ;)

1: 46,15 €
25: 30,77 €
50: 21,68 €

http://se.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Maxi ... Sx1TD6sw==

It's only $11.40/piece from aliexpress - and the long lead time mentioned by one customer would actually likely be true for Digikey as well (stocked at the factory only): http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product ... 98650.html

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1448
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby troed » Sun Mar 09, 2014 10:31 am

I'm guessing I'm the only one with a Dallas RTC currently installed so I went ahead and released it - the same .zip as the latest attached to the post above.

The project homepage is http://blog.troed.se/projects/dallas-rt ... s-y2k-fix/

Since it's only been tested on my setup so far, make sure to give me feedback when/if you test it and stumble upon this thread ;)

/Troed

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby alanh » Sat Apr 26, 2014 5:53 pm

So I popped my DS1216F into my STE, and ran this. But XCONTROL.ACC seems to get the year wrong.

After looking at the code, I'm not sure it's detecting my DS1216F or not. It doesn't seem to identify whether it was successful :-(
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1448
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby troed » Sat Apr 26, 2014 7:32 pm

alanh wrote:So I popped my DS1216F into my STE, and ran this. But XCONTROL.ACC seems to get the year wrong.

After looking at the code, I'm not sure it's detecting my DS1216F or not. It doesn't seem to identify whether it was successful :-(


Thanks for testing! You're right in that it doesn't care about success - in my mind failing to read a clock chip and not having one gives the same result. Wrong date ;)

If everything but the year is correct then it has absolutely found the RTC and it's the Y2K fix that has failed. ralcool also tested and on his system the AUTO program and the boot sector both had the bug where a (any) program has to be run first for the year to be set correctly. On my system that only happens with the boot sector version.

(I haven't looked into why yet, it's quite strange)

Does that help?

/Troed

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby alanh » Sat Apr 26, 2014 7:37 pm

Not really. I just tried the AReal 3.7 software and that works just great.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby alanh » Sat Apr 26, 2014 8:10 pm

One thing with the AReal software is that it has a configuration program and it says where it found the RTC at the correct ROM location.

It's hard with your version as there isn't anything to configure or confirm if it found anything. Coupled with this additional bug of running additional programs to confirm the date/time it's not workable for me unfortunately.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1448
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby troed » Sat Apr 26, 2014 8:55 pm

alanh wrote:One thing with the AReal software is that it has a configuration program and it says where it found the RTC at the correct ROM location.

It's hard with your version as there isn't anything to configure or confirm if it found anything. Coupled with this additional bug of running additional programs to confirm the date/time it's not workable for me unfortunately.


Right, maybe it's a question of expectations. The AReal suite is great for configuring the RTC - but its AUTO program does not contain a Y2K fix. The .acc works (which actually is quite strange) - but whether you want to run an .acc or not for the clock is personal preference. Myself I wanted a boot sector version so that I could program it onto all disk images I use and forget about having to include AUTO programs (or .accs).

So - the software is meant to set the STs clock to the RTC values - _and_ make sure the Y2K problem is corrected. The purpose is for files I create in Devpac to have the correct date - which they have since as soon as I run Devpac the bug with the year is corrected ;) (Until I manage to find out why TOS doesn't pick up on the year immediately)

I still don't see a reason to mention whether an RTC was found or not (if it's found one time it's likely going to be found at all subsequent boots) - either the date is correct or it isn't :) But sure - in the AUTO version I could include it. The boot sector version memory requirement is a bit too tight for that additional code ..

(The Y2K fix I wrote is also good up until 2030 - I don't think there are any others that survive 2020 :P)

/Troed

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCC

Postby alanh » Sat Apr 26, 2014 9:02 pm

I see. I thought yours was meant to be an open replacement. I see now it's more for boot sector installs.

The AReal software seems to work with XControl and be y2k compliant here though.

As for the RTC being found or not. It makes me think my hardware is broken the fact it didn't find it as I know it's installed. But not to worry here as I can see you are trying to keep it small for boot sectors.

Thanks for replying though as I understand where this fits.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1448
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCCESS!

Postby troed » Wed Jul 20, 2016 7:32 pm

Followup on the Y2K part:

Since I've gotten myself a Mega STE, and made sure its RTC has a brand new shiny battery backing it, I naturally wanted the date to be correct there as well. The Dallas software I wrote above installs a TOS Y2K fix no matter if it finds a Dallas RTC or not, so I assumed I would be good to go. However, this time it's XControl that is unable to understand the year 2016 (or 16, I'm not sure what it does with it but it doesn't pass it correctly to the TOS methods .. )

I've verified through calling Gemdos methods manually with the correct date (i.e, 2016) that the Y2K fix works as expected. So, does anyone know of a date-setter software for the Atari that hasn't got its own Y2K problem like XControl?

/Troed

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2634
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Atari 1040 STe+TOS 2.06 rom+DS1216F Real-Time clock=SUCCESS!

Postby spiny » Wed Jul 20, 2016 7:58 pm

would the forget-me-clock software modified by Alison help here ?

http://pest.atari.org/www.logicsays.com ... /index.htm


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests