TT dip switches

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

SofiST
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:25 pm

TT dip switches

Postby SofiST » Tue May 24, 2011 9:06 am

I searched little, but did not find some description except pos 7, what is same as MSTE (HD floppy on).
What I have is rev 1.06 from 1991 - likely later or latest TT rev. On mainboard 33MHz 68030, clocked with 32 MHz and getting pretty hot - no cooler as in slower Falcon :?

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: TT dip switches

Postby Dal » Tue May 24, 2011 12:57 pm

I believe they are software addressable. Switch 7 is used by TOS to set HD support. The others have no assignment within TOS so can be used by any software for anything (maybe secret functionality?).
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: TT dip switches

Postby Dal » Tue May 24, 2011 1:15 pm

This small documentation for a CPX gives some more information about them. This should point you in the right direction in terms of addressing them?
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

simbo

Re: TT dip switches

Postby simbo » Tue May 24, 2011 11:37 pm

they live at address $00FF9200-9201 or $FFFF9200-9201
depending on the memory level used

SofiST
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:25 pm

Re: TT dip switches

Postby SofiST » Wed May 25, 2011 12:44 pm

Thanks. Actually, the port address where can read DIP switches is documented (in Compendium for instance).
What I observed is that changing pos 4 affects something too - when removed FPU, and machine did not boot - it was different pattern on screen. Maybe RAM related ?

Other questions : how to achieve work with removed FPU (if possible) ? Can set RAM access speed somehow ? I see only jumper for FPU clock setting (16 or 32 MHz) .

I think that TT by me has some slight problem - sometimes it bombs, locks, not often. 1-2 x in day. Some code works not, what should work, and work well on Falcon (and no any parts which have TT incompatible code). I suspect on ST RAM or CPU (which is very hot).

User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham
Contact:

Re: TT dip switches

Postby bid » Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:30 pm

I noticed that some of the hardware runs a bit on the hot side on the TT. Seems to be how they shipped it!

Can I recommend these? Self adhesive heatsinks, just right size for putting on items that you want to protect.

Image

There are more on ebay here for £1.99 plus free postage http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Aluminum-RAM-VGA-DDR-DDR2-RAM-Memory-Cooler-HeatSink-/350384428805?pt=Computing_ComputerComponents_Fans_Heatsinks_SR&hash=item51948a1705#ht_2670wt_854 I have also ordered a resistor assembly for the internal in facing fan http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/3PIN-Resistor-Cable-CPU-Fan-Speed-Reduce-1Pcs-Noiseless-/180645699674?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2a0f52a05a at £1.24 so that I can bear to put the "sucking in" fan back in the right hand side behind the hard drive area. This will half speed, and I am happy with that as I am not drawing the same current through the TT as I am using Compact Flash now. I think that will be enough, and again keep my machine quiet and yet reliable.
My company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com[/i][/color]

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: TT dip switches

Postby Shredder11 » Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:15 am

I've thought about getting a load of these recently, but someone on here pointed out that they make work loose and fall off when warm or hot, thus short circuiting something on the motherboard. I was a bit put off the idea after this nugget of info! 8O :mrgreen:

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12778
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT dip switches

Postby wongck » Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:13 am

I see that they are made in China.... so it would probably fall off. However, better quality ones from EU or US may not exhibit such problems.
I used to have a black stick on heatsink on my P3 CPU in additional to the stock heatsink & fan. That never came off, it's was made in US.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: TT dip switches

Postby Shredder11 » Fri Jul 15, 2011 10:32 am

Actually you have jogged my memory as I used to have one on an old PC too, and that never came off even in very bad heat conditions. Not sure where it was made though. Hmmm.....maybe my current P4 CPU stock cooler is like this, as I tried to fit my huge Zalman flower cooler but it would not fit tight and flush so the CPU over heated in seconds. I had to replace the stock Intel cooler which I believe is a stick on type.

User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham
Contact:

Re: TT dip switches

Postby bid » Fri Jul 15, 2011 10:53 am

Well I have taken a risk, and fixed them to the some of the chips on my Acard as its waaaaaay too hot. And I'll tell you if they fall off.

Seems pretty good to me. And I was planning on putting 4 of them on my 68030. Good clean surface there, and will wedge under the TT Ram board. There were one or two other chips, cant remember what they are for or the name, but they seem to get a bit toasty when doing intensive apps. Funny, but if I put the TT under software load, they seemed to warm up!! (I doubt that this is power management like you get in the PC, but just caused by high throughput).

I have also made some adjustments to my PSU, but much more secure, as I really want this to last. I have adjusted the air flow internally, as it was a bit poor at cooling all of the heatsinks in original configuration.
My company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com[/i][/color]

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12778
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT dip switches

Postby wongck » Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:08 pm

You're feeling the chips gets hotter now, Is it because that it is summer now in UK ?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: TT dip switches

Postby Dal » Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:10 pm

Yup been plenty of rain - it's summer alright
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

SofiST
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:25 pm

Re: TT dip switches

Postby SofiST » Fri Jul 15, 2011 2:04 pm

I added weeks ago small alu. heat on 68030 - there is not much space if you have 2MB ST RAM expansion. It is taken from dead PC motherboard's Southbridge.
Such coolers are usually pretty low, so good for TT .

User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham
Contact:

Re: TT dip switches

Postby bid » Fri Jul 15, 2011 2:23 pm

SofiST wrote:I added weeks ago small alu. heat on 68030 - there is not much space if you have 2MB ST RAM expansion. It is taken from dead PC motherboard's Southbridge. Such coolers are usually pretty low, so good for TT .

Good idea!! These chips do get hot under load and seem to be getting rarer!! Go TT!!! :D
My company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com[/i][/color]


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: umberto1st and 5 guests