Ultrasatan + Teradesk = hot swap doesn't work?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Ultrasatan + Teradesk = hot swap doesn't work?

Postby AtariSince1989 » Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:54 pm

I have created another boot 2GB SD card. I have noticed that in this new SD card, the hot swaping is working perfect. I haven't installed Teradesk in this one.

Anybody can confirm that maybe is there a problem on Teradesk? Thanks a lot.
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/
User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Ultrasatan + Teradesk = hot swap doesn't work?

Postby Jookie » Thu Nov 19, 2009 7:21 am

So both cards are hot swapping fine in TOS, but under Teradesk it doesn't work?
User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia

Re: Ultrasatan + Teradesk = hot swap doesn't work?

Postby AtariSince1989 » Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:44 pm

Jookie wrote:So both cards are hot swapping fine in TOS, but under Teradesk it doesn't work?

Hmm, haven't tried both :P I have one always plugged. I'll try and let you know, but yes, basically looks like on Teradesk I have problems to recognise the SD when I plug again.
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/
User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Ultrasatan + Teradesk = hot swap doesn't work?

Postby AtariSince1989 » Thu Nov 19, 2009 7:01 pm

Jookie wrote:So both cards are hot swapping fine in TOS, but under Teradesk it doesn't work?

Damn! I'm testing now, and does not detect the hot swap in either Teradesk or TOS :cry: I guess, we can say that it's an intermittent issue?
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/
User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Ultrasatan + Teradesk = hot swap doesn't work?

Postby pterodactyl » Thu Nov 19, 2009 7:21 pm

I'm using Teradesk 4.01 with my STE under TOS 2.06 and it does not appear to detect the swap but then I'm using a card formatted in the original SatanDisk. I'll try formatting a card using UltraSatanDisk and reportback. Ideally what I would like to do is use the second slot as a 1 partion swapping drive, leaving the first drive with three partions as a bootable 'hard disk'.

Is anyone doing this presently with success?
User avatar
pterodactyl
Atari freak
Atari freak
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:41 pm

Re: Ultrasatan + Teradesk = hot swap doesn't work?

Postby Jookie » Fri Nov 20, 2009 8:09 am

AtariSince1989 wrote:Damn! I'm testing now, and does not detect the hot swap in either Teradesk or TOS :cry: I guess, we can say that it's an intermittent issue?


pterodactyl, AtariSince1989: What TOS version do you have? What driver are you using? Does the LED near the SD card slot blink for a short while when you insert the card into the empty slot when UltraSatan is turned on?

pterodactyl, the hot swap feature does not depend on the device used for formating and partitioning of the card, so it should work just fine with that card formated in SatanDisk.
User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia

Re: Ultrasatan + Teradesk = hot swap doesn't work?

Postby AtariSince1989 » Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:16 am

Jookie wrote:
AtariSince1989 wrote:Damn! I'm testing now, and does not detect the hot swap in either Teradesk or TOS :cry: I guess, we can say that it's an intermittent issue?


pterodactyl, AtariSince1989: What TOS version do you have? What driver are you using? Does the LED near the SD card slot blink for a short while when you insert the card into the empty slot when UltraSatan is turned on?

pterodactyl, the hot swap feature does not depend on the device used for formating and partitioning of the card, so it should work just fine with that card formated in SatanDisk.

Jookie, I have TOS 2.06, I'm using ICD PRO and the LED indeed blinks on the USD. Also, sometimes (not always) a weird message (I don't remember what exactly says) appears at the top right (where the menu is located) of the screen.
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/
User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Ultrasatan + Teradesk = hot swap doesn't work?

Postby wongck » Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:34 am

AtariSince1989 wrote:Also, sometimes (not always) a weird message (I don't remember what exactly says) appears at the top right (where the menu is located) of the screen.

Check that if that's the sense code error.
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10706
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Ultrasatan + Teradesk = hot swap doesn't work?

Postby AtariSince1989 » Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:33 pm

The message is like that: (MSence: $3f (0,0))

which Nikolas/Ego reported here, and Jookie said

Jookie wrote:This looks like SCSI code from UltraSatan, or to be exact, it looks like 'SCSI_ASC_INQUIRY_data_has_changed' (defined in scsiDefs.h) - this should tell the disk driver that the media change has occured and that it should read again some media informations, FAT tables (or discard the current FAT cache content) - works OK with HDDRIVER. Might happen after card removal / replacement / hot-swap. You won't see that with HDDRIVER.


But as I said, this message doesn't appear always.
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/
User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Ultrasatan + Teradesk = hot swap doesn't work?

Postby pterodactyl » Fri Nov 20, 2009 8:24 pm

Jookie,
to answer your post I'm using HDDRIVER 8.23 with TeraDesk 4.01 on an STE. I am going to try Thing over the weekend to see how that goes.
User avatar
pterodactyl
Atari freak
Atari freak
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:41 pm


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests