TOS with 27C010 Eproms

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

kym
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:59 am
Location: Australia

TOS with 27C010 Eproms

Postby kym » Fri May 22, 2009 1:15 pm

Eprom Madness or Not?

After Looking at How people have Put various Tos Versions In 2 * 1 MB Eproms from other threads on this forum:

Here:
http://www.future-technologies.co.uk/IM ... /last/tos/
and Here:
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=16555&start=20

Thinking there Must be a better way to do this. I came up with this way.

No Bending or cutting of Eprom's Pins is required and only need to solder two wires to Eprom's.
First Burn the Eprom's with the required Tos Version ( 1.00,1.02 or 1.04)
Having already been split into 2 seperate bin files.

(1) Solder a wire from Pin 1 of each Eprom to Pins 30,31 and 32 of the same eprom.
(2) Solder a short Piece of wire to Pin 2 of the L0-Eprom then to Pin 2 of the H0 Eprom, connecting
them together and leaving a short piece of wire hanging off of the H0 Eprom
(3) Plug the eprom's into sockets H-0 and L0-0 on the atari making sure the over hanging pins do
not short out on the motherboard.
(4) Set the solder Jumpers for CE and A16 to the 1Meg position and A17 to the 256K position.
(5) Now solder the remaining wire from pin 2 of the H0 Eprom to the 1 Meg position at A17.

All done .
27C010 EPROM.PNG

STFM-27C010.PNG

Tested with Tos 1.00 and Tos 1.04 Both working.

Kym
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

kym
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:59 am
Location: Australia

Re: TOS with 27C010 Eproms

Postby kym » Sat May 23, 2009 6:04 am

A Little Picture.

RED Wire joins Pin 1 to Pin's 30,31,and 32 of each Eprom.
YELLOW wire Joins both Pin's 2 to solder Jumper A17 (1Meg Pad )

27C010.JPG


Kym
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
techie_alison
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1547
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Re: TOS with 27C010 Eproms

Postby techie_alison » Sat May 23, 2009 10:28 am

Oooh that's quite nice. :)

I'd done this before by making PCB adapters, and they don't fit under the metal shield. This looks like a better way to do it.
If I don't answer or appear to have forgotton then email again, I'm scatty! :)

http://www.logicsays.com/ = Updated Site
http://www.logicsays.com/index1 = Older Site (with more Atari)

User avatar
Nikolas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: TOS with 27C010 Eproms

Postby Nikolas » Sat May 23, 2009 11:03 am

I got 2 st comps. Was thinking to have "supertos 206" and tos 1.04. But i rlly dont need anything hier then 1.04, im playing games :)
Gj on tos mods, i like it (i was in need that like 15 years ago before i buy 386 pc..)
If you guys expirience hardware problems.
1. Always remove chips if possible before soldering.
2. Resolder your hardware, check cables too.
3. If problem continue THEN must be faulty software.

I got 2 Atari ST
Main is stfm, with blitter, with 4 meg of ram, with 16mhz cpu + s-video and audio input to videobox, vdi out
P.S.
My english may not be correct

kym
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:59 am
Location: Australia

Re: TOS with 27C010 Eproms

Postby kym » Sun May 24, 2009 2:42 am

Oooh that's quite nice. :)

techie_alison i Hope this is a bit easier for you , no need to Cut shielding. etc
Yes , a PCB is usually much neater way , but in this case only 3 wires
in total.

Just one point , Be careful when soldering the wire to the solder pad
as this not take much to lift the pad from PCB, but if this happens ,there
is a small Via on PCB just above this pad so you can solder the A17 wire to that.

Nikolas/Ego
Was thinking to have "supertos 206" and tos 1.04.

Wired like this ,you can only have Tos, 1.00 or Tos 1.02 or Tos 1.04 in eproms.
While Tos 2.06 will fit into 2 * 1 MB Eproms ,Extra addressing is required for Tos 2.06 to work.

What does SuperTos have that Tos 2.06 doesn't ?

Kym

simbo

Re: TOS with 27C010 Eproms

Postby simbo » Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:21 pm

as an extension to this here is a set of images of the u/s tos versions
1 ,1.04 , kaos , emutos256

split as needed

building similar 4Mb images is easy to do

adding two switches too 4Mb eproms as above with one extra vcc connection to the next sockets vcc pin

sorry to cough up an old topic but a good one none the less

the jpg circuit is in the attached archive
with respect to the topic creator
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

USAGI
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:09 pm

Re: TOS with 27C010 Eproms

Postby USAGI » Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:17 pm

Is this compatable with the STE?
If so where do you solder the 2 wires (from pin 2 to pad A17 & pins 1/32 to VCC)?

simbo

Re: TOS with 27C010 Eproms

Postby simbo » Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:21 pm

too use with an ste you can follow the guide viewtopic.php?f=74&t=17059
in the guides section

greenious also offers a guide there

i made one for a member earlier today for his ste chips have
tos 1.62 tos 2.06 supertos and tos 2.05 spanish
works the same way with pullups and three wires to the switches {shared ground}

as for this method used to connect pins at this post

this is used becouse the st/fm series uses 28pin chips
ste uses 32 pin eproms or otp roms or
28pin atari type roms{custom pinout like many atari chips are}


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests