CONSTRUCT PC STYLE SVGA/VGA INTERLINK CABLE/ADAPTER'S FOR ST

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, Moderator Team

CONSTRUCT PC STYLE SVGA/VGA INTERLINK CABLE/ADAPTER'S FOR ST

Postby k-tronik » Tue Oct 21, 2003 8:48 am

Hi all,

This shematic was posted recently, by the man himself...Hallvard Tangeraas...it look's great!!

It has adjustable colour pots, red, green, blue or anything in between, man you could use a 21" monitor in bright orange on your ST/e!!! :twisted:

Cubase would look sick!! 8)

Enjoy

http://www.notator.org/contributions/st_vga.zip
User avatar
k-tronik
Atariator
Atariator
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 4:52 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Postby Zorro 2 » Tue Oct 21, 2003 10:20 am

I join this :roll:
Member of NoExtra Team
User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 2125
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)

Postby manicx » Tue Oct 21, 2003 10:53 am

So is this actually a scandoubler that syncs up the ST display to >31KHz?
Image
User avatar
manicx
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby k-tronik » Tue Oct 21, 2003 11:09 am

Hi,

sorry I just find & make the stuff, you need to ask Hallvard...here's the info he has with the schematic...

compatible with any standard VGA or SVGA monitor (must be able to handle 35.7 KHz horizontal/71.2 Hz vertical) including LCD flatscreen, large monitors, screen projectors etc.

Using the Atari ST with a standard PC (VGA/SVGA) monitor
--------------------------------------------------------

This text file along with the accompanying illustrations shows you how to
make a cable allowing a standard PC monitor to be used with with your Atari
ST in "ST high" mode (640x400 pixels, black/white).

The two illustrations are supplied in various formats so that they can be
viewed (and printed) on any computer, be it an Atari ST, PC, Mac etc.:

vga_16.gif 16 colour GIF (connection diagram)
vga_2.img Black/white IMG (connection diagram)

resistor.gif 16 colour GIF (trimmer illustration)
res_2.img Black/white IMG (trimmer illustration)



Overview and features
---------------------
First of all, make sure your PC monitor is able to handle
the Atari ST's frequencies which are as follows:

35.7 KHz horizontal
71.2 Hz vertical

Most modern PC monitors are able to handle this, but please check
with the monitor's user manual before connecting it to the Atari ST.

A couple of common misunderstandings which need to be cleared up:

a) You don't get a bigger desktop (e.g. more room for windows, icons etc.).
The WHOLE picture just gets bigger. Imagine looking at the small
Atari monitor with a magnifying glass.

b) You don't get a colour picture even though the PC monitor is able to
display colour. The Atari ST isn't capable of displaying high-resolution
colour. You can however choose to have the COMPLETE picture shown in a
particular colour if you wish (using variable resistors/trimmers to
fine tune the output).

- Any number of PC monitors can be used (as long as the frequency
specifications are met): large screen, flat LCD displays, projectors etc.
- Audio can be connected to a PC multimedia speaker set, amplifier or
the monitor itself, provided it has a speaker
- If the user wants to, the cable can be made to allow for colour adjustments
meaning that the picture can either be black/white like the Atari ST monitor,
blue, green, yellow, orange, red or anything in between!



Parts list
----------
Description Amount
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
- 4 pin (or more) screened cable 2 metres (or any desired length)
7mm diameter
- 13 pin DIN (male) connector 1
- 15 pin HD D-sub (female) connector 1
(HD=high density)
- 47 Ohm resistors (small) 3 (for black/white display)
or...
100 Ohm trimmer resistors (miniature) 3 (for colour adjustable display)
(as small as you can get. They will
have to fit inside the 15 pin connector!)


... and if you want to add audio output (using the monitor's speaker or
external multimedia speakers:

- 1 (or 2) pin screened cable 2 metres (or any desired length)
4mm diameter
- 3.5mm stereo jack socket 1 (if using multimedia speakers)
or...
3.5mm stereo jack plug 1 (if using monitor's speaker)



Building instructions
---------------------
Refer to the connection diagrams while reading the instructions here to
get the full story:

1) Cut the video (and audio if needed) cables to the length(s) you need
and prepare them so they can be soldered to the connectors.

2) Slide the cables through the connector hoods.
It's not much fun realizing that you've forgotten them after having spent
a lot of time making perfect solder connections to the wire ends!

3) Connect the common ground pins of the 15-pin HD D-sub connector together
as shown in the wiring diagram (pins 4,5,6,7,8,10 and 11). I've personally
found it most practical to cut off unused ends of resistors or capacitors
for this.

4) Connect pins 4 and 13 (13-pin DIN connector) together.
This is best done with a small wire.

5) a) Solder the three resistors to pins 1,2 and 3 of the 15-pin HD D-sub
connector if you want a fixed black/white display (works fine for
most people).
Continue by connecting the common ends together.
or.....

b) Solder one end each trimmer resistor to pins 1,2 and 3 of
the 15-pin HD D-sub connector if you want to be able to adjust the
output colour/level of the display (for those of you who like to
have options).
Continue by connecting the common ends together.
Solder the unused ends to the wiper pin of each trimmer.

6) Connect the wires of the 13-pin DIN and 15 pin HD D-sub connectors
together as shown in the connection diagram. It might be a good
idea to solder the middle pins of the connectors first as they'll
be harder to reach once other wires have been soldered to the outer
pins:

13-pin DIN 15 pin HD D-sub
-----------------------------------------------
Pin 9 (Hsync) Pin 13 (Hsync)
Pin 12 (Vsync) Pin 14 (Vsync)
Pin 4/13 (Ground) Pin 4/5/6/7/8/10/11 (Ground)

7) Connect the wire end from pin 11 (13-pin DIN connector) to the common
ends of the resistor (or trimmer) array.

8) If you want audio output, connect of the wire-end pairs to the 13-pin
DIN connector, and the other to the 3.5mm jack.
The Atari ST audio output is in mono, but since the other end
(speakers in monitor or stand-alone multimedia speakers) will most likely
handle stereo audio you will need to connect the signal wire to both
left and right sides in the jack connector.
Depending on what kind of connector is at the other end you will need
either a jack connector or a jack socket.

9) Check all your connections. If you have someone impartial around,
let him/her check as well.

10) Don't slide the connector hoods over the connectors just yet, but
try it all out first.
You should get the same display as you've always been getting.
You might have to adjust the monitor as the display might have shifted
to one or the other side of the monitor. Nothing to worry about.
If you've chosen to go for the trimmer version of the cable, try adjusting
each trimmer so that you get the colour you want.

11) If everything seems to be working the way it should you can disconnect
the cable (keep in mind that the Atari ST reboots every time that end of
the cable is removed) and finalize the project by sliding the hoods in
place, over the connectors and assembling the 15 pin HD D-sub connector's
housing.
Make sure that no wires short circuit. Use insulating tape between wires
and connection pins if necessary.



Good luck!



Hallvard Tangeraas, Oslo, Norway
30-September-2003
User avatar
k-tronik
Atariator
Atariator
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 4:52 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

St to VGA in *colour*

Postby Ragstaff » Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:14 pm

So, it is "only" a monochrome adaptor. They're still useful!
You can buy Mario Becrofts' pre-made version for £13.00 or €19,50 in the UK from 1632 systems:
http://www.1632-sales.zenwebhosting.com/acatalog/index.html?http%3A//www.1632-sales.zenwebhosting.com/acatalog/Mario_Becroft_Hardware_Projects.html&CatalogBody

Although making your own is cool :-)

Now......... as for *colour* on an S/VGA/LCD screen, I refer to a post of mine on atari.org a month or so ago....

http://forums.atari.org/read.php3?num=3&id=12611&loc=0&thread=12611
User avatar
Ragstaff
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Melbourne Australia

Postby simbo » Tue Jan 13, 2004 12:09 am

simbo
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
 
Posts: 3499
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 10:26 pm

Postby Dark Willow » Fri Mar 12, 2004 11:01 am

easy way around the hi res only problem, have an SVGA monitor, and a portable TV as well ;)
TT030, 10mb/16mb, VanillaMint, 240mb Quantum HD, EtherNEC, Epson GT Scanner | 1040STe, 4mb, TOS 1.62, MegaFile 60, SatanDisk, SM125 | Lynx II | 800XL, 64k, 1050 disk drive, XC12 tape deck, MicroLink parallel adapter

Read all about it!
User avatar
Dark Willow
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:59 am
Location: North West, UK

Postby Dark Willow » Fri Mar 12, 2004 11:09 am

ragstaff, I'd be interested in buying one of these adaptors, 25GBP is fair enough if it allows colour. Does it do hi res as well, or just color? Am in UK here.
TT030, 10mb/16mb, VanillaMint, 240mb Quantum HD, EtherNEC, Epson GT Scanner | 1040STe, 4mb, TOS 1.62, MegaFile 60, SatanDisk, SM125 | Lynx II | 800XL, 64k, 1050 disk drive, XC12 tape deck, MicroLink parallel adapter

Read all about it!
User avatar
Dark Willow
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:59 am
Location: North West, UK

Postby Ragstaff » Mon Mar 15, 2004 9:18 am

Dark Willow,
No, it doesn't do hi-rez, just colour on SVGA.

I didn't get the biggest response to that offer, and also, these boxes have become more wide-spread and cheaper since back when I "discovered" them, so I wonder if people need me to buy in bulk anymore...

I can't really get them much cheaper in bulk - they're for sale in europe for 40 euros in various places...
User avatar
Ragstaff
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Melbourne Australia

Postby Dark Willow » Sat Apr 03, 2004 11:52 am

hmm, so it would be possible to have this cable, and also the std. mono atari - SVGA cable, and just reboot and swap them over when you want to change between them? My monitor is a bulky (and incredibly heavy) 17" CRT unit so it would make life easier if I didn't have ot have a portable TV there with it too.
TT030, 10mb/16mb, VanillaMint, 240mb Quantum HD, EtherNEC, Epson GT Scanner | 1040STe, 4mb, TOS 1.62, MegaFile 60, SatanDisk, SM125 | Lynx II | 800XL, 64k, 1050 disk drive, XC12 tape deck, MicroLink parallel adapter

Read all about it!
User avatar
Dark Willow
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:59 am
Location: North West, UK

Postby manicx » Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:20 am

Guys, I am having a question. I have a scandoubler for the Amiga. It basically doubles the rate to 31Khz to display it in normal VGA monitors. If I make a cable that connects to the Atari's STE video port and gets a Amiga style video port as out, and connect the scandoubler there, will this work? I think it will since both Amiga and ST share the same syncs. In this way, I will be able to connect a STE to any SVGA monitor easily.
Image
User avatar
manicx
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby NikiforosST » Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:09 am

Hi! i have do this with my TFT 15'' monitor without registors or trimmers and i have very good monochrome picture 640x480 to 72.4hz! but is the high resolution and with options on my TFT for RGB i can make the picture green, blue or red!!! I believe that a scan doubler must can atari to work on TFT or CRT SVGA-XGA 31.50khz+ monitors because atari has 15.75khz and scan doubler rights the signal twice at 31.5khz. There are scan doublers? and how much do they cost?
NikiforosST
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:04 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby manicx » Mon Mar 07, 2005 7:49 am

Aii! Another Greek in the forums. I think there are some scandoublers but should be rather expensive. However, there are some tools on the PC that lets you input the image through the video-in in your video card and output on the monitor. Only thing is that your PC should be working. I have a scandoubler for the Amiga and I intend to make a cable to connect the Amiga's RGB 23pin socket to the ST so that I can plug in this to my ST. I had some problems finding a 23pin socket but I found 3 a few days ago.
Image
User avatar
manicx
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: St to VGA in *colour*

Postby unseenmenace » Mon Mar 07, 2005 8:42 am

Ragstaff wrote:Now......... as for *colour* on an S/VGA/LCD screen, I refer to a post of mine on atari.org a month or so ago....

http://forums.atari.org/read.php3?num=3&id=12611&loc=0&thread=12611

I am interested in one of them scan doublers mate. Can you still get them or tell me where I could order one from? Also any idea if these or any other similar items that are available can take an RGB signal and convert it to VGA rather than using the Composite Video signal?


manicx wrote:I have a scandoubler for the Amiga. It basically doubles the rate to 31Khz to display it in normal VGA monitors

I'm pretty sure that would work on an ST mate since they have the same RGB signal spec as far as I know. At least any monitor that can display RGB from an ST will also do it with an Amiga..
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com
User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1958
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK

Postby NikiforosST » Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:23 pm

There is another good solution!!! it must be work, but we must make a wire from atari 13pin RGB to 15pin VGA connector. Look this site: http://www.averm.co.uk/avermedia/aver/p ... asp?show=3 They have DB15 connector RGB and other video connectors. They are very good solution but here they have a lot of money 80-150 eyro. Look here http://www.plaisio.gr/IWCatProductPage. ... &sts_cid=3
NikiforosST
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:04 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby kkallio » Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:36 pm

SoftHut is about the only company in the world still selling Amiga stuff. They have some external scan doublers on their list as well:
http://www.softhut.com/video.html

Also conveters.tv has some external converters for this task:
http://www.converters.tv/search_converters.html

There is a wealth of converters available for modern game consoles and home theaters. Note however that the converter must be able to handle RGB output of Atari as its input. Most of the converters don't have RGB input at all, or only have input for VGA level RGB signal (thus providing only a VGA passthrough, not really conversion).
Lance / Aggression
kkallio
Atari User
Atari User
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 7:51 pm
Location: Finland

Postby NikiforosST » Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:26 pm

Yes, i agree with you, these i said before don't have RGB input at all!
NikiforosST
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:04 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby manicx » Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:56 am

kkallio wrote:SoftHut is about the only company in the world still selling Amiga stuff.


Actually, there are many active Amiga retailers in the word. Vesalia is one of the most active ones.
Image
User avatar
manicx
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby kkallio » Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:58 am

I have had some e-mail conversation with converters.tv, and their product "RGB, CGA to VGA Converter (640 x 480)" should work with atari.
http://www.converters.tv/products/conve ... rs/41.html

It's a PCB, so you'd need some DIY spirit, but on the other hand, it's perfect for those who have re-cased their machine.

For those who wish an external box, model "15K RGB Composite Sync to XGA Converter" should work.
http://www.converters.tv/products/conve ... s/100.html

I'm not completely sure about the composite sync part with this however... The video out of Atari has pins for horizontal and vertical sync, and composite sync may be available from composite video pin. However, there are differences with composite video output with models that have TV modulator and models that don't have it. (My 1040 STf doesn't display color while my 520 STe does.) If it doesn't work, there are sync converters available for the task anyway.
Lance / Aggression
kkallio
Atari User
Atari User
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 7:51 pm
Location: Finland

Postby kkallio » Fri Mar 11, 2005 6:25 pm

manicx wrote:
kkallio wrote:SoftHut is about the only company in the world still selling Amiga stuff.


Actually, there are many active Amiga retailers in the word. Vesalia is one of the most active ones.


Yeah, I know I was exaggerating a bit. :) I just got very excellent service from SoftHut a while back when trying to find very rare SIMM modules for a GVP 030 accelerator card I have in my A2000...
Lance / Aggression
kkallio
Atari User
Atari User
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 7:51 pm
Location: Finland

fouind this one hires in pc svga /vga {from an old archive}

Postby simbo » Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:44 am

here is an old one
but a good one
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
simbo
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
 
Posts: 3499
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 10:26 pm

newbie trys soldering!

Postby worm » Mon Apr 03, 2006 11:33 pm

Hi All, this might sound daft but.....

I am going to attempt to make an ST > VGA lead up. On my TFT screen, it has a 15pin female socket fitted.

Do I wire a 15pin male plug up the same as the female version, as described in the aforementioned wiring diagram/instructions? Or do I wire it the opposite way? :?

Thanks for your help (hopefully!)
worm
Atarian
Atarian
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 11:20 pm

Postby simbo » Tue Apr 04, 2006 5:02 am

view from the solder side

is exactly that
if you have a bare plug its view'd
from behind the plug where you solder the wire too

your tft should work ok
provided it supports the refresh rate
most do so best way is to wire and try

all monitors are different even some the same model work where the same model didnt

just supports more or has later firmware its self

a bit of a pick an mix
simbo
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
 
Posts: 3499
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 10:26 pm

TFT VGA lead

Postby worm » Fri Apr 14, 2006 9:57 pm

Boo! No joy on TFT screen.

Did make one up that works a treat on CRT monitor though. :D

I noticed on eBay that the only ST > VGA leads/adaptors available are from a user in Poland and a guy who's selling the adaptor only, in the UK.

Is there much call for these leads/adaptors these days?

Or do most folks make do with a compatible monitor (SM124, etc), or make there own lead/adaptor up?

Thanks.
worm
Atarian
Atarian
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 11:20 pm

Postby simbo » Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:15 am

what exactly is the symptoms on the tft problem

ie do you get no picture or no sync ???


the above is viewed from the solder side

if your stuck look at the plug its self it has numbers beside each pin
or at the edges of rows beleve it or not

and using a mag glass if like me your getting old helps
simbo
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
 
Posts: 3499
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 10:26 pm

Next

Return to Guides

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests