3 bombs / address error

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

boombang
Atarian
Atarian

3 bombs / address error

Postby boombang » Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:21 pm

Hello all
I was recently given an Atari 520ST
I have no experience with them at all but I would like to get it running and experiment with using it for midi sequencing.
Anyway, on first power up, the floppy drive was making a nasty noise, so i opened it up and found that the rubber band was quite slack, so i replaced that and it seemed to slove the noise problem.
When i try to load a game from a disk on power up though it just displays three bombs, or sometimes loads up GEM, The floppy drive does seem to be reading the disks though because i can view the files of most disks in GEM.
Any help would be much appreciated
thanks

simbo

Re: 3 bombs / address error

Postby simbo » Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:45 am

is this the disks for it

the 520ST some was supplied with just a single sided drive 320k size later ones with 720k double sided

if the program wants the other side or the disk is too big as the machine will still read what files is on the disk then eeek...
also check that you seated the header back to it right and also for any bent pins
you may need to source a later drive or look for an external one on ebay
and fit is drive into your machine
i recently got two nice floppy drives from an old amstrad laptop brick

boombang
Atarian
Atarian

Postby boombang » Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:20 pm

Thanks for the reply Simbo
I’ve check the manual and it states that the 520ST uses single-sided, double density; 135 tracks per inch. It also states that the maximum storage capacity is 360kb per disk. The disks I have used to test it are original st game disks, captain blood, street fighter, weird dreams and more. All seem to be in good condition