Falcon 030 battery issues

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], moondog/.tSCc., lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
geoanas
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 5:42 am
Location: Greece
Contact:

Falcon 030 battery issues

Postby geoanas » Sun Oct 15, 2006 8:49 am

Hi all !
I have a Falcon 030 which has a dead battery.(no more clock :cry: )
I am wondering about the potential dangers by leaving the dead battery unchanged.Could it leak and damage vital chips (like A3000 motherboards) ? Does it affect basic computer's operations ?
The internal Conner HD seems to be dead (so it's been removed).Is it a dead battery consequence which affects BIOS operation ?
Hddriver 8.13 doesn't recognised it either.
My Falcon boots up from an external SCSI NEC HD whith Hddriver v8.13, whithout any problem.
Thanks for reading
George

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2156
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby christos » Sun Oct 15, 2006 11:53 am

Falcon's battery is located within a chip, a DS12887 pin compatible one. If you have the technical know how or know someone who does it should be fairly easy to replace it. Mine is out of battery for about a year, so far no leeks. Having a falcon without the NVRAM battery though is a real bummer so it is best to replace it.
Search the forum for detailed guides about what you can do.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

Paolo
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 3:43 pm
Location: Italy

Postby Paolo » Sun Oct 15, 2006 3:40 pm

The guide, along with lots of comments, is right at the top of this forum, as a pinned message

User avatar
geoanas
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 5:42 am
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby geoanas » Sun Oct 15, 2006 4:00 pm

Thank you both !
Yes I did noticed the post but I think is a real pain 8O to change the battery (with a high risk to damage the chip), so I decided to leave it as is.
What is the greatest peril ? Leave the battery or to attempt an operation ? :roll:

I really hate these Dallas chips.I encoutered them is some arcade boards (CPS1,SEGAs system 16) and I ended to change the whole rom set with a new (hacked) one.These are called suicide batteries, because when the battery dies it erases the BIOS' data and destroy the arcade pcb as well :evil:

User avatar
karlm
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 712
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:09 am
Location: Top of the World - Australia

Postby karlm » Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:26 pm

a much better idea is to replace the dallas chip totally. this is more easily done, and the replacement chips can be obtained for free.

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=8546&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=dallas+clock+chip&start=15

just make sure that you get the 'A' version, the non 'A' version doesn't seem to be able to be cleared electronically.

cheers

karlm

Paolo
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 3:43 pm
Location: Italy

Postby Paolo » Mon Oct 16, 2006 7:39 pm

I can assure you that changing this bad guy is a walk in the park.

Just be sure to have the right tools near you:
Soldering iron
the tinier cutting tool (scissors-like) you can get OR
a handheld vacuum pump to suck melted tin.

I made the mistake to buy the pump after I already cut the pins, and I understand that it could have been better to avoid cutting at all.

Ah, well... it took me some ten minutes more to do the job.

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1130
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Postby Marakatti » Tue Oct 31, 2006 10:29 am

Tried to order a sample too and week later i've got two chips, thanks a lot for your tip Karlm
Admin of http://www.atarimania.com ST / Falcon section.
-- Slowed down a bit my Atarimania activies due to family reasons, will be back at full throttle when time allows --

User avatar
FujiMan
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 3:34 pm
Location: Elburn, IL 60119 USA
Contact:

Falcon batteries

Postby FujiMan » Sat Dec 30, 2006 7:29 pm

Hi all,

I have 2 dead batteries, and decided to see if I could remove the internal batteries and replace them with a external battery. They were both ST MK48T878-24 SRAM batteries. I cracked them open to see how things worked (before seeing Didier M's page). Below is a picture (albeit, a bad one) of the inner workings. One end has tabs for the oscillator (nearest pin 1), the other end, the battery.

The first one I removed nearly everything to see what was hooked up. It took about 20 minutes to carefully remove the potted part.

The second I only removed the battery part. This one only took about 5 minutes.

The saw works wonders. After cutting the chip in the middle, pry the top part (where the battery and oscillator are) and remove battery side. Carefully removing the remainder of the epoxy with the pliers and jewelers screwdriver. Solder connector using pliers. LOL. not fingers...

For tools:

saw - http://www.sciplus.com/category.cfm?sub ... tegory=129
Jewelers Screwdriver - http://www.homedepot.com/prel80/HDUS/EN ... =100074336
klein d305-6 pliers - http://www.mytoolstore.com/klein/d304-6.html

very fine tip soldering iron and small header for battery connection. If you squint you can see the small header to the right of the chip.

Attached is the picture of the two chips...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:08 pm

Nice work on your DIY nvram cell FujiMan.

going to put a link on the pinned topic to this msg.
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

anachore
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 2:28 pm

Re: Falcon 030 battery issues

Postby anachore » Mon Dec 29, 2014 10:58 am

Pour Protos:
As-tu perso déjà changé ces batteries?
Si oui, je loge entre toi et Toulouse, et aurais besoin d'encouragement pour mes travaux en cours (sur Falcon bien sûr).
Cordialement,

simbo2
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2044
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 7:07 pm
Location: Glasgow Scotland

Re: Falcon 030 battery issues

Postby simbo2 » Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:50 am

superb !!!!!
nice drill work


it just gets better

we need too pool all the answers and photos into one group

all the posts etc

hahaha not my job now... hehe

lol:) :coffe:

BUT

the problem is the IC will fail after 50,000 flashes + ? time and nuternos .. etc

so is it better to just replace it with one already modded chip {new!!! ic remove the cell add wires}
as you can get a new chip free!!!
and not to mod a well used one???

i think if your going to replace just the battery do it

as you can use the chip till it dies
and fails to keep time
then replace the chip with a modded one

the trick here is too buy up 50 chips and mod them
remove totally the cell add the wires and cell holder
xtal etc
then mothball them in a lead case

then you have a 50,000 flash ic
even after the fallout,,, :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:
Put an atari computer in your life and you will have a nice quiet time


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron