how do i make spin use my HP CDWriter?

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
tssn
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:29 am
Location: Gudumholm / Denmark
Contact:

how do i make spin use my HP CDWriter?

Postby tssn » Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:07 pm

Can anyone tell me how to configurate SPIN! to use a HP CDWriter 9200. (SCSI)
It's connected to my computer with a AdSCSI card. And i use HDDriver.

Sarek
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 374
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 12:30 pm

Postby Sarek » Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:24 pm

I don't know much about cd-writers on the ST, but the obvious problem is transfer rate. Unlike saving to hard disks, cd-writers require data to be shifted faster than the disc write speed, and to be safe, around twice the speed in order to have time to do error-correction, etc. I would expect some cd-writers to use obscure protocols/control-codes too.

I don't remember which model this is - is it circa 1999?

Using it as a cd-reader should be no problem - I believe cd-rom drivers are included on the install disks as standard.

My advice is probably to avoid it - read/write to hard disk. To create a cdr, copy from that hard disk to your PC, and use the PC to burn onto cd. It is probably quicker too.

User avatar
tssn
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:29 am
Location: Gudumholm / Denmark
Contact:

Postby tssn » Fri Jul 28, 2006 9:11 am

jep, the drive is from september 1999. I was hoping to use the CDWriter to backup a "new" harddisk

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Fri Jul 28, 2006 7:17 pm

1/ find the scsi or asci ID for the cdrw

2/ put on your auto folder:
METADOS.PRG,
CONFIG.SYS,
SPIN_SD.BOS,
ISO9660F.DOS (from metados package)

3/ edit the CONFIG.SYS on any asci editor

Code: Select all

; Beispielkonfiguration f￾r SPIN!

; CD-ROMs auf SCSI 4 (8 + 4 = 12) und ACSI 5
*BOS, c:\auto\spin_sd.bos, A:12, B:5

; als logische Laufwerke S: und T: installieren
*DOS, c:\auto\iso9660f.dos, S:A, T:B


in this exemple we have 2 cdrom, one on scsi ID 4 and one on asci ID 5

- for scsi : scsi ID + 8 = metados/spin ID (here scsi ID 4 + 8 = 12 as drive A)
- for the asci : asci ID = metados/spin ID (here asci ID 5 = 5 as drive B)

after assign the drive letter, in this exemple we have 2 cdrom on letter S and T on the desk

- for the scsi/drive A > S
- for the asci/drive B > T

4/ another exemple
we are going to conf a cdrom on scsi ID 1 and I whant as the drive F on the desk

scsi ID + 8 = metados/spin ID => here scsi ID 1 + 8 = 9 as drive A
drive A > F

logic ;)

now the config.sys for this

Code: Select all

*BOS, c:\auto\spin_sd.bos, A:9
*DOS, c:\auto\iso9660f.dos, F:A


if you need more help just ask, I use and conf metados/spin! for years now :)
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2188
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby DrCoolZic » Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:42 pm

Stupid question:

Assuming you have

Code: Select all

*BOS, c:\auto\spin_sd.bos, Z:3
*DOS, c:\auto\iso9660f.dos, R:Z


How do you install an CD icon on the desktop to be able to open it to access files?

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Sat Nov 25, 2006 7:57 pm

gem menu:

option
¦
+------- install device
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: how do i make spin use my HP CDWriter?

Postby Shredder11 » Mon Oct 13, 2008 10:31 pm

I'm hoping to use my old Plextor 8432Ti (made in early 2000) ATAPI IDE writer as a slave device, which can burn at 1x upwards and I believe that an ordinary ST can manage 2x writing. So what do I need to enter in the config.sys file or any other file for that matter. Second question is........do I need SPIN! or will the other software I have downloaded below be enough?

I've downloaded some software from the keilis ftp server and hopefully some of it will work for me; CD-Recorder v2.36 (1998)(Sound Pool).zip, CD-Tools v1.04 (1994-03-12)(Hard&Soft).zip, ExtenDOS Pro v2.4 (1996)(Burrows, Roger).zip, HDDRIVER v8.16. I'd love to find CD Writer Suite v4 by Anodyne though.

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: how do i make spin use my HP CDWriter?

Postby Shredder11 » Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:00 am

Blimey! I have just been browsing through some of the ftp sites mentioned in another thread on here, and I have found Anodyne CD Writer Suite v3.2 along with ExtenDOS v3.3D and many other stuff! It seems to be all cracked by the Elite group.

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 882
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: how do i make spin use my HP CDWriter?

Postby jfl » Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:23 pm

Shredder11 wrote:I'd love to find CD Writer Suite v4 by Anodyne though.

You can find it quite easily on their website and buy it.
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: how do i make spin use my HP CDWriter?

Postby Shredder11 » Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:49 pm

jfl wrote:
Shredder11 wrote:I'd love to find CD Writer Suite v4 by Anodyne though.

You can find it quite easily on their website and buy it.


True but I have no idea if any of this is going to work yet, plus the prices are too high when it could end up being useless.

User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: how do i make spin use my HP CDWriter?

Postby bullis1 » Thu Oct 16, 2008 12:42 pm

Shredder11 wrote:
jfl wrote:
Shredder11 wrote:I'd love to find CD Writer Suite v4 by Anodyne though.

You can find it quite easily on their website and buy it.


True but I have no idea if any of this is going to work yet, plus the prices are too high when it could end up being useless.

If one of the older versions you've found works, and you like it, you should buy the latest one. You can always email Anodyne and ask if their software should work with your setup.
Member of the Atari Legend team

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: how do i make spin use my HP CDWriter?

Postby Shredder11 » Thu Oct 16, 2008 3:40 pm

Yep thanks bullis1 :)

User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: how do i make spin use my HP CDWriter?

Postby bullis1 » Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:01 pm

Shredder11 wrote:Yep thanks bullis1 :)

We get it, you don't want to pay. That's okay and I don't blame you but the old version will be fine for your needs. If I understand correctly the newer versions mainly added support for DVD-specific things, as well as more backup options.
Member of the Atari Legend team

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: how do i make spin use my HP CDWriter?

Postby Shredder11 » Thu Oct 16, 2008 5:45 pm

No I would pay providing the benefits outweigh the cost, which is rare I grant you but it happens.....sometimes! Anyway as you say, the older version may be perfectly adequate for my setup.


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests