Can anyone make 16-bit IMG Files?

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
Crash
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:12 pm

Can anyone make 16-bit IMG Files?

Postby Crash » Wed Jun 01, 2005 11:06 am

Greetings,

I'm trying to find a way to convert an image into a 16-Bit IMG (~65,000 colors). All of the programs that I have tried to 1-256 colors, or 24-bit, but no 16-Bit.

Can anyone suggest a program that can create or convert to 16-Bit IMG?

Thanks!

User avatar
ggn
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1258
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 4:49 pm

Postby ggn » Wed Jun 01, 2005 12:32 pm

It would be helpful if you mentioned the programs you used, so we won't waste too many replies on this subject.

Anyway, if you haven't tried them yet, I can think of:
Imagecopy 4 (ST)
Paint Shop Pro (PC)
nconvert (ST/PC)
Xnview (PC)
is 73 Falcon patched atari games enough ? ^^

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1771
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Postby Cyprian » Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:46 pm

You can exclude Xnview, because it not support 16bit graphics

User avatar
keili
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: Germany, near Leer
Contact:

Postby keili » Wed Jun 01, 2005 7:12 pm

And also exclude Paint Shop Pro, only 1, 4 8 and 24 bits are supported.

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:44 pm

have you try GemView or Vision
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
Crash
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:12 pm

Postby Crash » Thu Jun 02, 2005 12:04 am

Greetings,

From what I can tell with either of those, 16-Bit (X)IMG is not offered. Gemview seemed only to convert true-color to true-color (24-Bit) while Vision offered only up to 8-bit for (X)IMG.

Perhaps what I'm trying to do is impossible?

I'm hoping to put a 16-Bit IMG on the desktop, since almost all of the desktop background / wallpaper programs use IMG format, and I am running in 640x480 in 16-Bit color.

So far I or others have tried:

Gemview
Vision
Papillon
True Paint
True Image
Imagecopy4
Photoline
Positive Image
DAs Picture

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Thu Jun 02, 2005 1:19 am

they have also to try:
studio convert
ftp://ftp.funet.fi/pub/atari/graphics/studio_c.lzh
Picollo (free) using M&E sys
http://eric.dacunha.free.fr/ME_GB.HTM
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
Crash
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:12 pm

Postby Crash » Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:17 am

Studio Convert appears only to convert to 1-Bit monochrome IMG.

Piccolo does seem to support 16-Bit IMG, but so far all of my results end up as a 65000 color grayscale. I just noticed that the website indicates the JPEG decoder converts to grayscale until I register.

Thanks you for all of your help!

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:21 pm

on more try ? ;)

Nconvert.ttp using the GUI Xconvert
http://www.beninde.net/xconvert_index.html
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
Crash
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:12 pm

Postby Crash » Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:44 pm

I'll definitely have a look at that, although I was able to make the necessary conversion with Piccolo. A registration was required for JPG, but not for other formats so I used Imagecopy to convert the image to TGA or TIF or something before using Piccolo to convert to a 16-Bit IMG. Imagecopy confirms the IMG now has a 65535 color palette, and the file size was much smaller.

So, with this I finally could test several of the programs to see if they would accept this as a desktop background / wallpaper. Unfortunately, it seems that Deskpic and Jinnee only accept up to 256 colors, and Picdesk does not allocate enough memory for a 640x480 true color image. I can get a 320x480 image to load (24-Bit I believe) but not the whole screen.

I suppose these programs didn't anticipate that people would have a 640x480 true color desktop :/

But now, an answer:

Didier Mequignon's Picdesk does support True Color (X)IMG files. Still, by default it allocates 500000 bytes, which is not enough for a 640x480 24-Bit (X)IMG. The answer is a small edit to the Picdesk.prg using a sector editor. I used good old Disk Doctor:

> ...since some years it's possible under a Falcon to change the size of
> this buffer (500000 bytes). This size is stored at the beginning of the
> PRG at the byte offset 32, there are normally 0007A120 (500000).
> if you have a tool for patch the PRG, it's easy. Else if the size of the
> picture is too big or the sreen format is different you can't see the file
> inside the file selector of the CPX.

To double the size to 1000000 bytes, I replaced 0007A120 with 000F4240, and success! A beautiful desktop ;)

Thanks again for all of your suggestions!

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Thu Jun 02, 2005 10:31 pm

now we whant a snapshot of your destop ;)
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
Crash
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:12 pm

Postby Crash » Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:59 am

Okay, well here is a very simple (and semi-decent) example ;) Please don't mind the Imagecopy4 window tucked away in the corner, as I wasn't sure of any better way of making a screenshot.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Postby 030falcon030 » Sat Nov 26, 2005 11:10 pm

where do you get imagecopy4 from? Ive searched google and found nothing usefull at all.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Sun Nov 27, 2005 9:08 am

Unless its storing the image in memory in 24-bits you should only need 614400 bytes ($96000) for a 640x480 16-bit image.
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Postby 030falcon030 » Thu Jan 18, 2007 8:36 pm

Sorry to bring up an old topic.
Can you please send me this disk doctor, I want a true colour 640x480 desktop on my falcon and i have set up picdesk (I think) correctly, but whenever I boot up the falcon it just says file i/o error with the picture i want as desktop or the pictures that come with it.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Postby 030falcon030 » Fri Jan 19, 2007 4:48 pm

oh no Ive done something :? I selected the image to be wallpaper :lol: but the picture didnt show up cos wrong res and colours, I then changed to high res and true colour and tried again but now the picture cannot be seen, even though it is there.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests