Trying to get MicroCosmos CE_STING to work.

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Trying to get MicroCosmos CE_STING to work.

Postby Bikerbob » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:07 pm

Anyone available to help?

I have no idea how many microcosmos are out there.. I would like to get this working.

So far only one very old version of CAB.OVL seems to talk with the CE_STING.

What do you have working? and how?

James

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: Trying to get MicroCosmos CE_STING to work.

Postby Bikerbob » Sat Mar 16, 2019 3:37 pm

SO I have gotten basic TELNET and IRC to work .. so its really nothing wrong with the COSMOS.. only thing I am down to now is some incompatibility with the CE_STiNG and the CAB.OVL

Do the CAB.OVL need to be configured?

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: Trying to get MicroCosmos CE_STING to work.

Postby Bikerbob » Sat Mar 16, 2019 3:39 pm

Seems there are many and more programs that would work well under MagicC .. but the MicroCosmos is not a fan of Magic .. anyone know if this is being worked on?

Tillek
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:51 pm

Re: Trying to get MicroCosmos CE_STING to work.

Postby Tillek » Fri Apr 19, 2019 12:50 am

So what did you have to do to get the IRC and the TELNET to work?

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: Trying to get MicroCosmos CE_STING to work.

Postby Bikerbob » Thu Jul 25, 2019 2:09 am

It is about how each of the programs uses the STing stack. Also I was running into other issues with programs in that they were not written to run on certain OSs or some were not even written on real hardware and had all their testing and users on EMU. SO it was going back to older programs. IRC and TAZ worked. (IRC being the name of the prg) Airc I was not able to get to work because it requires a Multi TOS system to run, and that was complicating it even more for the purposes of testing. The Author of that one.. had no real hardware and had basically developed it on EMU.. it appartently works great on TT and Falcon.
I was able to get a version of CAB work as it was.. but was able to access almost nothing on the web.. there are few of any sites, espically now with the whole HTTPS revolution that CAB can even access.

James

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Trying to get MicroCosmos CE_STING to work.

Postby emcclariion » Thu Jul 25, 2019 10:40 am

So TAZ works with Sting?

any instructions how ?
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon CT60 512MB Netusb

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: Trying to get MicroCosmos CE_STING to work.

Postby Bikerbob » Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:14 am

I think I was mistaken.. I thought it was TAZ.. but looking into what I did I was not able to get TAZ to work .. TAZ has no comms layer that would convert AT command set to Telnet coms. But in another thread I see that STING source for 1.26 has been released.. so maybe now someone could write it. I dont think the ST line has a Telnet based BBS terminal.

james

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Trying to get MicroCosmos CE_STING to work.

Postby ThorstenOtto » Fri Jul 26, 2019 8:04 am

Handling AT commands is IMHO not the task of STinG. That would mean your terminal program is already talking directly to the serial interface, and that is not catched by a TCP/IP stack. If you have a linux box running in your private network, you may try looking at tcpser instead. Alternatively, you have to change your terminal program to use the TCP/IP stack itself, but for that you don't really have to change STinG.


Social Media

     

Return to “CosmosEx”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests