Ati mach 64 2mb

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby emcclariion » Sun May 19, 2019 5:06 pm

What files hold the res info? The .bib?
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon CT60 512MB Netusb

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby emcclariion » Sun May 19, 2019 5:16 pm

I am using your bib and I can get the high res, but still a white pointer I am sure its driver related
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon CT60 512MB Netusb

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby dhedberg » Sun May 19, 2019 6:07 pm

Sounds like it. Upload your drivers and I'll try them on my TT.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1759
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby frank.lukas » Sun May 19, 2019 6:47 pm

I test with a 4MB M64 32k, 64k, 24-bit and 32-bit and all works fine ...

STA_VDI.BIB.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby emcclariion » Sun May 19, 2019 7:08 pm

Dan,

They are the drivers from ideks page, just search for Atari nova drivers.

Frank I will try your .bb, but i am starting to think the card has a issue, what issue is the question...any colour depth over 2 colours produced a white square...its a pain as you cannot see it when in a open window have wait till it goes over a icon

It will drive 1440x900 at 256 colour and do 800x600 at 24b etc so its producing the colour depths the memory will allow...I did notice at 24b the mouse pointer block was purple
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon CT60 512MB Netusb

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby emcclariion » Sun May 19, 2019 7:37 pm

Right I have done some digging

https://www.x.org/releases/X11R7.5/doc/ati.html
And it seems colour depths 256 and over use hardware drawn cursor and I think this is the issue, not sure how to make it software only?
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon CT60 512MB Netusb

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1019
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby czietz » Sun May 19, 2019 7:42 pm

Did you consider asking the current author of the Nova drivers?

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby emcclariion » Sun May 19, 2019 8:14 pm

:)...last time I chatted he said he was busy with other projects idek are you there?
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon CT60 512MB Netusb

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby dhedberg » Mon May 20, 2019 11:29 pm

I can reproduce the problem with the mouse cursor (white block). It happens when I try to select a resolution requiring more than 2MB of Video RAM. Perhaps you have some faulty RAM chips on the card?
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1759
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby frank.lukas » Tue May 21, 2019 7:28 am

May be test the card in a PC ISA Board under DOS and start the mach64 utilitiy test program.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby emcclariion » Tue May 21, 2019 10:01 am

Dan,

Interesting, it drives all the resolution's i would aspect for 2mb, 1024x768 at 64k, 800x600 at 24b and your custom 1440x900 at 256, which I would assume it would just crash if there was a memory issue, if i try to drive res i know will not work like 1024x768 at 24b you get like half a screen. also Dan it does not have a Ram card, would like one as 4mb would be great.



Frank, I dont have a I86 with ISA to test, I think I will retire the card for now and go back to my 32
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon CT60 512MB Netusb

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby emcclariion » Thu May 23, 2019 8:46 am

All, I have been doing some more research and yes, the corrupted mouse pointer is due to all video memory being used.

I believe its a 2Mb, so not sure the reason as it happens in 800x600 in 256 colours which should be less than 1mb video memory.

but it depends on the driver setting how it fills up memory.

A work around would be to use sw mouse FAO Idek when you get time could you change the driver option to this.

Option "SWCursor" "true"

Has anyone gone a 2mb card for sale it would be interesting see what happens
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon CT60 512MB Netusb

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby dhedberg » Thu May 23, 2019 9:02 am

I've got a 2MB card, not for sale, but which works well on higher resolutions, so most likely your card has some hardware fault. Are any of the RAM chips getting hotter than the others?
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby emcclariion » Thu May 23, 2019 9:09 am

I will check tonight Dan, but I dont think it could be memory as it would have issues displaying 1024 x768 at 64k, but I do think there is a hardware issue
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon CT60 512MB Netusb

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby dhedberg » Thu May 23, 2019 9:37 am

True, and you get absolutely no other corruption on the screen besides the mouse cursor, right?
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby emcclariion » Thu May 23, 2019 10:11 am

Yes, its perfect no corruption at all if you are on the atari and Ste users facebook group..you will see my TT running mint and it looks Ace...

just the mouse pointer, I can use it but you cannot see the busy bee so you dont know things are working or not and it goes AWOL on whit backgrounds lol
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon CT60 512MB Netusb

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby Rustynutt » Fri May 24, 2019 5:10 am

Forget if I'd asked. Did you try using Atari mouse hardware via the Atari connection?
That should tell if the soft driver is an issue with the card without IDEK having to modify the source.

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby emcclariion » Fri May 24, 2019 7:17 am

Rusty,

Yes standard atari mouse :)
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon CT60 512MB Netusb

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby Rustynutt » Fri May 24, 2019 9:18 am

Then do you think the software change will take care of the cursor blocking?
Y'all got me :)

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby emcclariion » Fri May 24, 2019 11:12 am

yes, its due to the Match 64 doing hardware acceleration cursor/mouse pointer and there is some issue, so turning to only software should stop it
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon CT60 512MB Netusb

stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 659
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby stormy » Sun Jun 09, 2019 5:49 pm

dhedberg wrote:OK. Attached is a set of drivers and configurations. Copy it to your boot partition and try selecting the 1440x900 in 256 colors mode. It works fine on my Nova + Mach64 with 2MB (DRAM), I have note yet installed the new OGFA or made the hardware patches to restrict the VME address range on the Nova adapter.


Hey Daniel,
Just letting you know I'm very much enjoying your 1440x900 config! Was a bit difficult to sync with my display but eventually I found great settings for my Dell u2410, Pixel clock 52 Phase 3 gives me nice results.

Cheers
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby dhedberg » Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:44 pm

Glad it worked out well for you. The U2410 is an awesome monitor. I have 2 of them. :-)
1440x900 is a perfect match when it comes to its native aspect ratio (1920x1200).
Last edited by dhedberg on Sat Aug 24, 2019 10:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.

User avatar
alienkidmj12
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby alienkidmj12 » Sat Aug 24, 2019 9:57 pm

dhedberg wrote:I've got a 2MB card, not for sale, but which works well on higher resolutions, so most likely your card has some hardware fault. Are any of the RAM chips getting hotter than the others?


where did you find your 2mb module, im still looking, what part number do you have for it,

any change of a photo of the gfx card and the module ?

thanks

dave

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby dhedberg » Sat Aug 24, 2019 10:01 pm

I have a 2Mb Mach64 card but haven't found the 2Mb module for it yet.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1759
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Ati mach 64 2mb

Postby frank.lukas » Sun Aug 25, 2019 6:38 am

There are some Reseller in the US ...

Looking almost for the ATI numbers -> PN 109-26400-10

I buy mine taken from a PCI Card for 120 Canada Dollar + a lot of postage cost
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests