TT030 Thunder IDE device mounting possibilities

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1039
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

TT030 Thunder IDE device mounting possibilities

Postby dhedberg » Wed May 15, 2019 10:33 am

Hi,

So I finally found the time to install the Thunder+Storm in my TT. So now I have 64MB TT-RAM and a dual IDE CF card reader. However, I struggled with where to mount the card reader in the TT. If you have installed the Thunder and an IDE device, would you mind sharing some pictures illustrating where and how you mounted the IDE device in your TT?

Thanks,
Daniel
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.

tommo
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:00 pm

Re: TT030 Thunder IDE device mounting possibilities

Postby tommo » Wed May 15, 2019 11:15 am

I would place it under the floppy.

I have done it with a falcon.
If the inside case is like the mega-ste it would work.

The ide card-holder has two holes.
Removed the metal case around the floppy to drill 2 holes.
and skrew the card-holder under it before placing it back on the floppy.
with some placeholders (rings) you adjust the distance away from the floppy.
then make a slide-hole in the tt-case to insert the card.

Falcon with a card fully inserted. (easy grip to it out)
Image
I use it like a floppy to exthange files.

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1039
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: TT030 Thunder IDE device mounting possibilities

Postby dhedberg » Wed May 15, 2019 2:45 pm

Oh, that's really neat. I'll consider that mod to my Falcon, but now I really need to find a nice way of mounting the CF card reader in the TT. It can be completely internal without the card sticking out as I don't plan on using it for transferring files. I guess one place would be in the SCSI compartment, but then I need a longer IDE cable.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1039
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: TT030 Thunder IDE device mounting possibilities

Postby dhedberg » Thu May 16, 2019 1:28 am

Alright, found a longer IDE cable and mounted my CF card reader in the SCSI HDD compartment. Turned out great. I now have easy access to the CF cards by just lifting up that part of the top case.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.

stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 619
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: TT030 Thunder IDE device mounting possibilities

Postby stormy » Thu May 16, 2019 5:36 pm

This is mine, the CF reader is glued on top of the PSU.

IMG_20190516_183025_1.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Falcon ct60e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64 2mb // Atari STM 4160 - 4MB ram - 16Mhz exxos 1.5 booster - Ultrasatan

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1039
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: TT030 Thunder IDE device mounting possibilities

Postby dhedberg » Thu May 16, 2019 6:51 pm

That's really neat. Thanks for the picture! I didn't think there was that much free space above the PSU. My card reader is a dual one so I doubt it would fit though. BTW, does the Storm has any connector for disk activity? Would like to make use of the LED on the SCSI bay.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: TT030 Thunder IDE device mounting possibilities

Postby czietz » Thu May 16, 2019 7:58 pm

dhedberg wrote:That's really neat. Thanks for the picture! I didn't think there was that much free space above the PSU. My card reader is a dual one so I doubt it would fit though. BTW, does the Storm has any connector for disk activity? Would like to make use of the LED on the SCSI bay.


The Thunder, you mean? I've never tried it, but afaik the unpopulated connector next to the activity LED (LED2) can be used to connect an external LED: http://wiki.newtosworld.de/index.php?ti ... sion_D.jpg. Note that the activity LED is driven by the IDE device. There are some devices who simply don't signal activity.

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1039
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: TT030 Thunder IDE device mounting possibilities

Postby dhedberg » Thu May 16, 2019 10:28 pm

czietz wrote:
dhedberg wrote:That's really neat. Thanks for the picture! I didn't think there was that much free space above the PSU. My card reader is a dual one so I doubt it would fit though. BTW, does the Storm has any connector for disk activity? Would like to make use of the LED on the SCSI bay.

The Thunder, you mean? I've never tried it, but afaik the unpopulated connector next to the activity LED (LED2) can be used to connect an external LED: http://wiki.newtosworld.de/index.php?ti ... sion_D.jpg. Note that the activity LED is driven by the IDE device. There are some devices who simply don't signal activity.

Thanks! I'll look into it!
Yes, Thunder! :-) I always mix those two up for some reason.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1039
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: TT030 Thunder IDE device mounting possibilities

Postby dhedberg » Fri May 17, 2019 9:37 am

czietz wrote:The Thunder, you mean? I've never tried it, but afaik the unpopulated connector next to the activity LED (LED2) can be used to connect an external LED: http://wiki.newtosworld.de/index.php?ti ... sion_D.jpg. Note that the activity LED is driven by the IDE device. There are some devices who simply don't signal activity.

Seems like the revision of the Storm PCB that I have does not have the non-populated connector next to the activity LED, so I'll probably hijack the signal from the ribbon cable instead.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.

DoG
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:02 pm

Re: TT030 Thunder IDE device mounting possibilities

Postby DoG » Fri May 17, 2019 1:26 pm

dhedberg wrote:....Seems like the revision of the Storm PCB that I have does not have the non-populated connector next to the activity LED, so I'll probably hijack the signal from the ribbon cable instead.

It is still Thunder... hehe :lol: I got Rev.D and got it. Do you got this board? Then just desolder the led and move it to the case.

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1039
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: TT030 Thunder IDE device mounting possibilities

Postby dhedberg » Sun May 19, 2019 3:56 am

DoG wrote:
dhedberg wrote:....Seems like the revision of the Storm PCB that I have does not have the non-populated connector next to the activity LED, so I'll probably hijack the signal from the ribbon cable instead.

It is still Thunder... hehe :lol: I got Rev.D and got it. Do you got this board? Then just desolder the led and move it to the case.

Argh! :-D
I have revision E of Thunder, and it seems like they for some reason decided to remove the non-populated connector for IDE activity again. Anyways, I ended up intercepting the activity signal by using the second IDE connector on the ribbon cable. Took 5V to from the pin header of the Storm that sits on top of Thunder. Works.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest