Genesis Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

User avatar
thelatestmodel
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:51 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby thelatestmodel » Sat Apr 20, 2019 1:43 am

Is anyone else having issues with Decap Attack? My button mappings work properly in every other game (that I've tried), but in Decap Attack I get weird stuff like C acting as C and Start at the same time, B acting as A, and A not doing anything. D-pad seems to work fine. I've tried a couple of different ROMs, same result.

I see there were some input issues with it in the past, is it still broken?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4878
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Apr 20, 2019 11:24 am

thelatestmodel wrote:Is anyone else having issues with Decap Attack? My button mappings work properly in every other game (that I've tried), but in Decap Attack I get weird stuff like C acting as C and Start at the same time, B acting as A, and A not doing anything. D-pad seems to work fine. I've tried a couple of different ROMs, same result.

I see there were some input issues with it in the past, is it still broken?

it was fixed some time ago in the beginning of december. Then something broke it again.
I will check.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4878
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Apr 20, 2019 4:35 pm

what is unclear to me if Genesis (or gamepad) has pull up resistors on gameport or not. If TH is configured as input will gamepad see it as 1 or 0.

ovalfastlx
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 3:13 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby ovalfastlx » Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:32 pm

Anyone else has audio distortion or crackling when playing Sonic 3? I need to see if it's my actual mister hardware or the core.
I changed the hdmi 96k and 48k and it doest make a difference.


Here's a video I uploaded. Thanks
[youtube=]https://youtu.be/Lf_R-IAih8o[/youtube]

https://youtu.be/Lf_R-IAih8o

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby JamesF » Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:03 pm

ovalfastlx wrote:Anyone else has audio distortion or crackling when playing Sonic 3?

Already reported.
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Genesis ... /issues/28

@Sorgelig
I can measure my console ports if you need.
Please guide me what to do.
I also have an oscilloscope.

ovalfastlx
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 3:13 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby ovalfastlx » Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:20 pm

JamesF wrote:
ovalfastlx wrote:Anyone else has audio distortion or crackling when playing Sonic 3?

Already reported.
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Genesis ... /issues/28

@Sorgelig
I can measure my console ports if you need.
Please guide me what to do.
I also have an oscilloscope.


It thought it was a only sonic 3 but a similar fortress appears on sonic and knuckles. Thanks

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4878
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Apr 21, 2019 6:21 am

ovalfastlx wrote:Anyone else has audio distortion or crackling when playing Sonic 3? I need to see if it's my actual mister hardware or the core.
I changed the hdmi 96k and 48k and it doest make a difference.

was it always present or introduced recently? If it was appeared from some build then which one?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4878
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Apr 21, 2019 6:24 am

JamesF wrote:I can measure my console ports if you need.
Please guide me what to do.
I also have an oscilloscope.

i don't think you can just measure it. It requires some test ROM which will output different data to gameport.
Btw, with my latest commit on github Decap Attack works well. Not sure if it brakes any other games. It seems the are no pull up resistors on gameport.

jemismyname
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:25 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby jemismyname » Sun Apr 21, 2019 6:26 am

oh, i was hearing some weird crunchiness today when i was playing Truxton on the genesis 20190407 version. it was like, right after i would ... i don't remember where i was, but not too far into the game... that game is hard.

I couldn't tell if it was maybe a mixing thing... it sounded like maybe too many sounds were getting mixed together and it was going over digital 0 dB?

It wasn't quite right, but honestly, a real genesis sounds distorted anyway :D

ovalfastlx
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 3:13 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby ovalfastlx » Sun Apr 21, 2019 7:01 am

Sorgelig wrote:
ovalfastlx wrote:Anyone else has audio distortion or crackling when playing Sonic 3? I need to see if it's my actual mister hardware or the core.
I changed the hdmi 96k and 48k and it doest make a difference.

was it always present or introduced recently? If it was appeared from some build then which one?


I has been present in all builds that I have used since last Sept 2018. Just that today I got around to put it on video, but it's been noted already.

User avatar
jotego
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
Location: Valencia (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Genesis Core

Postby jotego » Wed Apr 24, 2019 10:26 am

ovalfastlx wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:
ovalfastlx wrote:Anyone else has audio distortion or crackling when playing Sonic 3? I need to see if it's my actual mister hardware or the core.
I changed the hdmi 96k and 48k and it doest make a difference.

was it always present or introduced recently? If it was appeared from some build then which one?


I has been present in all builds that I have used since last Sept 2018. Just that today I got around to put it on video, but it's been noted already.


Have you heard those noises in the MiST version too?
--
Source code of all my cores here.
My Patreon page here.

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby JamesF » Wed Apr 24, 2019 12:13 pm

It's digital overflow, the mix is just too loud.
Tested with spdif, the input is always close to 0.0db which I can see in my DAW,, and in that particular part in Sonic 3 it reaches 0.0db and clips.

cwbowron
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 7:28 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby cwbowron » Sat May 04, 2019 12:17 pm

The latest core (20190503) is broken for me, but the previous release (20190415) works fine. When I load latest, all the lights on my IO board go off and my TV says "No Signal". I'm using HDMI for audio and video.

straddle
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 4:11 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby straddle » Fri May 10, 2019 8:55 am

Is the Genesis Core capable of playing of playing 32X games?

lolof
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 9:21 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby lolof » Fri May 10, 2019 9:10 pm

20190503 gave me black screen with sound.

Problem solved with 20190510

hyperterminal
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby hyperterminal » Sat May 11, 2019 8:41 am

straddle wrote:Is the Genesis Core capable of playing of playing 32X games?

No, and it won't play Sega CD games either nor the normal Virtua Racing. The required hardware won't be implemented any time soon. Not even the mighty Kevtris who programs FPGAs all day for a living was able to pull this off.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4878
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat May 11, 2019 2:10 pm

Not sure why Virtua Racing added in this list. It's pretty much doable if someone would like to implement.

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Sun May 12, 2019 7:07 pm

Sonic & Knuckles + Sonic 2 (W) [!].md
MD5 3e5e4b18d035775b916a06f2b3dc5031

shows only black screen. It was working, i played it already. Checksum of file checked with a local backup copy.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Grego2d
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Grego2d » Tue May 14, 2019 12:11 am

Attempted an overclock of the 68k for the Genesis mister core today, the result is drastically smoother game play across the board!

In my testing nearly every game benefits from a modest 1.5x increase in speed, Sonic Spinball is a blast at full speed, and Road Rash is a whole new experience. The VDP seems to have no issues with the higher clock speed.

This modification results in audio issues in most games, Spinball and Road Rash II being exceptions. I believe this is caused by an issue with the 68k sending the z80 code/data at this higher clock rate. One solution I thought of would be to use the normal clock speed when accessing the z80. I'll be experimenting with fixes.

Here is a link to the build:

https://ufile.io/561bcics

Specifically I changed lines 138-148 in system.sv to:

Code: Select all

      M68K_CLKENp <= 0;
      VCLKCNT <= VCLKCNT + 1'b1;
      if (VCLKCNT == 4) begin
         VCLKCNT <= 0;
         M68K_CLKENp <= 1;
      end

      M68K_CLKENn <= 0;
      if (VCLKCNT == 2) begin
         M68K_CLKENn <= 1;
      end

Grego2d
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Grego2d » Tue May 14, 2019 3:59 am

Couple of attempts and I think I have Z80 communication fixed. Audio is still messed up in most games, but it's improved. I think the remaining issues are caused by the 68k accessing the psg directly, but I'm not sure.

Code: Select all

      VCLKCNT <= VCLKCNT + 1'b1;

      M68K_CLKENp <= 0;
      if ((!Z80_BUSRQ_N & VCLKCNT == 6) | (Z80_BUSRQ_N & VCLKCNT == 4)) begin
         VCLKCNT <= 0;
         M68K_CLKENp <= 1;
      end

      M68K_CLKENn <= 0;
      if ((!Z80_BUSRQ_N & VCLKCNT == 3) | (Z80_BUSRQ_N & VCLKCNT == 2)) begin
         M68K_CLKENn <= 1;
      end

Grego2d
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Grego2d » Tue May 14, 2019 5:02 am

Last try for the day, slow down all Audio/Vdp accesses, this code is only looking for the 68k to access the ram regions, it would probably be better to slow down the entire opcode not just the write/read portion of its execution... I'm not terribly familiar with genesis so if anyone has any ideas let me have em.

Code: Select all

      VCLKCNT <= VCLKCNT + 1'b1;
      
      M68K_SLOW_ACCESS <= !Z80_BUSRQ_N | M68K_A[23:20] == 'hC | M68K_A[23:20] == 'hA;

      M68K_CLKENp <= 0;
      if ((M68K_SLOW_ACCESS & VCLKCNT == 6) | (!M68K_SLOW_ACCESS & VCLKCNT == 4)) begin
         VCLKCNT <= 0;
         M68K_CLKENp <= 1;
      end

      M68K_CLKENn <= 0;
      if ((M68K_SLOW_ACCESS & VCLKCNT == 3) | (!M68K_SLOW_ACCESS & VCLKCNT == 2)) begin
         M68K_CLKENn <= 1;
      end

SegaMan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby SegaMan » Tue May 14, 2019 7:46 am

I am not sure if there is a context.

After updating to latest MiSTer and download the cheat files over update script my Genesis Core (latest version) did not run at all.
Sometimes the games work... most time i got a black screen with "no sync" on my gaming monitor.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby slingshot » Tue May 14, 2019 1:27 pm

Grego2d wrote:Last try for the day, slow down all Audio/Vdp accesses, this code is only looking for the 68k to access the ram regions, it would probably be better to slow down the entire opcode not just the write/read portion of its execution...


I read many people overclocked the Mega Drive without much problems, and it just involved a simple 68k clock increase. I've also did it in MiST, didn't notice problems (but mostly tried 3D games only). Btw, VDP will throttle the CPU anyway if it tries to write too fast.

Upd.: the problem with your patch is the sequence of the clock enables. You made n-n-p-p clock enable, but it must be n-p-n-p.

Grego2d
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Grego2d » Tue May 14, 2019 4:28 pm

Did you get it working? If so what was your change? I don't see how that results in multiple of the same pulse.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby slingshot » Tue May 14, 2019 4:36 pm

Grego2d wrote:Did you get it working? If so what was your change? I don't see how that results in multiple of the same pulse.

Yes, it works. The change is very simple:

https://github.com/mist-devel/fpgagen/c ... 56ce523b5a

Which game do you have sound issues? I can check it.

Here VCLKCNT 1-PHI2, 3-PHI1, 4-PHI2, 6-PHI1


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests