[Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Feb 04, 2019 2:48 pm

I had an answer from Kdl and it confirms me that Setsmart is the tool to set the levels of audio volume via software, but he tolds me that they cannot be saved because there isn't a battery to keep configuration saved.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1256
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby slingshot » Mon Feb 04, 2019 2:53 pm

DanyPPC wrote:I had an answer from Kdl and it confirms me that Setsmart is the tool to set the levels of audio volume via software, but he tolds me that they cannot be saved because there isn't a battery to keep configuration saved.

autoexec.bat

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:28 pm

Ok, I solved, my AUTOEXEC.BAT (thanks Slingshot):

SET ECHO=OFF
SET EXPERT=ON
ALIAS .ROM=A:\UTILS\MGLOCM.COM
SET PATH=A:\;A:\UTILS;A:\UTILS\MM;A:\UTILS\SOFARUN
SETSMART -BF
SETSMART -C7
SETSMART -CF
SETSMART -B7
ECHO --------------------
ECHO MSX MiST
ECHO --------------------
VER
MM

User avatar
Higgy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby Higgy » Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:09 pm

Is there a way of loading tape images? In England tapes seemed more popular. There are lots of games from smaller companies rather than Konami etc.

On my MSX 1 (HX-10) I use a CADdunio for 'on the fly' converting of .CAS tape files into audio for loading. Maybe the tape loading feature from the ZX Spectrum & Amstrad CPC would be easy to add (this requires a 3.5mm audio jack to be wired into your MiST) rather than a MENU UI tape loading?

Also is there a way of 'RESET & Detach Cartridge' ? Currently I RESET my MiST and then re-select MSX Core from the MENU.

Thanks

ManuFerHi
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby ManuFerHi » Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:34 pm

I have made a modification for Mistica, I have enabled the audio load in the RX pin and added an option in the OSD to listen or not the sound load, MIST users need a special cable connected to RX to load CAS files. I share the core, two English and Spanish layout versions.
Important, audio loads must be at 2400bps.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Higgy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby Higgy » Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:40 am

ManuFerHi - Thanks. I hope to try this tonight. 8)
I guess because it will be missing the 'motor control input' (2.5mm jack), some games that Pause the tape at menu screens etc, will need some manual control on the CASDunio to PAUSE & PLAY.

(A nice feature of the MSX and Dragon over the ZX Spectrum is this 'motor control' feature).

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:49 am

@Higgy: for detach the cartridge from ram you have to long-press the reset button (most right on the MiST front) unti you hear a little clip sound.

User avatar
Higgy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby Higgy » Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:46 pm

I got some tapes loaded (once I found that you had to type 'BASIC' to get to tape loading options :) ), so many thanks for adding this feature.
Some tapes got to the end and the MiST reset. Maybe because games are for MSX 1 and i think the Core is more like a MSX 2+.
Is there anything that can be done to improve compatibility with MSX 1 tape games? Is MS-DOS 1 able to be file loaded, or is it hardcoded in the Core?
Sorry my MSX knowledge / experience is just tape loading into a HX-10 MSX 1.

DanyPPC - thanks for hint.

ManuFerHi
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby ManuFerHi » Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:55 pm

Try this poke before de load.
POKE -1,(15 - PEEK(-1)\16)*17

*Thanks to desUBIkado

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Feb 09, 2019 8:47 am

Some basic loaders before the language machine parts have at the beginning of the the basic program usually a POKE -1,170 or POKE -1,255.
First is refered to those MSX2 or some models of VG8020 (20/40) of Philips Computer. The second POKE works on Sony MSX2.
You have to load the basic program with LOAD"CAS:" syntax which doesn't execute any RUN, so you can list the basic program and erase the POKE above which you can give directly from Basic as specified by ManuFerHi.

OCM is basically an MSX2+ which have more problems of MSX2 in fact of compatibility with MSX1 games.

Everything is explained > here <

I originally had a Phlips VG8010 - 8020/00 (the best as compatibility) - Toshiba HX 20I and a MSX2 Philips VG8240/00.
Now I have a Toshiba HX22I and a Toshiba MSX2 which I use with a MFR cartridge.
But for space reasons I prefer play on MiST.

Too bad there is not a roms loader support LinearC format or Manbow2 rom which I have to play only on real hardware with MFR cartridge.

Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby Lroby74 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 5:06 pm

Hello, with old generation MSX core (pre VHD i mean), i could play Aleste 2 changing disk with F7 + Spacebar followed by number 1 or 2 and Aleste 2 see that and going on.. now with this last core (VHD based) i can't do that.. any help please?

naturally i mounted game with EP for all 3 disks and then rebooted , exactly like in old gen msx core

Thank you

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:26 pm

Loaded Aleste2 with EP command:

> EP aleste2*.dsk /B /R

At Disk change screen I simply take pressed F7 (Kana) + 1 followed by joy fire for change to Disk A, game loads.
The game consists of 3 Disks, one for boot and 2 for the game itself.
So if the disk change screen require Disk B I press togheter F7 + 2 followed by joy fire.

Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby Lroby74 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:38 pm

DanyPPC wrote:Loaded Aleste2 with EP command:

> EP aleste2*.dsk /B /R

At Disk change screen I simply take pressed F7 (Kana) + 1 followed by joy fire for change to Disk A, game loads.
The game consists of 3 Disks, one for boot and 2 for the game itself.
So if the disk change screen require Disk B I press togheter F7 + 2 followed by joy fire.


I will try that, thank you!!

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:57 am

New firmware and msx-dos at Kdl site:
https://gnogni.altervista.org/

Source:
https://www.msx.org/news/en/ocm-pld-pack-v37-is-out

Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ocm_pld_news

Hope we can play Tina Adventure Island now very soon :)

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Thu May 02, 2019 8:52 am

Are there any plans to support new KDL MSX source ?

Thanks :)

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1256
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby slingshot » Thu May 02, 2019 9:07 am

Most of its updates came from MiST. Only some minor changes affecting the current core. Maybe I'll update it when I'll be very bored :)

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Thu May 02, 2019 9:16 am

:wink:

Thanks

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Jun 30, 2019 8:50 am

New update from Kdl twitter


DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Jul 02, 2019 5:04 pm

:cheers:

... time to play :)

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 841
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby vebxenon » Wed Jul 03, 2019 9:06 am

slingshot wrote:https://github.com/gyurco/MSX_MiST/releases/tag/20190702


Thanks very much :D
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Jul 09, 2019 6:51 am


rittwage
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby rittwage » Tue Jul 09, 2019 1:20 pm

Does this require a new OCM? I replaced my RBF file only and I get no boot. Black screen... Old RBF boots MSX3 fine.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Jul 09, 2019 3:59 pm

I use always the MSX2 OCM Bios, as you can found in the VHD files posted above.

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 841
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby vebxenon » Tue Sep 24, 2019 7:53 pm

Just a (stupid) question, does this core support DB9 joystick ports? I want to test the F1 Spirit 3D 2 players cable...
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: redbug and 3 guests