Genesis Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1343
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby slingshot » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:59 am

Sorgelig wrote:As far as i know there are only 2 games in Genesis using interlace mode: Sonic 2 (and only in split screen mode!) and some other game i forgot the name. So it's definitely not a reason to keep a bulky VIP scaler.

Combat Cars :)

toolb0x
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 7:19 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby toolb0x » Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:07 pm

I'm getting a black screen saying "Resolution not supported" with both 20181205 and 20181206 cores. I'm using the default settings in the ini. I have a Samsung 4K TV.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5377
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:07 pm

toolb0x wrote:I'm getting a black screen saying "Resolution not supported" with both 20181205 and 20181206 cores. I'm using the default settings in the ini. I have a Samsung 4K TV.

try the version i've posted there: viewtopic.php?p=360030#p360030

toolb0x
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 7:19 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby toolb0x » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:15 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
toolb0x wrote:I'm getting a black screen saying "Resolution not supported" with both 20181205 and 20181206 cores. I'm using the default settings in the ini. I have a Samsung 4K TV.

try the version i've posted there: viewtopic.php?p=360030#p360030


It works for me.

BlockABoots
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:20 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby BlockABoots » Fri Dec 07, 2018 11:00 pm

Rocket Knight Adventure on the 2nd attract sequence where the room is on fire, when the flames shot across the screen the audio for the flames makes a popping sound and doesnt sound correct

ovalfastlx
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 3:13 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby ovalfastlx » Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:55 pm

SONIC 3 sound issue.
At the end of Angel Island Zone Act 2, you are chased by Eggman's "Flying Fortress", which drops bombs, the sound coming from the ship is more like crackles or pops. Only issue I've noticed in 5 levels. Thanks

This happens in the latest release, Thanks

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: Genesis Core

Postby vanfanel » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:58 am

The music problems in Streets of Rage II are still present with the updated PSG engine (JT89). I believe that the channels with wrong notes are from the OPL, not the PSG.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5377
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:45 am

vanfanel wrote:The music problems in Streets of Rage II are still present with the updated PSG engine (JT89). I believe that the channels with wrong notes are from the OPL, not the PSG.

Even on youtube videos this part sounds weird. It's just music written this way.
Anyway, forget about it - it won't be fixed. It's just 1-2 seconds.

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: Genesis Core

Postby vanfanel » Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:11 am

Sorgelig wrote:Even on youtube videos this part sounds weird. It's just music written this way.
Anyway, forget about it - it won't be fixed. It's just 1-2 seconds.


Strange! You are right, Sorgelig. That part seems to be sounding like that in youtube, too! I don't remember that on the original cart... But anyway, PSG sounds perfect now! Marble Zone in Sonic 1 sounds perfect! This core.. I can't find any more bugs on the games I know.

Indcsion
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:48 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Indcsion » Thu Dec 20, 2018 7:06 am

Anyone know whats causing this white line at the bottom? It started after the dec 6 update. It does it on gameboy, genesis, and nes. It doesnt show up when I capture footage and Ive tried it without my capture card and it still does it. Image

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Fri Dec 21, 2018 3:11 pm

Hey Sorgelig, since changing to the Ascal Polyphase Scaler on the SNES and Turbografx I don't have any problems and ghost lines with the scanlines anymore. :cheers:

Would you like to update the Genesis Core as well?
You don't need to make a release out of it yet, I compile it myself if the changes are in the source code.
Thanks a lot! :)
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

paulbnl
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:43 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby paulbnl » Fri Dec 21, 2018 11:13 pm

Currently hsync is 32 cycles in 256 mode and 26 cycles in 320 mode. That should be the other way around.

slowmo310
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:41 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby slowmo310 » Sat Dec 22, 2018 6:04 am

In Alex Kidd (USA) when entering rock, paper, scissors match thought bubble signs are erratically moving and after beating enemy their eyes flash. None of this is in original game.

paulbnl
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:43 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby paulbnl » Mon Dec 31, 2018 11:18 am

Is it possible to make the core run at original speed (59.92Hz)? I noticed it currently outputs at 60.20Hz

BlockABoots
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:20 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby BlockABoots » Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:18 pm

Does the latest Genesis core use the low latency mode (vsync_adjust=2)?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5377
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:54 pm

yes, it supports low latency mode. It's still experimental.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5377
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:55 pm

paulbnl wrote:Is it possible to make the core run at original speed (59.92Hz)? I noticed it currently outputs at 60.20Hz

what's the difference?

cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby cacophony » Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:15 pm

BlockABoots wrote:Does the latest Genesis core use the low latency mode (vsync_adjust=2)?


I'm not sure if vsync_adjust=2 will enable low latency mode. Last Wednesday grabulosaure helped me get a low lag configuration for SNES, and these were his instructions: "The low lag mode has issues with the default settings with 148.5MHz clock, if you need 1920x1080@60Hz, use instead something like "video_mode=1920,48,32,80,1080,123,6,26,154130" . Select NTSC, no triple buffer, no vsync_adjust. "

Anyway I tried these instructions along with his own build of the SNES core (which has an OSD option for "low latency" scaler) and the lag did appear to be lower then when I tried with just the official build with vsync_adjust=2. Maybe those are special steps that are only needed for SNES? Not sure...

paulbnl
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:43 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby paulbnl » Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:29 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
paulbnl wrote:Is it possible to make the core run at original speed (59.92Hz)? I noticed it currently outputs at 60.20Hz

what's the difference?


The difference is that its running too fast and not on original clock speed. Can't the system clock be changed to match the real hardware?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5377
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:44 pm

It's possible.

Everblue
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:30 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Everblue » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:48 am

If I remember correctly, a 60hz modded PAL Megadrive and an NTSC one do not run at the same speed.

User avatar
Shazz
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 9:27 am
Location: Crétin des Alpes dauphinoises

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Shazz » Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:28 am

Sorgelig wrote:Many fixes in new releases.
Titan Overdrive - everything is perfect now.
Titan Overdrive 2 - mostly OK. There is unknown cause of audio lag. Arcade scene flickers and won't be fixed (as it useless for games).


Any chance to get the Overdirve 2's arcade full screen effect fixed one day ? (I try ^^)
...8bits are enough...

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5377
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:48 am

Shazz wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:Many fixes in new releases.
Titan Overdrive - everything is perfect now.
Titan Overdrive 2 - mostly OK. There is unknown cause of audio lag. Arcade scene flickers and won't be fixed (as it useless for games).


Any chance to get the Overdirve 2's arcade full screen effect fixed one day ? (I try ^^)

yes. If you will do this :)

User avatar
Shazz
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 9:27 am
Location: Crétin des Alpes dauphinoises

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Shazz » Sun Jan 20, 2019 2:05 am

Sorgelig wrote:yes. If you will do this :)


That's a fair statement :) I can give it a try. I need first to find the posts and articles linked to this "exploit" when it was added to emulators, like this one:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1ST9GbFfPnIjLT5loytFCm3pB0kWQ1Oe34DCBBV8saY8/pub
...8bits are enough...

User avatar
Shazz
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 9:27 am
Location: Crétin des Alpes dauphinoises

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Shazz » Mon Jan 21, 2019 1:22 am

@Sorgelig, ok ok :) after checking the history between the demo and how the emulators caught up... you did a fairly good job and I only noticed one difference at the end, the vertical borders missing during the arcade scene. All the others effects relying on the VDP undocumented debug register work perfectly.

So hats off! Really!

I'll contact Kabuto to see exactly what he is torturing the VDP to remove the borders and get a test screen.
...8bits are enough...


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ghogan42 and 2 guests