Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

slingshot
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby slingshot » Thu Dec 20, 2018 10:33 am

DrOG wrote: a menu option to swap buttons II and I were really appreciated)

Seems they're swapped unintentionally, since in SF2 config, setting button I displays button II. Will correct it (and will stop hijacking the Genesis thread).

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 605
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby DrOG » Thu Dec 20, 2018 3:11 pm

slingshot wrote:
DrOG wrote: a menu option to swap buttons II and I were really appreciated)

Seems they're swapped unintentionally, since in SF2 config, setting button I displays button II. Will correct it (and will stop hijacking the Genesis thread).

THANKS IN ADVANCE! :cheers:

Sorry to be OffTopic...

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1235
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:19 am

slingshot wrote:Still don't know if the firmware really handle more than 2 correctly.


The Atari ST Core supports Four joysticks for quite some time and because of the new Atari st games frogs this possibility has recently gotten some attention.

So I am pretty sure four joysticks do work nicely.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

slingshot
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby slingshot » Fri Dec 21, 2018 9:47 am

MasterOfGizmo wrote:The Atari ST Core supports Four joysticks for quite some time and because of the new Atari st games frogs this possibility has recently gotten some attention.

So I am pretty sure four joysticks do work nicely.


Great, then it's confirmed 4 works. I wonder what about the 5th. I think that would be 4 USB + 1 DB9, since one of the DB9 is overridden by one USB?

User avatar
jotego
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
Location: Valencia (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby jotego » Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:47 am

I have been working for the past few weeks in improving sound quality, not the core itself. I think the FM synthesis core is already very accurate to real hardware with many features actually verified to be 100% equal. That is why I changed the focus to better sound experience.

Interpolation
Have you heard of the CD's 44.1kHz or the common 48kHz used nowadays? In digital music the sample rate is everything. One difficulty with these systems is that they used custom data rates. Like Megadrive has 55kHz. To change from that rate to a different one requires a lot of filtering, otherwise you will get artifacts in the sound. Emulators tend to do this poorly. The VGM file format used for videogame music has a big problem with this, for example.

FPGA clones normally do not filter either and if the output is at 55kHz, it will be fed to a high speed DAC without any consideration. This causes high frequency artifacts, particularly noticeable for PCM sounds. I have added proper interpolation filters to the Genesis core now.

PCM
The original YM2612 has a limitation as a PCM music player. It is very hard to push data at the required 55kHz rate -not to talk about the memory needed for that!- but the chip did not provide any up-rate filter. So PCM sounds were bound to have artifacts. On top of that, software programmers were usually sloppy to keep a fixed data rate flowing in, which created again more artifacts.

I have added an internal 27.5kHz resampler to JT12. PCM music now sounds better than on real hardware (and better than any emulator).

Check out how Streets of Rage sounds now.

While these changes get incorporated into the main repository, you can try it with my own core synthesis here.

DanyPPC wrote:Good work, although there are no sound improvements on Super Street Fighter II.


I do not hear any problems in Super SSF2 now. If you still notice issues, please send some audio/video or specific details so I can debug it.
--
Source code of all my cores here.
My Patreon page here.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 709
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Dec 22, 2018 10:12 am

Jotego you are a great ! Now I test SSF2 and report here my feedback.
Thank you very much to improve sound of Genesis Core.

slingshot
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby slingshot » Sat Dec 22, 2018 11:06 am

jotego wrote:I have been working for the past few weeks in improving sound quality, not the core itself. I think the FM synthesis core is already very accurate to real hardware with many features actually verified to be 100% equal. That is why I changed the focus to better sound experience.



Great! Will try and put it to the mist-binaries repo soon.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 709
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Dec 22, 2018 11:10 am

Excellent work Jotego ! Now my MiST sounds better than my little MD2 :cheers:

SSF2 sound is now ok, but in general I have also found improvements on other games like Batman.
This Core is close to perfection !

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 709
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Dec 25, 2018 8:44 pm

New updated version by Slingshot, many thanks !

Are there differences between this new and Jotego version ?

slingshot
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby slingshot » Tue Dec 25, 2018 9:23 pm

Just a small user_io update, nothing serious.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1235
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Sun Dec 30, 2018 10:22 pm

Guys, thanks so much for your work on the genesis core. It has become one of my favourites and I had a lot of fun contributing a little bit to your great work.

You made 2018 a great year for the MIST and I am looking forward what 2019 will bring for the trusty old MIST board. There still seems to be more life in that little metal box than I expected.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby Gehstock » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:55 pm

Thanks for all your Work on MiST and the other Devs too :cheers:

slingshot
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby slingshot » Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:49 pm

MasterOfGizmo wrote:You made 2018 a great year for the MIST and I am looking forward what 2019 will bring for the trusty old MIST board. There still seems to be more life in that little metal box than I expected.


And I would like to thank you for the MiST board first, without that I would never start with FPGAs, and the Genesis was a great learning experience also.

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 724
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby vebxenon » Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:19 pm

MasterOfGizmo wrote:Guys, thanks so much for your work on the genesis core. It has become one of my favourites and I had a lot of fun contributing a little bit to your great work.

You made 2018 a great year for the MIST and I am looking forward what 2019 will bring for the trusty old MIST board. There still seems to be more life in that little metal box than I expected.


Thanks very much to all :D
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 724
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby vebxenon » Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:27 pm

Double post.
Last edited by vebxenon on Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 724
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby vebxenon » Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:27 pm

Just for your information the unreleased game Segasonic Bros has been ported for Mega Drive and it's playable on MiST :D .

https://mobile.twitter.com/DustinOfcYT/ ... 0681420800

I've put some photos from MiST here:

https://mobile.twitter.com/veb_xenon/st ... 3946569729
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 724
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby vebxenon » Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:24 pm

I've found a game that doesn't boot: Time Killers. Even I've tried EEPROM and Fast VRAM options and once the Sega logo appears, screen goes black.

Regards,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

slingshot
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby slingshot » Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:54 pm

vebxenon wrote:I've found a game that doesn't boot: Time Killers. Even I've tried EEPROM and Fast VRAM options and once the Sega logo appears, screen goes black.

Regards,

Salva


That was a bug, luckily the fix wasn't hard.

slingshot
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby slingshot » Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:00 pm

One thing I missed from the core to play Pirates! Gold is backup RAM support. Now it's done:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 190110.rbf

Please read the usage before, and upgrade the firmware (for safety)!

Now it's possible to play Pirates or Story of Thor without restarting again and again :)
(I've tried these two games).

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 605
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby DrOG » Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:11 am

Big THANKS for the improvement! :cheers:

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1399
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby Newsdee » Fri Jan 11, 2019 6:41 am

This is great! It's fantastic to see the core mature rapidly thanks to all your efforts.

NegSol
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby NegSol » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:29 am

Absolutely great news. I will have to test it this weekend :-) - Thank you!

User avatar
Higgy
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby Higgy » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:36 am

Nice work!

Here is Windows code to create a 32kb file, cut & paste this into Command Prompt (CMD in Windows Search):
fsutil file createnew megadrive1.sav 32768

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 709
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby DanyPPC » Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:22 am

Many thanks to all !

Chris23235
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby Chris23235 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:49 pm

Many thanks for your fantastic work, the core is nearly perfect. A small glitch appears in Splatter House 3, both the US and the japanese Rom have a graphical glitch, the walking animation of the character isn't played, when the character moves, it is stuck in one frame of the animation.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest