Question

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

TXG/MNX
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Question

Postby TXG/MNX » Tue Sep 26, 2017 6:26 pm

Is there an option to use a raspberry pi zero to allow usb mouse/keyboard like a cosmosex can I only need that option for a few machines

User avatar
Gaiyan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Question

Postby Gaiyan » Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:11 pm

Image

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Question

Postby mikro » Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:46 pm

I think he asks to use the RPi within a real machine. And surely it is possible although that would be huge waste of resources, having a whole computer just for mouse and keyboard handling. ;-)

Apart from the software side (taking the source code, stripping all parts unrelated to IKBD emulation), hardware would be trivial, just make something like Jookie's sandwich cable: http://joo.kie.sk/?page_id=417 and you're all set.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Question

Postby wongck » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:55 pm

Could be like this, using the Pi as an interface for keyboard/mouse ?
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=28741#p302458

Going Jookie's way would be more worthwhile but then Pi Zero isn't all that expensive for the power.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

TXG/MNX
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: Question

Postby TXG/MNX » Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:23 pm

Thats what I need, I move my TT / Megaste / falcon systems in a 19" rack and connect them to my KVM switch all systems have vga and need usb mouse/kbd this would save me lot of space on my desk :-)


Social Media

     

Return to “CosmosEx”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests