Spec core with ZXMMC+

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

oscarbraindead
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 2:11 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby oscarbraindead » Sat Feb 27, 2016 9:27 am

Hi all,
finally I get all the ultimate problematic games working using something like JaviDoom's method:

-start the spectrum core
-load 128.z80 file
-press space then press enter
-press down cursor to select 48kb basic and press enter
-select the z80/tap file to play

It works for me with all ultimate games.

Thanks!

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 769
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby vebxenon » Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:08 pm

(Deleted, problem solved)
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 769
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby vebxenon » Thu Mar 03, 2016 7:42 am

oscarbraindead wrote:Hi all,
finally I get all the ultimate problematic games working using something like JaviDoom's method:

-start the spectrum core
-load 128.z80 file
-press space then press enter
-press down cursor to select 48kb basic and press enter
-select the z80/tap file to play

It works for me with all ultimate games.

Thanks!


Good to know it :cheers:

Regards,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 769
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby vebxenon » Thu Mar 10, 2016 5:39 pm

I've found a problem using last ZX Spectrum core... every time I use it, it only boots once, so I must copy it again to the SD to get the core working. Most of the time I change the core to zxspectrum_20160212.rbf, core displays black screen. I'm using last firmware from last Minimig AGA release.

Anyone is suffering this problem?

Regards,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby javidoom » Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:10 pm

vebxenon wrote:I've found a problem using last ZX Spectrum core... every time I use it, it only boots once, so I must copy it again to the SD to get the core working. Most of the time I change the core to zxspectrum_20160212.rbf, core displays black screen. I'm using last firmware from last Minimig AGA release.

Anyone is suffering this problem?

Regards,

Salva


Do you have the same behavior with the Spectrum core alone in a SD card?

duhproject
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby duhproject » Fri Mar 11, 2016 9:18 pm

I've been using this core a lot with very few issues. *BUT* I do have it on it's own 4GB SD card. I have not experienced any issues with it booting up.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1435
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby Newsdee » Sat Mar 12, 2016 12:48 am

Try making the Spectrum core the default core (ie. name it core.rbf on the card). Some cores don't seem to clean the memory and I've had issues due to the startup core before.

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 769
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby vebxenon » Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:58 am

Thanks for the answers, I'm going to try it today :)

Regards,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

oscarbraindead
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 2:11 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby oscarbraindead » Wed Apr 06, 2016 4:40 am

oscarbraindead wrote:Hi all,
finally I get all the ultimate problematic games working using something like JaviDoom's method:

-start the spectrum core
-load 128.z80 file
-press space then press enter
-press down cursor to select 48kb basic and press enter
-select the z80/tap file to play

It works for me with all ultimate games.

Thanks!


Hi all,
yesterday i've discovered a site where explains an easier method to do that.
Just turn on your MIST with the zx spectrum core, and type: OUT 32765,48
I've tested some games (sabrewulf, gunfight...) and works flawlessly.
You can read it here (in spanish): https://medium.com/@uto_dev/divide-divmmc-f%C3%A1cil-c7826fb653a6#.nxuflbbk1, chapter 6 (problemas comunes, common problems). The author even shares a TAP file with the out command already typed, ready to load with esxdos.

Regards

ToastKing
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 9:57 am

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby ToastKing » Sun Apr 24, 2016 10:11 am

Apologies for a NOOB question but I am just getting started with my MiST. I have set up the C64 and Amiga cores with the scandoubler disable and they work fine through Scart on my Samsung TV. But this core has a doubled and rolling picture doing the same. Looks like the core works fine and loads games but is there anything else I can do to fix the picture stability or is it just an issue with my TV?

ToastKing
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 9:57 am

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby ToastKing » Sun Apr 24, 2016 10:30 am

Noob question and a Noob answer. Please ignore my post as I have missed [mist] from the ini file. Can't edit as my posts are checked.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1268
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:07 pm

Sorgelig recently released an update for this updated Spectrum core. Find the source and binaries here:
https://github.com/sorgelig/ZX_Spectrum-128K_MIST

And if you like his core then please consider sending him a thank-you-email to show him that you appreciate his work.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby javidoom » Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:59 pm

Cooool!

I'm eager to test it as soon as possible! :)
After it, I'll contact Sorgelig to thank him the work.

Thanks for the info!

Regards.

duhproject
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby duhproject » Wed Apr 27, 2016 2:38 pm

javidoom wrote:Cooool!

I'm eager to test it as soon as possible! :)
After it, I'll contact Sorgelig to thank him the work.

Thanks for the info!

Regards.


I'd love to send him a note to thank him, but can't find an address or account. Does anyone have that?

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 287
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby Paradroyd » Wed Apr 27, 2016 5:09 pm

duhproject wrote:
I'd love to send him a note to thank him, but can't find an address or account. Does anyone have that?


You can send him a message through here.

I'm also following him through Github.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon

duhproject
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby duhproject » Wed Apr 27, 2016 9:18 pm

Paradroyd wrote:
duhproject wrote:
I'd love to send him a note to thank him, but can't find an address or account. Does anyone have that?


You can send him a message through here.

I'm also following him through Github.


I swear I looked here and could not find it. Ugh. My search skills are weak...
Thanks for that -- I sent him a personal thank you!

-E

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 769
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby vebxenon » Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:19 am

ZX Spectrum core was updated 9 days ago :cheers:

https://github.com/sorgelig/ZX_Spectrum ... 7d0f4474ba
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby javidoom » Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:20 am

Hi.

Ok, I've been testing for a while, the latest core from Sorgelig, and I must say... IT'S AWESOME.

I've sent him an email telling it so.

The selection of TAPs directly from the core OSD allows longfilenames, and you can choose loading them the fast, or the traditional way. COOL!
Even more, you can play/pause/rewind the tap file, and an indicator (via yellow LED) if data is available in the TAP file.

You can leave behind ESXDos and load directly from the core.

I've tested various games, and all of them worked flawlessly, even some multiload games.

Sorgelig, many many thanks for this awesome core!!!

javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby javidoom » Thu Apr 28, 2016 10:24 am

Hi.

I've found a weird behaviour with the core TAP loading function:

TAPS:

- Ninjajar
- Shockmegademo

Loading them from ESXDos both works OK.

Loading mounting TAP from the core and after that, loading from the spectrum menu (fast method):

- Ninjajar stops without starting game. (Tip: you can open core OSD, mount again the tap file, and the game starts).
- Shockmegademo starts the first part, but after pressing SPACE to continue, it resets.

Loading from the spectrum menu, and after that, mounting TAP from the core (normal method):

- Ninjajar works OK.
- Shockmegademo starts the first part, but after pressing SPACE to continue, it doesn't.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby javidoom » Thu Apr 28, 2016 4:20 pm

Hi.

Another one with the odd behaviour loading from OSD Core menu or ESXDos:

TAP:

- Kid Cadet.

Loading from ESXDos working ok. (The initial screen is well aligned).

Loading mounting TAP from the core (fast and normal method):
The game "works", but the initial screen is disaligned and corrupted.

The core is working properly, so it seems a problem with the loading method... maybe Sorgelig can reproduce the errors and fix that :)

Regards.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

lips2k15
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby lips2k15 » Sat Apr 30, 2016 6:57 am

ok I have some feed back on this latest core - IT ROCKS... I love being able to load TAP's and TRD's with long filenames as it makes life so much easier, I love the fact you have given us the option of the old school loading methods and I love the fact that every piece of software I have tried has worked flawlessly and effortlessly! I have a couple of items I'd like to see on this if you think you can do it or actually feel you want to do it first is ULA Plus and more Ram as the scorpions and pentagons could support more than the 128k and I believe there are certain demos that require the extra ram. Once again Amazing work!!

lips2k15
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby lips2k15 » Tue May 03, 2016 3:57 pm

Sorry to double post - there has been an update to the speccy core it now has various Turbo cpu modes - I have just been having a play and its awesome... I recommend it highly!!!

duhproject
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby duhproject » Tue May 03, 2016 5:09 pm

lips2k15 wrote:Sorry to double post - there has been an update to the speccy core it now has various Turbo cpu modes - I have just been having a play and its awesome... I recommend it highly!!!


Yeah, this core is impressive!

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4897
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby Sorgelig » Tue May 03, 2016 5:49 pm

Many ZX128 games/demos require USR 0 to work properly.
What it means? You need to start 128 Basic and type there USR 0.
It will bring you into 48 BASIC without lock, so RAM page port will be accessible.
And there in basic prompt you need to enter LOAD "" to load TAP file.

Shock Megademo, Lyra II and similar demos should be loaded this way (actually, Shock Megademo works in 48K mode as well, so you can simply choose 48 Basic from menu).
ESXDOS will go to USR 0 mode at startup, that's why these apps can work there.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4897
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Spec core with ZXMMC+

Postby Sorgelig » Tue May 03, 2016 6:05 pm

Btw, i've published new major update to Spectrum core.
Visually, it may be not much noticeable, but internally it was almost fully rewrote. Now it can work at up to 56MHz.

Please test it and tell me about stability. Some my cores for some users were unstable, and i believe it because the way they were programmed. I've used asynchronous models before. Although it looks more natural from schematic point of view, the asynchronous models don't work well in FPGA. Now Spectrum core is fully synchronous now. That's why it can work on very high frequency.
I'm planning to move other my cores to synchronous models as well.
But i need some feedback about stability to make sure i'm going to the right direction.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: goran and 2 guests