NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby qq1975b » Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:07 am

I have an Atari TT 3.06UK, 4MB ST Ram, 128 TT RAM, 4 GB CF with <512MB partitions where I am trying to install NVDI 5 and after unpacking it, it crashes (2 bombs) and doesn't finish the installation. I want to install NVDI because I have a Crazy Dots card which I want to make it run on this TT.

I have pressed the CTRL key on boot to avoid other start up programs to have a conflict with the NVDI install prg. Trying the installation without pressing CTRL makes it crash when unpacking, showing a message that maybe there isn't enough space on disk.

I hope I have post this topic on the right place...Applications. If not, tell it me, please and I will correct it.

Thank you.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby [ProToS] » Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:03 pm

perhaps your NVDI install disks are corrupted or they don't like your CF ?
have you try to install it from the 2 floppy disks ?

last time I install it on a TT with a Matrix TC1208 they don't have any problem
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby qq1975b » Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:11 pm

I was trying to install it from the 2 FD.
I installed without any problems in my Falcon one week ago.
On the TT crashes when unpacking... Maybe you are right and it doesn't like my CF card.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby jens » Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:33 pm

I don't see any reason a GEM based installer should have difficulties with CF cards if the system itself hasn't.
Maybe it's worth a try without TT-RAM or less ST-RAM?
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 530
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby Omikronman » Sat Mar 09, 2013 5:15 am

NVDI 5 was a mess. ASH made it only to sell Papillon 3 maybe. I switched back to NVDI 4. It had less bugs and worked well all the time. :-)

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby qq1975b » Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:22 am

I would like to try it but I don't have it. Only NVDI 2.5 and 5 :(
Trying to learn...

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 882
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby Zogging Hell » Sun Mar 10, 2013 12:49 am

You didn't take out the floppy to read the serial no. and then forgot to put it back in before clicking continue during the disk swap did you? I found if I did this NVDI would crash. I think some files get missed or something even though it looks as if it has installed ok. Other than that is your disk cache off? Maybe set it as flagged ST ram only. Or stick Magic on there and install it using that rather than TOS.

I've never had any problems with NVDI 5.03 on the TT (with Magic), but it has been a while since the TT has been on as it doesn't like my flat screens and the CRT is currently banished as I don't have room for it on the desk.
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

Guest

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby Guest » Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:41 am

if you install it from the cf card
method

copy all files from floppy 1 and floppy 2 to a tmp dir on the cf card
youll need to overwrite some files like the install dat folder

delete the file that says nextdisk

and run the installer

if i remember this is all i did to get it too install from hdd

i pm'd my copy for ref what too do

User avatar
mfro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 800
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:33 am
Location: SW Germany

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby mfro » Sun Mar 10, 2013 10:01 am

If I remember correctly, there was a special NVDI release ("NVDI ET4000") for the Crazy Dots card?

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby qq1975b » Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:31 am

mfro wrote:If I remember correctly, there was a special NVDI release ("NVDI ET4000") for the Crazy Dots card?


Yes, it is. I have it but I think it has to be installed after NVDI.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby lp » Sun Mar 10, 2013 1:18 pm

NVDI drives the crazydots card all by itself, you need to pick the ET4000 or crazydots option (forget how its worded exactly) from the NVDI installation menu. If you don't get this option during the NVDI installation something has gone very wrong. To clarify, just one installation of NVDI and the video card should be up and running. :wink:

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby qq1975b » Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:30 pm

Zogging Hell wrote:You didn't take out the floppy to read the serial no. and then forgot to put it back in before clicking continue during the disk swap did you? I found if I did this NVDI would crash. I think some files get missed or something even though it looks as if it has installed ok. Other than that is your disk cache off? Maybe set it as flagged ST ram only. Or stick Magic on there and install it using that rather than TOS.

I've never had any problems with NVDI 5.03 on the TT (with Magic), but it has been a while since the TT has been on as it doesn't like my flat screens and the CRT is currently banished as I don't have room for it on the desk.



I saw the post about NVDI 5 before posting this :wink:

I wrote down the key on the 2nd disk.

lp wrote:NVDI drives the crazydots card all by itself, you need to pick the ET4000 or crazydots option (forget how its worded exactly) from the NVDI installation menu. If you don't get this option during the NVDI installation something has gone very wrong. To clarify, just one installation of NVDI and the video card should be up and running. :wink:

OK

I will try disabling cache and installation instructions from Simbo2..will see
Trying to learn...

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby qq1975b » Sun Mar 10, 2013 10:58 pm

I finally achieved it with simbo2 files but...I had to replace the 128MB TT-Ram card for the 16MB Atari one. Then all worked ok. If not, the bombs were showed as usual after unpacking.
The 128MB always has passed the ram test OK...odd. But some demos, like BEAMS TT didn't use to work with that card and now it does...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12710
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby wongck » Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:06 pm

qq1975b wrote: The 128MB always has passed the ram test OK...odd. But some demos, like BEAMS TT didn't use to work with that card and now it does...

May be the memory is OK until it hits a certain value, then it fails. So part of it will work.
I assume the memory test is linear, from lowest address to highest address, then it may point out somewhat the possible location of the bad ram.
So you just need to swap that particular SIMM.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby lp » Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:33 pm

Are you 100% sure the simms are what you think they are and the dip-switches are set right? Could also try and re-seat all the simms and inspect the sockets while doing so, bent pin, etc or corrosion has set in.

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby [ProToS] » Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:00 am

it's a megTT from Catch Computer

http://dev-docs.atariforge.org/files/MegTT_Fastram.pdf

I had one (still have it somewhere...) and I had problems with it on my TT that's why I change it for a magnum TT
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby qq1975b » Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:04 pm

I discovered that on the other TT I have, there is the same card...but only with 16MB. There it works ok, so maybe is one or more ram defective module... I will test it on weekend.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 882
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby Zogging Hell » Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:30 pm

I had the Atari branded 16mb upgrade in my TT with a faulty memory stick and it got through Ataris memory test ok and would run for a bit and then crash. It was all down to a dodgy simm, which would only crash the computer when it ran into that memory space (i.e. used up ST RAM and started writing to TT ram). Maybe NVDI is topping out over ST RAM onto the TT RAM and causing it to fail?
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

Guest

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby Guest » Tue Mar 12, 2013 12:35 am

simms should be 70ns 16MB FASTPAGE 8/9 chip
the TT ram checker wont check the TT ram past 99.999MB so you can always swap over the banks to check it
the dip switches on it are set correctly if you use 70ns or better simms
so perhaps one is duff
the test cart counts past this barrier in tos and will tell you the exact simm

the wait state setting i would add an extra state if the revision of the main board is A-C {has pga 68030 and daughter board for the 68882} D-K use no added wait state has soldered on 68030 32mhz

you may find to toggle dil switch 4 to add a wait state
especially if you have a vme card added in to a rev D-K as it will also use a wait state
and you must add one to cards like this to avoid bottlenecks same goes for the magnum
if you have vme cards and magnums etc that have a wait state adjustment
you should add one extra wait state to the TT ram vme is addressed as ram afterall
and try to use 60ns TT ram its far better
only then can you again test to see if your setup is stable with no added ttram wait state

i found this other nvdi folder on a hdd here it mentions something about et4000
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby qq1975b » Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:58 pm

simbo2 wrote:simms should be 70ns 16MB FASTPAGE 8/9 chip
the TT ram checker wont check the TT ram past 99.999MB so you can always swap over the banks to check it
the dip switches on it are set correctly if you use 70ns or better simms
so perhaps one is duff
the test cart counts past this barrier in tos and will tell you the exact simm

the wait state setting i would add an extra state if the revision of the main board is A-C {has pga 68030 and daughter board for the 68882} D-K use no added wait state has soldered on 68030 32mhz


I think I know now what is happening...I have taken a look to the SIMMs and...the 4 on the left side are 60ns and the 4 on the right side are 80ns... :(

I will remove the 80ns ones and see what happens then. I will report :wink:

thanks.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby qq1975b » Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:39 pm

Maybe is interesting for someone this picture about my TT motherboard revision. I don't know which one it is. Has PGA 68030 33MHZ and a PLCC 68882 33MHZ in a socket. No daughterboard. TOS roms are disposed like rev.A.

Regards.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby qq1975b » Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:50 am

Edit: deleted because I found the answer of a question I shouldn't have posted.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby qq1975b » Thu Apr 18, 2013 12:42 pm

[ProToS] wrote:it's a megTT from Catch Computer

http://dev-docs.atariforge.org/files/MegTT_Fastram.pdf

I had one (still have it somewhere...) and I had problems with it on my TT that's why I change it for a magnum TT


Is EDO memory compatible with most TT Fast Ram cards? or only FPM parity/non parity?

16MB EDO NON-PARITY 60NS SIMM 30-PIN 5V 16X8
Trying to learn...

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5 install crashes on a TT

Postby [ProToS] » Wed May 01, 2013 1:02 am

on my magnumTT I have 2x128mb fpm (can't remember for parity)
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests