Capture output from Falcon LPT

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12704
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Capture output from Falcon LPT

Postby wongck » Fri Oct 09, 2009 3:02 pm

NVDI print to disk outputs a GEM metafile. :(
I want to capture the raw data to be output to a printer i.e. the raw PCL5 commands.
Anyone knows how to capture the output of the LPT to a file? :?:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Paolo
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 3:43 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Capture output from Falcon LPT

Postby Paolo » Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:01 am

You don't have to choose the METAFILE option.
You need to choose the printer (a PCL one) and then "print to file"

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12704
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Capture output from Falcon LPT

Postby wongck » Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:33 am

Paolo wrote:You don't have to choose the METAFILE option.
You need to choose the printer (a PCL one) and then "print to file"

Yes, I did that. The print to file function outputs a GEM metafile :(
It does not output a file with PCL5 commands.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4376
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Capture output from Falcon LPT

Postby joska » Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:52 am

wongck wrote:
Paolo wrote:You don't have to choose the METAFILE option.
You need to choose the printer (a PCL one) and then "print to file"

Yes, I did that. The print to file function outputs a GEM metafile :(
It does not output a file with PCL5 commands.


I think you should try it again. I have used the "print to file, copy print-file to PC and dump it to the printer"-way of printing many times. This would have been impossible if NVDI behaves as you describe.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12704
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Capture output from Falcon LPT

Postby wongck » Sun Oct 11, 2009 2:05 pm

joska wrote:I think you should try it again. I have used the "print to file, copy print-file to PC and dump it to the printer"-way of printing many times. This would have been impossible if NVDI behaves as you describe.

I am indeed surprise as well.
May be it's the version issue?
I am using 5.01 or that's whta it says while it loads up.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Paolo
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 3:43 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Capture output from Falcon LPT

Postby Paolo » Sun Oct 11, 2009 3:17 pm

That's absolutely strange...
We should go on a snapshot madness... but I don't have my Falc with me right now...

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4376
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Capture output from Falcon LPT

Postby joska » Sun Oct 11, 2009 7:00 pm

wongck wrote:
joska wrote:I think you should try it again. I have used the "print to file, copy print-file to PC and dump it to the printer"-way of printing many times. This would have been impossible if NVDI behaves as you describe.

I am indeed surprise as well.
May be it's the version issue?
I am using 5.01 or that's whta it says while it loads up.


I'm not sure which version I'm using now, it's 5-something. However, I have also used NVDI 4 this way so I believe it has "always" been like this. Are you sure that you have selected a PCL-printer and a file in the "device"-selector?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

Paolo
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 3:43 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Capture output from Falcon LPT

Postby Paolo » Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:31 am

OK, I did those snaps (well, only two, actually)

in the first one, you see that I choose an HP laser printer
in the second one, you see that I set as output port a file

now, from within any application, I just print a file to that printer and I find a printfile wherever I selected

SNAP_02.png
SNAP_03.png


please note: I made the second snapshot before I changed the printer, thus you see both my printers there (a deskjet and a laserjet)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12704
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Capture output from Falcon LPT

Postby wongck » Mon Oct 12, 2009 3:15 pm

Thanks Paolo.

It seems that I have defaulted the file name to "gemfile.gem" on my system.

I think it is because I was clicking around and have clicked on the metafile-output that defaults the filename to "gemfile.gem".
When I selected another printer type, I selected the interface > port and on the fileselector it default to "gemfile.gem" probably because there was no filename selected for that printer type. So the "gemfile.gem" filename stuck.

I have now change the filename to ttt.prn.

The ttt.prn is in binary and I think it is because of me using QED with gdos fonts. I think the binary information is the font data itself.

So these 2 things gave me the illustion that it was a metafile format :lol:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest