NVDI 5

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

bandit
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 273
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:02 pm
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby bandit » Wed Jun 03, 2009 3:10 pm

sorry windows update rebooted the maschine... so the hfs service did not start.... :( bad luck

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12723
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby wongck » Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:29 pm

bandit wrote:sorry windows update rebooted the maschine... so the hfs service did not start.... :( bad luck


Right, windoze, what's new. :lol: :lol:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby joska » Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:47 am

wongck wrote:You seen any cdrom driver that works on Mint 1.16 in your collection ?
metados & spin works on tos but not on Mint.


You are putting spin.xfs in the MiNT-folder, right? Using MetaDOS and DOS-drivers doesn't work under MiNT, because MetaDOS hooks into the TOS filesystem which MiNT doesn't use. So you need to use the MiNT filesystem driver (XFS).

I also found BetaDOS to be more reliable under MiNT than MetaDOS/MetaXBS. However, I haven't used a CD-ROM with an Atari since 2001, so things may have changed since then.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12723
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby wongck » Tue Jul 21, 2009 3:07 pm

joska wrote:You are putting spin.xfs in the MiNT-folder, right? Using MetaDOS and DOS-drivers doesn't work under MiNT, because MetaDOS hooks into the TOS filesystem which MiNT doesn't use. So you need to use the MiNT filesystem driver (XFS).

I also found BetaDOS to be more reliable under MiNT than MetaDOS/MetaXBS. However, I haven't used a CD-ROM with an Atari since 2001, so things may have changed since then.


Since Mint v1.16, it stops working. probably because they migrated the TOS filesystem to their own code (is faster now).
It's just annoying since I remembered that I can get long filenames on Joliet CD but now I cannot since the only way is to run under TOS.
Moving back to Mint 1.15 is not really an option - makes my Mint setup real messy.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby joska » Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:01 pm

wongck wrote:
joska wrote:You are putting spin.xfs in the MiNT-folder, right? Using MetaDOS and DOS-drivers doesn't work under MiNT, because MetaDOS hooks into the TOS filesystem which MiNT doesn't use. So you need to use the MiNT filesystem driver (XFS).

I also found BetaDOS to be more reliable under MiNT than MetaDOS/MetaXBS. However, I haven't used a CD-ROM with an Atari since 2001, so things may have changed since then.


Since Mint v1.16, it stops working. probably because they migrated the TOS filesystem to their own code (is faster now).


That happened in 1.15. I'm quite sure that Spin! works with the current kernel. You need spin.xfs in the mint-folder and *NO* DOS-driver installed. Try MetaXBS instead of MetaDOS.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12723
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby wongck » Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:45 pm

Thanks I will try.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby jens » Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:57 pm

You'll need Spin as xfs and not metados but metaxbs in your auto folder to work together with the xfs.
Just read the Spin documentation.
This works for MiNT and MagiC as well.
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12723
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby wongck » Fri Jul 24, 2009 1:52 pm

I am using it with betados, as it says it can be used with spin.xfs.
But something funny happens - the path seems to be gone... all the ACC cannot find it's own RSC files :?:
weird...
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby joska » Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:25 pm

wongck wrote:I am using it with betados, as it says it can be used with spin.xfs.
But something funny happens - the path seems to be gone... all the ACC cannot find it's own RSC files :?:
weird...


Can you post the config files?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12723
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby wongck » Sat Jul 25, 2009 1:01 am

In my CBCONFIG.SYS
Ok, all items commented except:
; scsi-id 4
*BOS, c:\auto\spin_sd.bos, A:12
;*DOS, c:\auto\unidrive.dos, X:A
*DOS, c:\auto\bd_9660f.dos, H:A

In my CONFIG.SYS:
; scsi-id 4
*BOS, c:\auto\spin_sd.bos, A:12
*DOS, c:\auto\ISO9660F.dos, H:A

I think it's betados.prg renamed as Metaxbs.prg that is causing this... or rather metados after Mint is causing it.
It is repatching some vectors or something like that.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby joska » Sat Jul 25, 2009 9:15 am

wongck wrote:In my CBCONFIG.SYS
Ok, all items commented except:
; scsi-id 4
*BOS, c:\auto\spin_sd.bos, A:12
;*DOS, c:\auto\unidrive.dos, X:A
*DOS, c:\auto\bd_9660f.dos, H:A

In my CONFIG.SYS:
; scsi-id 4
*BOS, c:\auto\spin_sd.bos, A:12
*DOS, c:\auto\ISO9660F.dos, H:A


Comment out the DOS drivers. Only install BOS (hardware) drivers.

wongck wrote:I think it's betados.prg renamed as Metaxbs.prg that is causing this... or rather metados after Mint is causing it.
It is repatching some vectors or something like that.


Renaming BetaDOS doesn't affect anything. Try the genuine MetaXBS, it should be included in the Spin! archive.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12723
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby wongck » Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:51 am

joska wrote:Renaming BetaDOS doesn't affect anything. Try the genuine MetaXBS, it should be included in the Spin! archive.

Ok using the original MetaXBS removes the issue of ACC not finding it's RSC.
It does work but same as per TOS. There is no long filenames when I view the CD. :(
Well, at least the ACC now don't complaint

Anyway, the purpose was to be able to transfer files with long filenames from PC to Atari.
The only way around for me is either by floppy or by FTP. :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12723
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby wongck » Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:01 pm

I have also tried enabling FS_VFAT for my CD drive id.
It makes no difference, but of course, it is not TOS nor FAT32.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2015
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby mikro » Sun Aug 02, 2009 3:34 pm

wongck wrote:You seen any cdrom driver that works on Mint 1.16 in your collection ?
metados & spin works on tos but not on Mint.

extendos.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12723
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby wongck » Sun Aug 02, 2009 3:41 pm

mikro wrote:
wongck wrote:You seen any cdrom driver that works on Mint 1.16 in your collection ?
metados & spin works on tos but not on Mint.

extendos.

Does it means that no freeware that's works?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
firyembers
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 1:23 pm
Location: Cardiff.Having a party...Wales

Re: NVDI 5

Postby firyembers » Thu Aug 06, 2009 6:46 pm

Here is a link to NVDI 5
Its my free Rapid share,so neither should you have a problem downloading it.

http://rapidshare.com/files/249928566/NVDI5.zip

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12723
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby wongck » Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:12 pm

firyembers wrote:Its my free Rapid share,so neither should you have a problem downloading it.

Keeps on getting IP already in use error.... when ever I try it.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby jens » Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:48 am

wongck wrote:You seen any cdrom driver that works on Mint 1.16 in your collection ?
metados & spin works on tos but not on Mint.

mikro wrote:extendos.

wongck wrote:Does it means that no freeware that's works?

Spin is working fine for me with TOS, MiNT and MagiC.
With the last two I have long filenames on many CDs, but there are some that can just be dealed with using 8.3 filenames it seems.
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12723
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby wongck » Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:15 pm

jens wrote:Spin is working fine for me with TOS, MiNT and MagiC.
With the last two I have long filenames on many CDs, but there are some that can just be dealed with using 8.3 filenames it seems.

I followed the instructions for SPIN and also for BetaDOS for the Mint setup.
It does work but only for 8.3.
IIRC with my Mint 1.15 it was able to do long filenames but not so for Mint 1.16/1.17. :(
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

blinddarm
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Freiburg,Germany

Re: NVDI 5

Postby blinddarm » Mon Aug 24, 2009 5:01 pm

AVE !

question about NVDI 5.....

is it really usefull to me?

i am using my good old STe for some games, Demos/Graphics like Photos (slideshow etc.),
and cool Chip/MOD music....
And one Day for typing some Simple Text without special fonts.

My Hardware Configuration is:

1040 STe
4 MB RAM
Tos 1.06 (TOS 2.06 by loading in RAM)
second Disk Drive 720 k
SatanDisk by Jookie (512 MB MMC Card)
Neodesk

Do i really need NVDI 5 with new features like new printers and "tons" of Fonts?
or does an older Version do same good Job without pushing many needless files like fonts or drivers etc. on my harddisk?

Ok, i saw the difference when NVDI is running on the desktop (faster refresh) wich is a really nice Add on.
But dont really need the Picture viwer and the Rest of the dirvers and fonts.

So, can i delete some specific files and folders fom NVDI 5?
What Progams /drivers are really necessary for me from this Version?

or shall i use an older version?

Thanks,
Norman

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby dexterslab » Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:54 pm

for your needs, i'm sure it'll be simpler for you to run an older version, i still use nvdi3

In fact gembench showed nvdi3 to be faster on average than nvdi5 on my TT

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12723
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5

Postby wongck » Tue Aug 25, 2009 2:18 pm

blinddarm wrote:i am using my good old STe for some games, Demos/Graphics like Photos (slideshow etc.),
and cool Chip/MOD music....
And one Day for typing some Simple Text without special fonts.

May not work for games, demos nor your slideshow.... slideshow not sure.
Graphical output that uses the blitter will be faster, but games & demo may draw direct to screen whereby NVDI will be skipped.
Also it sounds like you do not need the extra fonts. :mrgreen:

blinddarm wrote:Do i really need NVDI 5 with new features like new printers and "tons" of Fonts?
or does an older Version do same good Job without pushing many needless files like fonts or drivers etc. on my harddisk?

You have plenty of space with your Satandisk so the extra stuff may not be burden. :P
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Decky
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 9:22 pm
Location: Belfast, N. Ireland

Re: NVDI 5 and HD Floppy Drive

Postby Decky » Sat Aug 29, 2009 10:25 am

Thanks for the NVDI 5 download. I was hoping to experiment with my STe and install it on my system, but when I create disk images from the files in the folders the floppy image size is greater than the standard 720Kb double density disk capacity. That means I cannot put them onto standard floppie, and cannot install NVDI on my system.

Here's my question. I have a switchable TOS 1.62/2.06 Atari STe, and I have read that by soldering two points on the Atari Motherboard I can upgrade to a High Density Floppy Drive. Can anyone give me more information on this? Like where would I get a HD Floppy Drive, and is there any other changes or wires I need to solder to the Atari in order to get the HD floppy drive going? :D
Atari STe 4Mb with TOS 1.62 / 2.06 Switchable, thanks to Techie Alison. UltraSatan, CosmosEx, Gotek

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12723
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI 5 and HD Floppy Drive

Postby wongck » Sat Aug 29, 2009 10:44 am

Decky wrote:Here's my question. I have a switchable TOS 1.62/2.06 Atari STe, and I have read that by soldering two points on the Atari Motherboard I can upgrade to a High Density Floppy Drive. Can anyone give me more information on this? Like where would I get a HD Floppy Drive, and is there any other changes or wires I need to solder to the Atari in order to get the HD floppy drive going? :D


There are lots of doc on installing HD FDD on ST. :mrgreen:
144_ctrl is just one of them.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

blinddarm
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Freiburg,Germany

Re: NVDI 5

Postby blinddarm » Tue Sep 01, 2009 4:16 am

wongck wrote:
blinddarm wrote:i am using my good old STe for some games, Demos/Graphics like Photos (slideshow etc.),
and cool Chip/MOD music....
And one Day for typing some Simple Text without special fonts.

May not work for games, demos nor your slideshow.... slideshow not sure.
Graphical output that uses the blitter will be faster, but games & demo may draw direct to screen whereby NVDI will be skipped.
Also it sounds like you do not need the extra fonts. :mrgreen:

blinddarm wrote:Do i really need NVDI 5 with new features like new printers and "tons" of Fonts?
or does an older Version do same good Job without pushing many needless files like fonts or drivers etc. on my harddisk?

You have plenty of space with your Satandisk so the extra stuff may not be burden. :P


ok thanks, i will try


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests